We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Council Bluffs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Council Bluffs to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Council Bluffs
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3216 Plaza View Drive, Council Bluffs, IA 51501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Atchison, Kansas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here for a short weekend trip to the zoo and ball game. We had a very nice stay. My only complaint is that the walls are a little thin, you can hear your neighbors very clearly and the air conditioner is very noisy when it cycles on and off. You cannot just have the fan on continually for the noise. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choices and there was quite a lot of setting. They even opened up the meeting room next door to take care of any overflow.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    59
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
43
33
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

With a number "2" rating on TripAdvisor this hotel ended up being a major disappointment. This facility might be good for families, but that's it. The desk and breakfast area were understaffed. The rooms are a little tired. No hot water in the shower. The breakfast offering was very weak and barely edible...just going through the motions and not offering quality (maybe this is typical for the chain...don't usually stay at Marriott properties).

Not recommended for couples, singles or business travelers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Everything about my stay was good until I woke up at 4:30am for a 6:10am flight out. I turned the shower on and waited and waited, no hot water. I thought, shave first and then surely I will have hot water, still no hot water. I can say this is the first time in a Marriott property, but you are never ready for a cold shower at 4:30am.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My family stayed here after we visited the Omaha Zoo. The room was very clean and spacious. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub area as well. The breakfast was nice with a lot of options. My wife and I want to say a special thank you to Sue who was maintaining the breakfast area. Our 3 year old son has severe nut allergies, and she was extremely helpful in checking labels for us. We will definitely be staying here again the next time we visit the Omaha/Council Bluffs area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We live close by but chose this hotel after getting a groupon for it that cut the price in half. We used the one night stay on a weekend to celebrate a child's birthday party. Knowing that many, many groupons had been sold for this hotel and needed to be used within the month we were expecting an over-ran, loud, and crowded place--but that isn't what we got. It certainly was full but surprisingly the entire hotel wasn't loud at all and never seemed crowded. The front desk was very kind in changing our room for us right after check in so that we could have a connecting room with one other family who joined us. The rooms were very nice, very clean, and quite roomy. Each of us had 5 people in each room (2 adults, 3 kids) and neither was cramped. The pool and hot tub area were clean and we used them a lot. Water temps were great. In the morning we all enjoyed the free breakfast (hot/cold cereals, fruit, pastries, breads, yogurt, juice/milk/coffee/tea, eggs, meats-which we made breakfast sandwiches out of) as it was very good, fresh, and was being kept very well replenish considering how many people were there. All staff we encountered were friendly. We didn't choose the hotel for location as we are locals but it does sit next to (walking distance) to Bass Pro Shops, Mid America Center, Horseshoe Casino, a couple restaurants, and then a short drive across the interstate some shopping and more restaurants. Definitely would stay here again if we needed a weekend get away!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are so honored to be apart of your Anniversary Celebration! Thank you for staying with us and giving us your feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LINCOLN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the SpringHill Suites overnight last weekend, March 9. It was clean, had a very nice breakfast, check in was very relaxed, and the sitting area was nice to sit and chill and watch a movie. Totally enjoyed our evening get away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carroll, Iowa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My daughter and I decided to stay here instead of Omaha; since I work for the government in Iowa, I was able to get the government rate. The room has a cupboard with glasses and a countertop with a coffee maker, plus a fridge underneath it. I really wish it would have had a freezer, too, as I am recovering from a total knee replacement and really needed to freeze my ice packs. Trying to keep them frozen in an ice cooler doesn't work. I was in a lot of pain through the night and had to have my daughter go get ice from the machine, that started leaking out of the ice bag when it melted. There is a nice sitting area with a couch and a desk. The flat screen tv can be turned so you can view it from either the bed or the couch. The sink is outside of the bathroom, which I find a little gross. I don't like not washing my hands before touching the door handle. The bed is definitely the smallest king bed I have ever seen. I had read it in other reviews, but thought perhaps they were mistaken. My daughter and I had to share this bed and I am thankful we are not bigger as our bodies would have been touching! There is a mirror directly across from the bed, so it was a little discerning to look up and see yourself when you aren't expecting it! We did use the pool and hot tub and they were amazing! The pool water was warm and the hot tub was relaxing! I would have given this a 5 star rating if not for the small bed. We didn't eat breakfast there so I cannot comment on that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor away from the ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hello kapmom44,

We are very happy that you and your daughter stayed with us while in the area and enjoyed it!

It is our guest insight that make us who we are! We value you as our guest and look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Council Bluffs

Address: 3216 Plaza View Drive, Council Bluffs, IA 51501
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Council Bluffs 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the SpringHill Suites difference. It's a place that will soothe your senses, a place where spacious suites and inspiring design will help you leave feeling more refreshed than when you arrived. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Council Bluffs Hotel Council Bluffs
Council Bluffs Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Council Bluffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.