We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, inviting, we absolutely loved it!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Sauzette

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Sauzette to your Saves list
La Sauzette
D 56 | Carcassonne, 11570 Cazilhac, Carcassonne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Cazilhac B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Warm, inviting, we absolutely loved it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Luc and Magali made us feel at home! It was the last night for us in France.... And we truly enjoyed it. Best sleep ever! They truly made us feel like family. I have never written a review - but three months after our trip, and La Sauzette is still a warm memory in my heart. I wish I was there!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    8
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Exceptional service.

I do not usually write reviews of my travels, but in this case the service was so exceptional that I am compelled to do so.

My wife and I arrived at La Sauzette on July 14, 2011, Bastille Day. Due to a technical malfunction on the Internet our reservations had been cancelled and all the rooms were filled. We found ourselves in the unenviable position of being in the French countryside with night approaching and nowhere to go or stay because all the surrounding accommodations were full due to the national holiday. Our hosts were even more distraught than we were at this situation. They decided to move their young daughter out of her private bedroom and have her sleep with her little brother so that we would have a place to stay. With the relief of solving the accommodation problem, we wanted to take a short drive to Carcassonne to see the fireworks display of Bastille Day—reputedly the best in France. But we were concerned about driving in the dark in the French countryside. Again, our host programmed his own GPS with the directions and lent it to us to install in our car. We drove flawlessly to Carcassonne and saw a superb fireworks display. The next morning we were served an excellent petit dejeuner. Not just the usual baguette and jam, but a magnificent spread of pastries, cheeses, sliced meats, fruits, yogurts, juices and coffee. The countryside was beautiful and the hosts and their children were the most warm and welcoming. Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We spent four fabulous days in the Languedoc region of France with warm, welcoming hosts Luc and Magali, their three delightful children and dog. They were quick to offer bottles of water for the room and helpful with suggestions of sites to visit and scenic routes to take. We enjoyed lively, memorable three-hour dinners at their table with other interesting guests from Germany, Australia, France and the US. They invited us to join them for an aperitif on the nights that we did not opt to have dinner at the ferme.They really made our stay memorable with their special brand of hospitality. They are very attentive to the dietary needs of their guests and eager to engage their guests with their family. What a wonderful end to our vacation!

Room Tip: See the website to choose the room that appeals
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

We spent two nights at la Sauzette while we were touring southern France. The Dupont family was so welcoming and warm. Their children are delightful and very well behaved. We enjoyed trying to communicate with Luc and Magali, we don't speak French, but we had our book handy and they are learning English; it was fun! Our meals were excellent and it was wonderful to come back to dinner after sightseeing all day! We have wonderful memories of our time at La Sauzette.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barre, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

We stayed at La Sauzette for four nights in September 2010. We used it as a base to explore Carcassonne, Albi, and the Cathar castles. We had a lovely room at the back, with a king-size bed and a full bath. The place is located just south of Carcassonne, with easy access to the autoroute. Our hosts, Chris & Diana, were in the process of turning over the place to the new owners, the Dupont family, so we had the pleasure of meeting both families. We shared a delicious continental breakfast with them all each morning. Luc, Magalie and their children are delightful, and will do very well in their new enterprise. We had a lot of fun trying to communicate... they have a little English (but are eager to learn), and we have very little French.

On our final night at La Sauzette there was a going-away party for Chris & Diana. Many of their old friends and neighbors were there. We were made to feel most welcome, and enjoyed talking with many of the guests, who seemed pleased to practice their English on us. Magalie whipped up an amazing array of fancy hors d'oeuvres, salads, cheeses, breads and desserts. We had a wonderful evening, and a wonderful stay at La Sauzette!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

We found this place in Rick Steeves guidebook and, although we had planned to stay in towns, took a chance on a place in the country - although it is only a 10 minute drive from Carcassone. Since we usually stay at B&B's in historic town centres, we found that three nights of absolute quiet on the farm were very refreshing. La Sauzette had literally just changed hands about a month before we arrived. The new owners are good friends of the former owners and this helped with the transition. Maggie and Luc have three very well behaved children and a friendly, well trained dog. They made us feel right at home and Maggie cooked a delicious four course supper (French country cooking!) with wonderful local wines on two of the three days that we were there. The option of ordering supper was great, because after a day of hiking we didn't always feel like getting changed and heading into town for dinner.

Our room was spacious with a nice big bathtub and lots of hot water!. The great room where guests and family gather has a huge fire place, a dining area and a separate area for TV watching.

Our three night stay at La Sauzette was one of the major highlights of our three week vacation in France.
La Sauzette was a great jumping off point for day trips to Carcassone, Limoux, Minerve and Castelnaudary (for cassoulet!).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

After visiting Carcassone,,, it was wonderful to have some tranquility, yet only a few minutes away from the old Cite.
Diana was a wonderful host ,, her breakfast magnificant , with fresh stewed fruits . yougurts, cheeses, homemade jams,breads , and criossants ,, say no more !

And extra bonus for us , to take our 2 dogs and be so welcomed , yet not a dog hair in sight !

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Sauzette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sauzette

Address: D 56 | Carcassonne, 11570 Cazilhac, Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Aude > Carcassonne > Cazilhac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cazilhac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La sauzette is an old farm completely renovated into guest rooms. Only 5 km from the magnificent medieval city of Carcassonne, you will appreciate the calm and tranquility of the Sauzet, totally isolated surrounded by vines and woods. Many hiking trails available to you, so you can admire beautiful landscapes. Parking is free and secure, each room has a theme and the hostess can if you wish one of our regional dish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Sauzette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Sauzette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.