We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Comfort Suites
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1801 S. 35th Street, Council Bluffs, IA 51503   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here while moving across country. They were pet-friendly and affordable. The room was clean and the staff was friendly. The air conditioning worked very well which was necessary in the 95+ degree heat! The breakfast was surprisingly good...there were hardboiled and scrambled eggs, sausages, and yogurt, in addition to the regular hotel breakfast fare of muffins, bagels, and cereal. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel; we are pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be comfortable and an enjoyable stay. We certainly do take pride in our suites and work especially hard to ensure that all our in-room cooling devices are in great working order. Glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast; we certainly do go above the standard to ensure that our guests find a hearty way to start their day with a wide selection of free breakfast options. Thank you again for your review, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    15
    9
    7
See reviews for
24
11
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Four of us stayed here one night on the way home from a western vacation. Room was large with two queen beds and a sofa bed. Room was quiet and comfortable. Don't know anything about the area but would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
We appreciate you taking time to review our hotel and are pleased you had an enjoyable stay during a road trip in July. We are a great location for guests that are merely driving through the area on the way to another destination. We work hard to make sure we provide a clean, safe, and comfortable stay and if your travel plans bring you back through the area we would love to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 172 cities Reviews in 172 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at many Comfort Suites Hotels and to be honest, this one was probably our least favorite. The beds and pillows are outdated and in need of replacing. The second floor guest laundry facility was out of order the entire time we were there. The prices were high considering the condition of the beds and pillows. I CAN HONESTLY SAY, MY HUSBAND AND I TOSSED AND TURNED THE TWO NIGHTS WE WERE THERE. The maids however, were the BEST!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I recently stayed here. The room had a bad odor to it and the smell of chlorine when you walked into the front door like to knock you over. With this being said the food area was right around the corner from this. So needless to say I did not eat anything they offered. The comforters on the bed were stained with bleach. The sheets were bleached so much that I broke out in hives! More is not better! The carpets need changing the fridge needed changed out the phone did not work.
For the money this is not your typical Nice upscale Comfort Suites Inn. I am very surprised they have allowed them to keep the name. I am very picky where I stay. I will not be staying there again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, Usa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed on a Sat night with some friends.It had some new features,however the old features shown through.The odor of chlorine was so strong we could smell it on the 3rd floor.I can say the room was clean.This is the type of hotel that you would stay at if you were traveling through and needed to sleep and get going right away in the morning.They did have a complimentary breakfast,I did not go to it.I'm not planning on staying here in my near future.If I did have my kids with me,I wouldn't of let them in the pool or hot tub.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

the staff were all friendly, the room was comfortable the air conditioner was quiet as well as the rest of the hotel. We were pleased with our stay here. The only thing that didn't work out was the wifi wasn't working when we tried to get on. The staff told us the building was having a few issues with it and that it was kinda hit and miss. The office staff was nice and looked up the store we were trying to locate and gave us directions, address and store hours. The breakfast was nice as it had a few options that other hotels oftan don't offer. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton,MN
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I'm sorry to say but this hotel needs many updates for being a Comfort Suites. Wall paper coming off of walls in many places. Carpet very stained. Bathroom very small. Air conditioner must be as old as hotel and loud. I would not recommend this to anyone. I do have to say employees were very nice and helpful. The breakfast buffet was very nice and that is probably only good thing. I do believe the persons who clean the room did best they could with condition it was in. I would not suggest this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 1801 S. 35th Street, Council Bluffs, IA 51503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Council Bluffs
Comfort Suites Council Bluffs
Council Bluffs Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.