We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place! Too bad they nickel & dime guests” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's Council Bluffs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Harrah's Council Bluffs to your Saves list
Harrah's Council Bluffs
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Harrah's Blvd., Council Bluffs, IA 51501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Frankfort, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great place! Too bad they nickel & dime guests”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Great place. well kept and spacious rooms. Staff very nice. Management needs to rethink all the extra charges that at most hotels are complementary. Such as WIFI $13, HBO etc, extra charge and no continental breakfast. These extra charges will cause me NOT to make a return visit and try another location.

Room Tip: If you stay here try the buffet at the Horse shoe casino, cheaper and more diverse selection
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew K, Public Relations Manager at Harrah's Council Bluffs, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Hi Ed-Suzi,

Thank you for visiting our hotel and casino. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our spacious rooms during your stay. We are also glad to hear our staff was very nice and helpful. We will be sure to pass along your kind comments.

We do understand your frustration with our extra services. We will be sure to bring your comments to our management team. While our extra services (Wifi, food, premium channels) are an additional cost, guests that are Total Reward members have the opportunity to enjoy these extra services at no additional charge.

Thanks again for staying with us. We hope to see you again in the future!

Best,

-Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    56
    31
    7
    20
See reviews for
27
66
9
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Suite 1010 directly over the arena stage had a great view of Omaha and the river. Nice sunsets too. Room was a large two room suite, well furnished with marble and granite, clean, and well maintained. Very quiet too. Would definitely use it again, after a lovely four night stay.

Room Tip: I liked the river side, but there are great views of the golf course from the east facing side too.
See more room tips
Green Features: I could give a damn, but they seem to think its a big deal.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew K, Public Relations Manager at Harrah's Council Bluffs, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Hi Garry,

Thank you so much for the kind comments! We're are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Please be sure to let us know the next time you want to come visit! We would be delighted to have you back!

Best,

-Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We were in room919, one smoking king size bed- No smell of smoke! This room was spotless!!! Two chairs and a table in front of a large window, lots of natural light! The bathroom , marble floors and granite counter top, brass fixtures, a lighted side mirror as well as hair dryer. The bed was extra comfy!! We loved it! The food was very good, and the deserts!!! YUM- and it was all comped!!! If you are a total rewards player- yours will be too!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew K, Public Relations Manager at Harrah's Council Bluffs, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Hi Ciidross

We are extremely excited you enjoyed your stay with us! We were certailnly happy to have you! Thank you so much for the kind comments. Can't wait to see you again!

-Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, KS
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed here for a night to go to a concert at the Cove in the back of the casino. The room was way overpriced and pretty small. At least the room was clean. We weren't expecting wifi to be an additional $10.95 charge per day. Like a casino doesn't rake in enough $ out of people. Also the tv signal kept going in and out, making it very difficult to watch any program. The pillows are little, not coinciding with a king sized bed. Call me crazy, but I think a paying guest should have a guaranteed parking spot, regardless of an event going on or not. The lack of access to this place caused a huge bottleneck traffic jam before and after the concert. This is the first and last time will ever attend an event at this venue.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew K, Public Relations Manager at Harrah's Council Bluffs, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Hi Vern,

Thank you for your feedback. Anytime we have a concert in our Stir Cove concert venue, we do experience a rather large volume of traffic. I am sorry your TV signal was not consistent. We will be sure to address this issues with our facilities team and make sure all of our amenities are functioning properly. We do offer free valet to any of our guests that come to Harrah's. Unfortunately, due to the large volume of concert attendees, we do see a bit of a traffic back up once a concert lets out. We have local security help direct traffic and try to make it as smooth as possible.

Once again, we do apologize for your unpleasnt experience. Feel free to reach out to help us address any additional concerns. Thanks again.

-Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at the Harrah's Council Bluff's on our 4th night during our 48 day west trip from Florida. The typical highrise hotel & casino that offered a good rate. The room had 2 queen beds and was very clean with no cigarette smell from the casino below.

They have a 2 terminal computer business office next to the front desk that I used because I needed a printer but the wifi was just fine in our room.

They have a free parking garage and outside parking easily assessible to the hotel. The casino itself was rather small but ok for a night's stay. There is nothing near the hotel so you will need to drive to your destination or any other restaruants. The food in the hotel is too expensive and we ate cearal from our cooler for breakfast.

Room Tip: You are not near anything so any room will meet your satisfaction. Perhaps ask for a higher room to...
See more room tips
Green Features: Kudo's to any hotel that respects the need to save on water and not do your towels everynight.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Beach, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The hotel part if very good, clean rooms, nice people, etc.
Food at the little 24 hr place was good.
The casino is very very small right now, I heard a lot of hammering and drilling so maybe they are making it bigger.
I would say if you can travel to the other casinos this one is good for sleeping and it was a good price and clean.

Room Tip: I stayed on a Monday night so the place wasn't crowded so I really can't give you a tip on t...
See more room tips
Green Features: I don't care about this, I just want a clean room.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central City, Nebraska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

hotel is over priced and the casino is tiny and overrated... however the backstage grill diner restraunt they have in there has good food, and the carrot cake is the best in the world... if your at harrahs try it... its like a 1/4 of a full cake for like 6 bucks!!!

Room Tip: stay elseweher its not worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrah's Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Council Bluffs

Address: One Harrah's Blvd., Council Bluffs, IA 51501
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's Council Bluffs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether business or pleasure takes you to the Omaha and Council Bluffs area, staying at Harrah’s is your key to a fun, friendly time. Check in to our luxurious accommodations, including exquisite suites and deluxe rooms. Plus, you’re just step away from the action with slots, table games, fabulous dining, shopping and live entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harrah's Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Council Bluffs Hotel Council Bluffs
Harrahs Hotel Council Bluffs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's Council Bluffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.