We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Indian Food Fix I Needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Indian Cuisine & Spirits

Mantra Indian Cuisine & Spirits
220 North Harrison St., Davenport, IA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 257 Restaurants in Davenport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Lewis Center, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Indian Food Fix I Needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We visited Mantra for the $10 lunch buffet and enjoyed the wide variety of dishes provided. The staff was attentive, kept our drinks full and rushed to keep the buffet well supplied. The restaurant was very well decorated and comfortable. Restrooms were nice and clean.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    5
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pocatello, Idaho
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Indian food in Quad cities area!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Visited the restaurant with family for dinner. Food was super delicious right from the appetizers to the main course. They had courteous and prompt service and the overall look of the restaurant was also quite neat and appealing. We will surely come back again and recommend it to anyone looking for good Indian cuisine in the Quad cities area!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Moline, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Indians Watch Out!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This seems to be a restaurant for general American public except for Indians. If you are an Indian, the staff will make you feel out of place with bad service.

The food is worst at the best. I can only imagine good ratings from customers who never had any good Indian food.

I wish there was ZERO STAR option

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Poor Service, Food Aftermath”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Decided to try Mantra based on the raving positive reviews of travelers. Needless to say, I was not impressed. The server did not offer to ask if they could explain anything on the menu, nor did they ask if we had any questions. Indian cuisine was a first for me, so obviously I would like to know what I was ordering. Had the non vegetarian combo for 2 and the only good thing about it was the chicken from the first entrée and the naan (bread). Otherwise, it was awful food. I feel as though most of the food should have been served with wraps to make fajitas like at a Mexican restaurant. The one good thing about the restaurant was the music and the diverse clientele. Otherwise, the "digestive" issues that ensued immediately after will forever deter me from returning again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, okay service, but great food and good prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Great lunch buffet and wonderful dinner vegetarian combo for two. The Malai Kofta and rice pudding are great! With the combo, you get two entrees, naan, soup, an appetizer and two desserts. We ALWAYS leave with a good amount of leftovers! Yum! The service isn't the most friendly, but the food is good.. so... if your ego can handle it, go get some great Indian food!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mantra Indian Cuisine & Spirits also viewed

 

Been to Mantra Indian Cuisine & Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Indian Cuisine & Spirits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.