We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bix Bistro

Bix Bistro
200 E 3rd Street, Hotel Blackhawk, Davenport, IA 52801
5634845900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 228 Restaurants in Davenport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: The See-and-be-seen Scene at Bix Bistro and LoungeRelax in the contemporary setting of Bix Bistro, on the first floor of the hotel, offering great food prepared simply and freshly. Accompanied by a side of outstanding service and topped off with a varied beer, wine and spirits menu. Enjoy live music, appetizers and cocktails at Bix Lounge, a perfect retreat after a day of meetings or sightseeing.
Bettendorf, IA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The entire experience was great. The restaurant, servers, food, and entertainment were all exemplary. We were treated like we were rich people (even though we're not). Although I would give all four areas a 10 on my 1 - 10 scale, the jazz quartet edged the others out for a 10+.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, SVP Sales & Marketing at Bix Bistro, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear C0ral _L0ver,

Thank you for your review. We are honored that you chose to dine with us. We are fortunate to have such a wonderful Jazz Brunch for our guests and locals every Sunday. I will be sure to pass your compliments along to our Food & Beverage team in Bix Bistro.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Tim Heim
Senior Vice President of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    20
    15
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quad Cities, IA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food but slow!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The food was good, flavors a little bland, but good value. We ate at the bar before the Martini Shake Off fundraiser and they were busy... so take that into account.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Bix Bistro, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear David M,

Thank you for your posting your review on TripAdvisor. We apologize for inconvenience you experienced in February during the Martini Shake Off Event that was right next store at the River Center. We have made several notes for next years event and I am confident that our team will correct this in 2014 during the same event.

I hope you will come back and visit us again very soon.

At Your Service,

Del Peiffer
SVP of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Last night we had dinner at the Bix Bistro in the Hotel Blackhawk. The food was excellent, the atmosphere sophisticated and the service perfect. Our server was AnnMarie and she kept us well served throughout the meal. Afterward we went into the lounge area near the bar and were entertained by an excellent piano player and singer who are there a few nights a week. We were fortunate to be there on one of their nights. We will definitely go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, SVP Sales & Marketing at Bix Bistro, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear JJ-in_MLI,

Thank you for your review and thank you for choosing to dine at Bix Bistro. Your compliments regarding the cuisine, atmosphere, and service are extremely kind and truly appreciated. At Bix Bistro, we strive to create a unique overall dining experience for each of our guests. It sounds like we were successful in providing that for you. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to our Food & Beverage team. We are fortunate to have talented folks that are willing to come entertain our guests. I'm glad that you had the chance to enjoy the live music during your time spent with us.

Thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Tim Heim
Senior Vice President of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing scotch tasting dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Wow! Granted this was a special dinner paired for the scotch tasting for about 20 paying customers: it was still exceptional. I kept the menu, so here is the meal: cedar plank striped bass filet w/extraordinary saffron corn broth sauce on the side, black garlic confit (roasted black garlic cloves) and edamame succotash. Course two: pork tenderloin w/roasted apple and sweet onion chutney, creamy chèvre grits (not a big fan of grits but these were superb). Course three:Maple Leaf Farms duck breast w/mushroom risotto, duck confit, a smear of spinach pesto and black cherry gastrique. Course four: black Angus beef filet w/a wonderfully fried oyster on top, bordelaise sauce, maytag blue cheese compound butter and pork belly potato hash. Wow again! This was a gourmet feast, delicious is too weak for this. Portions were appropriate so I did not get stuffed but comfortably full. Top it off with creme caramel w/Cointreau creme anglaise and chocolate tort w/hazelnut gastrique: I don't eat chocolate but judging others response it too was wonderful.
There was a scotch served with each dish, the last being a very hard to find 19 year old Glenmorangie:Nice! The tasting had scotch from widely different locales which was good for the scotch novices present
Interestingly, the meal host was the hotel owner who is evidently passionate about scotch. He walked around and eventually engaged with everyone at the table: very enthusiastic and knowledgeable.

Had another meal here and while not as grand as the tasting meal still excellent. Stay overnight and have breakfast at the small hotel cafe cutely called Beignet Done That: not fancy, just very good!

Well done Hotel Blackhawk!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, SVP Sales & Marketing at Bix Bistro, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear margaritaman44,

Thank you for your detailed review and thank you for choosing Bix Bistro! We value customers like yourself who are willing to share their experience with us on TripAdvisor. Our Scotch Dinner was a hit, and we look forward to continuing to offer these types of events for our guests and locals. Be sure to watch our Social Media pages to stay updated on the events that we are hosting in the future. We are delighted that your experience in Bix Bistro exceeded your expectations. Thank you again for kind words.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Tim Heim
Senior Vice President of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orion, IL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing, quality experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

From our arrival until we left, this was a relaxing and wonderful experience. So often these days it seems restaurants are mostly interested in turning over the tables, running as many people through as they can, but that is not the case at this neat bistro in the refurbished Blackhawk Hotel. I hate to be rushed, particularly when spending a decent amount of money for a meal. And not only was the service great, the food was excellent. We tried the Spiced Pear and Brie appetizer, fantastic! And the New York Strip was outstanding! Paired with a nice bottle of Malbec made for a great evening. And if you just want to sit at the bar and have a few drinks this is a great spot for that as well. Things are a little pricey, but you will not go wrong spending your dollars here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, SVP Sales & Marketing at Bix Bistro, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear lc47,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Bix Bistro on TripAdvisor. At Bix Bistro, we strive to ensure that each of our guests has a memorable and unique dining experience. It sounds like we were successful in providing that for you, and we could not be happier. We believe that dining should be relaxing and enjoyable. Thank you for your compliments on the cuisine and customer service. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to all of our Food & Beverage department.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Tim Heim
Senior Vice President of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bix Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Bix Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bix Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.