We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dirty.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of American Inn Council Bluffs

American Inn Council Bluffs
American Inn Council Bluffs
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added American Inn Council Bluffs to your Saves list
American Inn Council Bluffs
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2717 South 24th Street, Council Bluffs, IA 51501   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
CALL US DIRECT & SAVE $$$
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very dirty.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

No shampoo, no conditioner... Just one bar of soup. Bolt lock was broke, seemed like a bunch of hotel guests lived there.. Was a very trashy place... Glad we just slept and left. Seemed like a bad area of town. Office was in a little hut, with bullet proof glass and security. Scary. Wouldn't reccomend for famililys. Rooms had cigarette burns everywhere. No toilet paper holder, no trash can in bathroom..

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The cleaning staff was definitely poor. We stayed for three nights and a piece of feces in the bottom of the toilet bowl was never cleaned, the floor was vacuumed once and the longer we stayed, the fewer towels we received. The bed linens were not changed at all and the sheets were never tucked in under the mattress. One other thing, the cleaning chemicals have a strong chemical smell that is unpleasant and not inviting.

However, the rates were reasonable and the location is handy, but the office needs to be moved and the lot needs patching.

Room Tip: There are no elevators, but the walls are pretty soundproof
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Director of Sales at American Inn Council Bluffs, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I want to say thank you for giving us your review. I do appreciate your positive comments and also your negative ones! Without people like you letting us know your opinion and constructive criticism , we would not be aware of the negligence of service you experienced while staying with us.
I am actually going to the hotel tomorrow and this review will be the hot topic of the day!
Please accept our apology! I hope we will have the chance to have you stay with us again, and if so, I assure you the changes will be noticeable.

Sincerely,

Carol McCoy
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

On JULY 25, I Checked IN using a credit card. It was swiped and she gave me a receipt. two hours later she called my room to say i had to get out because there was a problem with that card. she used profanity and threatened with criminal charges. i asked to speak with the manager but was denied.. i do believe the clerk should have asked if i had other ways to pay, i do carry more than 1 credit card, cash and checks because i am a veteran. end an american. i think the name"AMERICAN INN' should be changed. and i did get some of this on video.

Room Tip: Do Not stay at this place there is no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Only two hotels in council buffs overs monthly rates American inn and super 7 I've been to both and American inn is the best. They are nice and have very great rates. Even the other people that stay there is kind as well.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Director of Sales at American Inn Council Bluffs, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! I apologize for this incredible delay in writing this but please know how much we appreciate the time you took to share your comments.
I hope you have shared your positive experience with your friends and family too! Please come stay with us again if you have a need!

Sincerely,

Carol M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to American Inn Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn Council Bluffs

Address: 2717 South 24th Street, Council Bluffs, IA 51501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — American Inn Council Bluffs 2*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your American Inn Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Inn Council Bluffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.