We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only the place if you're too drunk to know any better” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chimney Rock Campground

Chimney Rock Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cresco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chimney Rock Campground
Save
You added Chimney Rock Campground to your Saves list
3312 Chimney Rock Rd., Cresco, IA   |  
Hotel amenities
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Only the place if you're too drunk to know any better”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

I knew we were in trouble when upon check-in they require you to sign a legal waiver that all the campground is in good order. This before they will let you in. Basically the whole place is overrun with one drunk obnoxious group after another. Don't plan on enjoying any peaceful sleep when you're between the loudspeakers from the rap and country groups. And they are up all night. No management ever to be seen. The gravel road has mufferless trucks running up and down all day and night. The recreation/bathroom bldg has leftover 1980's tables and chairs from an IBM conference room, and a few hundred empty Busch Light beer cans. There are exactly two real toilets each for men and women. My wife sliced her foot on the corroded, peeled away metal skin of the bathroom door.

It's all too bad this place is so overrun and uncared for. It's in a beautiful area. Refurbish the place and get the drunken party crowd out and they would have a nice place to camp. You can get away for a while and take a nice canoe ride (they do a good job here).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    0
    1
    4
See reviews for
5
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, IA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

This was our 4th trip to Chimney Rock... we always go up for a weekend for cabin camping and a float down the river. The cabins are well designed and comfortable for 6 people! They are also set away from the other campers and we have never had any problems with fellow cabin campers. The owners are always very accommodating and great people! I will definitely be going back for many years! Thanks Chimney Rock for another great year filled with great memories!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester,MN
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

We stayed at this campground from Friday-Sunday. We stayed in the "Family section". There were 100's of drunk college kids every where. They used profanity and did not seem to be shy about their bodies. There is only one bath house with 2 showers for women and 2 for men. There were 2 toliets and 1 sink in each bathroom. The doors were always open and naked people could be seen from the adjacent bathroom. The students left beer cans every where. The campground is generally run down and I would never recogmend anyone staying here.

  • Liked — The fire flies at night were beautiful
  • Disliked — The bathroom
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb K, Owner at Chimney Rock Campground, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
I am sorry you chose the busiest weekend of the summer. Lite up the Bluff concert in Bluffton and Nordic Fest in Decorah, We offer Free shuttle to the Bluffton Concert on both Friday and Saturday nights and work pretty much 24/7 those 4 or 5 days. Rest assured I DO NOT DO COLLEGE EVENTS AFTER MAY 15th so the customers in my campground were adults not students. I do plan on adding additional showers soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

We had a great time on our little Vacation there! We stayed in the Cabins across the street from the camp grounds on a Friday-Monday. The cabin was amazing, clean, and comfortable. We easily cook our dinners and sat around the camp fire.
Canoeing was great! The equipment was in great shape and the staff was very helpful! We are going back next month again and I can't wait!
We had a nice, quiet but fun trip! Great place for families of all ages!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2004

Well, everyone has different expectations from a camping trip. Our hopes were to get away from it all for a back-to-nature weekend, but this was not the place for that trip. It is probably different on a weekday (we went Fri night), but our trip featured a different kind of wildlife.
If your idea of a good camping trip is to drink beer and shout obscene lyrics until 2am, and behave as though the river were one big tailgate party, then this is the place for you!
If this appeals to you, and you choose to go, get detailed directions, as there are very few signs.
My wife's input -- perfect campsite for a kegger.
On a positive note, the equipment was in good condition, in spite of the drunken abuse it suffered, and the scenery is lovely. The river was high and fast, and had some challenging spots for novices like us, but also several long stretches to raft up and float down in peace. If you're interested, there were several nice little side sloughs to explore, just watch for dead falls.
We ended up leaving early (although I'm only 30, I have outgrown spring break) after a couple of canoes beached themselves near our campsite and spent over an hour shouting "beer bong for the lady?" at each passing canoe group. That about summed it up, making our decision to leave early an easy one.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chimney Rock Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimney Rock Campground

Address: 3312 Chimney Rock Rd., Cresco, IA
Location: United States > Iowa > Cresco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Cresco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Chimney Rock Campground Hotel Cresco
Chimney Rock Campground Cresco, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chimney Rock Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.