We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Arena Way, Council Bluffs, IA 51501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Kansas City
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Hotel is conveniently located. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Bed was super comfy! Room was clean. Microwave and fridge was a welcomed bonus. Will definitely stay at Country Inn again when in town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    76
    34
    9
    5
See reviews for
80
52
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I use TRIPADVISOR in all my planning, and I looked up this hotel before we stayed here. It had great reviews. I felt at ease, because I trust Tripadvisor. The reviews are correct. I stayed here for three nights, and to tell the truth I pick out hotels that have a pool for my children. I was happy with this choice. I saw, on a regular basis, a man cleaning everything, from the exercise equipment for the pool tables. The cleaning ladies are nice too and it is a welcome change for me that they actually could understand what I was saying to them when I asked for extra towels. They have free cookies, and believe me my children made good use of this benefit. Now there was a few times they were out of cookies, but my children got their share. The free breakfast does leave a little to be desired. The waffles are ok, but the biscuits, oatmeal, danishes were unedible. My kids took a bite and asked to go elsewhere, so that didn't save me money like I thought it would. BUT...the place is clean, the pool is clean, even the whirlpool (which I usually don't trust the cleanliness on) was clean, even I hopped in. I would suggest this hotel to my friends and be confident in that suggestion. I would stay again. It was right next to the HORSHOE CASINO, I walked there one night from my room. The Horshoe is nice too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

If you're looking for a throwback to 1980's style, this hotel is for you! Everything from the garish carpet in the hallway to the gold bedspread (BEDSPREAD! What quality chain uses bedspreads anymore?) screams truck stop motel.

Our guest room had firm and comfortable beds swaddled in those gold bedspreads previously mentioned. The room was very clean and dust free. The bathroom was immaculate. The wireless internet signal was available throughout the property. The doors to the sleeping rooms must be among the heaviest in the industry; perhaps this is due to fire code in Council Bluffs specifically or all throughout Iowa, but we could hear doors shutting all throughout the night.

There is an indoor pool and hot tub with great views of the adjacent casino.

One of the best features of Country Inn & Suites is the free hot breakfast served each morning. Our breakfast included biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, chicken patties, various pastries and muffins, cold cereal, and several other options. This is a wonderful way to start the day! The ladies staffing the breakfast room were very friendly and took pride in keeping the room organized, cleaned, and stocked with fresh food items. I regret that I did not get their names, because they were the two bright spots among all of the staff that we encountered.

All in all, if you are looking for a fun time warp back to the dated style of the 80's and you want a substantial free hot breakfast, check out the Country Inn & Suites in Council Bluffs. Locating it can be a challenge as it sits in a complex with other hotels, a convention center, and a casino.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been renovated just to see if you get something that doesn't have a gold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is a good, but not great, budget hotel. The rooms are nice, roomy and clean. The breakfast was average, with the usual fare. I was only there for a night, but did visit the casino, which is only a minute walk from the hotel's back door. There are renovations going on, including the room across the hall being gutted, but it didn't bother me during my short stay. The people were nice and friendly. I recommend this hotel for folks on a budget, as there are nicer and more expensive places nearby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here on the last night of a 12 day road trip. This was a stopping point for us on the last leg home and this was an decent place to sleep. The beds were ok and we had a fridge and a microwave in the room which was nice.

The breakfast wasn't the best since it was dehydrated eggs and fruit that had clearly been frozen. Better than perhaps a doughnut and coffee but not the best as far as hotel breakfasts go.

We would stay there again but it was an average stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here for one night while travelling home to Canada from Kansas City. It was a great value for clean rooms and a decent breakfast. Right across the parking lot from a Casino, and easy driving distance to a number of shops and restaurants. Beds were very comfortable (best pillows on our trip!) and our room was immaculate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We were in Council Bluffs for a concert at the Mid America Center. The hotel is connected to the arena. But on this night we walked outside to the front of the center instead. Hotel was nice, staff was friendly. We were there 2 nights. They have a nice breakfast with hot foods including the ever popular waffle maker. Only complaint I would have, and it's not really a negative, but the staff manning the breakfast buffet were a little too over attentive. Constantly filling something, (good) but always kind of in the way (bad).
Room was spacious and clean. Bed was comfortable. Good location and convenient to visit Omaha as well, only a brief 10 min? drive over the river.

Room Tip: Some reviews suggest a room opposite the casino. Our room faced the casino but the curtains did a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Council Bluffs hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Council Bluffs
SpringHill Suites Council Bluffs
#2 of 25 in Council Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Omaha East/Council Bluffs
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
#7 of 25 in Council Bluffs
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Crossroads of the Bluffs
BEST WESTERN Crossroads of the B...
#12 of 25 in Council Bluffs
3.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs

Address: 17 Arena Way, Council Bluffs, IA 51501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're doing business in Omaha, visiting loved ones or trying your luck at the area's famous casinos, you can't beat the comfort and convenience offered at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs, IA. The hotel's central location puts you just minutes from Eppley Airfield in Omaha, and the Harrah's and Ameristar casinos are only a short drive away. As an added bonus, the Horseshoe Casino is just across the street from the hotel, making it easy for you to enjoy the region's best games. At the hotel, you can take advantage of numerous amenities and services, including free high-speed Internet access, a heated indoor pool and whirlpool tub, and a complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast buffet each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Council Bluffs Hotel Council Bluffs
Country Inn And Suites Council Bluffs
Country Inn Council Bluffs
Council Bluffs Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.