We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't Realize I would be staying in Iowa!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Council Bluffs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Council Bluffs to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Council Bluffs
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3216 Plaza View Drive, Council Bluffs, IA 51501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
153 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Didn't Realize I would be staying in Iowa!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I thought I was staying in Nebraska, but it really made no difference. Flew over to finally see the Omaha Zoo, Durham Museum, Piccolo Pete's (Warren Buffett's reported favorite restaurant), and attend a baseball game. I am Marriott Platinum and stay at all types of Marriott properties. Springhill Suites seem to focus on families. This property was no exception. They hosted two weddings over the weekend. It did get hectic one night when the front desk was staffed with only one person, who seemed to be running ragged. Otherwise, the property seem to meet standard Marriott practices. The property has convenient access to casinos (if you are so inclined), restaurants, and the fine area freeways. I did notice that one of the two lobby computers was broken; however, there were only a few people using the one functioning computer. The only other thing I noticed when leaving around noon was that several 4th floor room doors were propped open, seemingly by the cleaning crew. I didn't know if they were airing out the rooms from the wedding or doing something else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    71
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
63
42
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pekin, Illinois
Level Contributor
183 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

I stay at a lot of Marriot hotels because they are consistent. The room and lobby were very clean. The service was friendly and attentive. The location is close to restaurants and the casinos which is nice for some entertainment on the road. The only thing that disappointed me was no hot water in the morning it barely got warm and I had it all the way on hot so I have to agree on that point with the other review. Other than that issue the hotel was overall good.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atchison, Kansas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here for a short weekend trip to the zoo and ball game. We had a very nice stay. My only complaint is that the walls are a little thin, you can hear your neighbors very clearly and the air conditioner is very noisy when it cycles on and off. You cannot just have the fan on continually for the noise. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choices and there was quite a lot of setting. They even opened up the meeting room next door to take care of any overflow.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

With a number "2" rating on TripAdvisor this hotel ended up being a major disappointment. This facility might be good for families, but that's it. The desk and breakfast area were understaffed. The rooms are a little tired. No hot water in the shower. The breakfast offering was very weak and barely edible...just going through the motions and not offering quality (maybe this is typical for the chain...don't usually stay at Marriott properties).

Not recommended for couples, singles or business travelers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
235 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Everything about my stay was good until I woke up at 4:30am for a 6:10am flight out. I turned the shower on and waited and waited, no hot water. I thought, shave first and then surely I will have hot water, still no hot water. I can say this is the first time in a Marriott property, but you are never ready for a cold shower at 4:30am.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My family stayed here after we visited the Omaha Zoo. The room was very clean and spacious. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub area as well. The breakfast was nice with a lot of options. My wife and I want to say a special thank you to Sue who was maintaining the breakfast area. Our 3 year old son has severe nut allergies, and she was extremely helpful in checking labels for us. We will definitely be staying here again the next time we visit the Omaha/Council Bluffs area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We live close by but chose this hotel after getting a groupon for it that cut the price in half. We used the one night stay on a weekend to celebrate a child's birthday party. Knowing that many, many groupons had been sold for this hotel and needed to be used within the month we were expecting an over-ran, loud, and crowded place--but that isn't what we got. It certainly was full but surprisingly the entire hotel wasn't loud at all and never seemed crowded. The front desk was very kind in changing our room for us right after check in so that we could have a connecting room with one other family who joined us. The rooms were very nice, very clean, and quite roomy. Each of us had 5 people in each room (2 adults, 3 kids) and neither was cramped. The pool and hot tub area were clean and we used them a lot. Water temps were great. In the morning we all enjoyed the free breakfast (hot/cold cereals, fruit, pastries, breads, yogurt, juice/milk/coffee/tea, eggs, meats-which we made breakfast sandwiches out of) as it was very good, fresh, and was being kept very well replenish considering how many people were there. All staff we encountered were friendly. We didn't choose the hotel for location as we are locals but it does sit next to (walking distance) to Bass Pro Shops, Mid America Center, Horseshoe Casino, a couple restaurants, and then a short drive across the interstate some shopping and more restaurants. Definitely would stay here again if we needed a weekend get away!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are so honored to be apart of your Anniversary Celebration! Thank you for staying with us and giving us your feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Council Bluffs
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Omaha East/Council Bluffs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
#7 of 25 in Council Bluffs
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Council Bluffs

Address: 3216 Plaza View Drive, Council Bluffs, IA 51501
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Council Bluffs 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the SpringHill Suites difference. It's a place that will soothe your senses, a place where spacious suites and inspiring design will help you leave feeling more refreshed than when you arrived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Marriott, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Council Bluffs Hotel Council Bluffs
Council Bluffs Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Council Bluffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.