We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but casino is very very small” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's Council Bluffs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Harrah's Council Bluffs to your Saves list
Harrah's Council Bluffs
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Harrah's Blvd., Council Bluffs, IA 51501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
GreenLeadersBronze level
Howard Beach, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice Hotel but casino is very very small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The hotel part if very good, clean rooms, nice people, etc.
Food at the little 24 hr place was good.
The casino is very very small right now, I heard a lot of hammering and drilling so maybe they are making it bigger.
I would say if you can travel to the other casinos this one is good for sleeping and it was a good price and clean.

Room Tip: I stayed on a Monday night so the place wasn't crowded so I really can't give you a tip on t...
See more room tips
Green Features: I don't care about this, I just want a clean room.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    82
    49
    9
    22
See reviews for
47
101
22
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central City, Nebraska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

hotel is over priced and the casino is tiny and overrated... however the backstage grill diner restraunt they have in there has good food, and the carrot cake is the best in the world... if your at harrahs try it... its like a 1/4 of a full cake for like 6 bucks!!!

Room Tip: stay elseweher its not worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

If you are ok with Electricity and water only, this place offers a great overnight experience. However, the sites are narrow and not easy to position a large motorhome and get both slides out on the curb and street side of the coach. Meals and drinks in the Casino are expensive. The RV park is quite reasonable for a nights stay at $31 if you pay cash. The dump is a bit clunky but works. Registration is in a little buildiing on the property, but igmore that is near the Bass Pro Shop. it is a ¼ mile away...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed one night during College World Series. While the casino was smaller than I expected I still had no problem being entertained and leaving with a few bucks ahead. The hotel rooms were clean and the beds were super comfortable. Check in I was greeted by a friendly staffer and quickly had my key. We had a room that was directly next to the elevator which initially caused worry but turned out to have no disturbing noise level. We had a few of the river which was fine and enjoyable especially watching the fountain at the ConAgra Corporate HQ from across the way. We tried the 24/7 diner at 1:00 a.m. My wife and I both ordered omeletttes that were not only excellent but also HUGE plus toast and hashbrowns for $9 before rewards card discount. Overall excellent stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Went to Harrahs in Council Bluffs Iowa for a weekend getaway. It's only a three hour drive from Kansas City. The Saturday evening we were there they had a concert performed by Collective Souls. If you know this band from the 90's you know how good they are. Harrahs has an outdoor amphitheater for concerts that seats about 3000. You can bring a blanket or lawn chair and sit on the grassy hill in front if the stage.There are no bad seats! Check out their concert schedule for the summer at Harrahs/stir cove concert series. They've got some good shows at fair prices. We also went to the Horseshoe casino (a partner of Harrahs) to wager on horse and dog races. It was the weekend of the Belmont stakes, there was plenty of exciting racing to watch and wager on. If you go for a weekend plan on driving a short distance to the Omaha Zoo. Check out the indoor rain forest. It is one of the best in the country. While you're there explore all of their eating options. When you gamble you accumulate points that can be used for food discounts and comps. The hotel itself is very organized. I have never had any problems with either my room or with the staff. Everyone there is very professional. They treat every guest like you're the only one in the hotel. If you just want to get away for a weekend and want to go somewhere in the mid west I highly recommend Harrahs, Council Bluffs. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We checked in very late at night, 2 AM, and the hotel clerk was alert and gracious. When we got to our room it was very nice. All areas seemed to be very clean. We slept in a bit and it was quiet. Their were darkening curtains on the windows. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, we sleep well. I went down the next morning to check out the casino, it was nice and looked clean. Stayed only for 30 minutes as we had to check out. The hotel was right off the interstate and easy to find. Would stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed here for my 21st birthday; overall i liked it. The rooms were nice though i did have to clean some dust from my window frame. The beds were very comfy. The casino was fun though only 1 level. Our bartender Mark was SUPER AWESOME. He got a group of people together to sing me happy birthday and he always remembered my name.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrah's Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Council Bluffs

Address: One Harrah's Blvd., Council Bluffs, IA 51501
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Council Bluffs
#5 Romantic Hotel in Council Bluffs
#7 Business Hotel in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's Council Bluffs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether business or pleasure takes you to the Omaha and Council Bluffs area, staying at Harrah’s is your key to a fun, friendly time. Check in to our luxurious accommodations, including exquisite suites and deluxe rooms. Plus, you’re just step away from the action with slots, table games, fabulous dining, shopping and live entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harrah's Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Council Bluffs Hotel Council Bluffs
Harrahs Hotel Council Bluffs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's Council Bluffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.