We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Family Hotel at a Modest Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Comfort Suites
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1801 S. 35th Street, Council Bluffs, IA 51503   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good Family Hotel at a Modest Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here on a family cross country trip and it was a good hotel with a nice room at a great price. The staff was very friendly and the room was average, yet clean and comfortable. This hotel is located right off I-29 and I-80 so it is very convenient for a traveling family. Equally, it is located minutes away from the downtown Omaha area (Old Towne Omaha) and Henry Doorly Zoo. This is a great spot that I would recommend to any family. They also have a free breakfast that offers staples such as cereal, muffins, biscuits and gravy, eggs, oatmeal...and some really good coffee.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    15
    9
    7
See reviews for
24
11
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at the Comfort Suites in Council Bluffs, Iowa at the end of April on a cross country trip. It was just what we needed after a long day of driving---well located near both highways 80 and 29, efficient and friendly front desk, a clean, comfortable and quiet room, plus a good breakfast the next day. We will come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Iowa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I first stayed here on a long motorcycle trip last spring. I was stressed from a horrible, windy ride. The manager's warm greeting and the comfortable room helped me get ready for the last stretch to Newton, Iowa. So when we needed a hotel again this spring, we chose this one. It didn't disappoint. We arrived late and exhausted from a day of helping our son move. We were again greeted warmly and given a room one floor up next to the elevator. It was huge, easily the size of two normal rooms, with a couple of couches and extra armchairs, not to mention a comfortable king sized bed. The extra sink came in handy as we hurried to get ready to fall in the bed. Elevator noise was not a problem, nor was the temperature in the room. We had time the next morning to enjoy a leisurely breakfast. It's free, there's plenty of it, and it's good. We recommend this hotel to anyone coming to the Omaha area, especially if the Iowa-side casinos are your goal. But it's literally a hop, skip, and jump to downtown and the Old Market, to TD Ameritrade Park, to the Henry Doorly Zoo and Lauritzen Gardens. Check out downtown Council Bluffs, too--it's pretty funky. It's a family-friendly hotel that offers good things to everyone.

Room Tip: On both stays, the rooms have been excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel April 13 for a one night stay. We reserved a king room. When we arrived they allowed us to check in early and we even got an upgrade to a suite. Everyone at the front desk was really helpful, especially Ricky! She was great. The casinos can pick you up here and you don't have to worry about driving, parking, etc. They have a hot breakfast, but we went down there too late and there wasn't much left. This was a nice hotel for the price, and customer service made our stay :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Minnesota
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel was very nice and clean. The rooms were big. The elevator was out-dated, they should look at replacing that. The pool was small, but we had no need to swim during our trip anyway. The desk boy was a little immature, but we didnt need him but to check in. The location is great for people who want to go to casinos. The movie theater isnt far, and next to the theater is a go kart place that we kept hearing great things about. There's a great Texas Roadhouse down the way.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Great place!

Room Tip: Elevator is slow, so 1st floor would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed there April 5 and found it to be very clean and well appointed. Staff was quick and efficient. Beds were very comfortable and breakfast was good. For the price ($89), it was a good deal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 1801 S. 35th Street, Council Bluffs, IA 51503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Council Bluffs
Comfort Suites Council Bluffs
Council Bluffs Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.