We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable and profitable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's Council Bluffs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Harrah's Council Bluffs to your Saves list
Harrah's Council Bluffs
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Harrah's Blvd., Council Bluffs, IA 51501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and profitable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Whoever does hiring for this property should get a big pat on the back. Everyone from the valet, to check in to servers to dealers and slot attendants are so incredibly friendly. It must be an amazing work culture.

Stayed two nights on the hotel. Stayed on second floor in a double non-smoking. In the interest of full disclosure the room was comped for previous play at the casino.

Check in was lightening fast, the room was average and what you would expect. The bed was extremely comfortable with lots of pillows. I know I am strange but I like lots of pillows. Temperature was easily adjusted by a thermostat system on the wall which is always a plus on any hotel for me.

Nice complimentary toiletries. My only complaint was that the room had an odd smell. This is one of the few hotels that still has smoking and non- smoking rooms. My guess is that this was once upon a time a smoking room. Ate at both the buffet and the 24 hour grill. Buffet is what you expect at a casino. Backstage grill had some kick butt steak and eggs and some very nice desserts for your late night sweet tooth.

Machines were generous to me this time. It was a happy couple of days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Manager at Harrah's Council Bluffs, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for the nice words about our staff! We are extremely fortunate to have built a great team here, and are very proud that you took the time to recognize us here on TripAdvisor. I am glad that you found our beds to be so comfortable (loving extra pillows isn't strange, it's the best way to sleep!), and that you enjoyed your experience in the Fresh Market Buffet and Stir Backstage Grill. Next time you are in town, you'll have to check out our 360 Steakhouse - not only is the food incredible, but the view of Omaha's downtown skyline just can't be beat. See you next time!

Regards,

Ryan M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    141
    74
    15
    25
See reviews for
83
165
42
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas TX
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed here out of necessity for the Berkshire annual meeting, as all other reasonable options booked. Possibly one of the worst places I've ever stayed at. The entire hotel reeked of smoke and "pardon our dust" signs. The actual room was minimally appointed. Overall there was clearly a lot of deferred maintenance. The treadmill I tried to use in the fitness center sparked and smoked once I got up to full speed, forcing me on to the one other treadmill in the place. Avoid at all costs, unless you really want to gamble. Surprisingly, there was $5 blackjack and craps even on the evening of the meeting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Manager at Harrah's Council Bluffs, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. We strive to exceed the expectations of each of our guests, providing thorough training to our staff continually throughout the year. I do apologize for the "Pardon our Dust" signs; your visit this past week took place during a very exciting time for us here, as we are nearing the end of construction for our brand new, land-based casino which opens on June 8th. Combined with our guestrooms which were renovated in 2010, we will soon be featuring an exciting new product which will offer the best value in town.

I invite you to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the Council Bluffs or Omaha area. I believe that your experience will be nothing short of excellent. Should you feel that we are falling short of your expectations in any way, please do not hesitate to contact a Hotel Supervisor or Manager, and we will assist you to the best of our abilities.

Hospitably,

Ryan M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
160 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

This is an avg. riverboat casino hotel, bare bones services, avg. to poor Buffet & 24 hr grill. There is no person to handle your bags @ check-in. Saw a woman pushing her own bags on a bag roller cart. There is heavy cigarette smoke in the lobby of this non smoking bldg. Rooms rates should not exceed $120 per night ever. Now The good, nice check-in workers,waiters, & maids, dated but cared for rooms.
Lots of room for improvement.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Manager at Harrah's Council Bluffs, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
On behalf of our staff, thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here on TripAdvisor. Please know that we do share these surveys with our entire staff, and your kind words about our service are very much appreciated. I do also want to let you know that we are one month away from opening a new, land-based casino. We are very excited to open this June, and know that you will absolutely love it! In conjunction with this, we are re-opening Stir Live and Loud, as well as making changes to the Fresh Market Square Buffet, Stir Cove Backstage Grill, and our Hotel Room Service. It is certainly an exciting time for us here, and we hope that you will be able join us!

In addition, we do offer numerous services at the hotel. In addition to complimentary Valet Parking, our Valet staff are more than willing to assist you with your luggage. Should you ever have a question about our services, please let any of our staff know and they will be happy to help!

Regards,

Ryan M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This one was not. While it was good it was still about 150 bucks with tax. Location was pretty good and the room was comfortable and reasonably quiet. The staff was good too. I got sick while here and while it might have come from the buffet it is hard to say. My wife got sick the next day also. It was likely something we ate as we were better as soon as we" laughed at our shoes." The staff was nice and we gambled a small amount. It was not our aim but we came across it and stayed. Don't think I would go back as there were good, less expensive places to stay in the area. My main objection would be the price as it is high for a casino and I have stayed in many nice casino rooms for very little money including this road trip. Council Bluffs just ain't no Las Vegas.I can't give it a higher than average because of the price. Again there is not enough nuance in the rating system.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Manager at Harrah's Council Bluffs, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We very much appreciate your comments about our comfortable rooms, and have made sure to pass your words on to our staff. We believe that we offer an incredible value here, as our product and services just cannot be matched by any other hotel in town. In addition, through our various Promotions, Events, and Room Types, we can customize a package which can fit any budget. We are only a month away from opening our brand new casino, and we know that you will be amazed. Should you have any questions about what we have upcoming, please do not hesitate to contact us at (712) 329-6000.

We hope to see you soon!

Ryan M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wahoo, Nebraska
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a night in March, and the room was nothing fancy, but it was clean and functional. The last time we stayed our room faced the river, and the Omaha skyline at night is very nice looking. This time we had a view of the parking lot. Best to request the river view side. Other than that, we had a great time in the casino (we left with more than we came with).

Room Tip: Pick the riverside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Roon was great , although dated, the staff was friendly, the casino was worse the casino night at a local church, go to the horseshoe it was wayyyyyyyyyy better. The shuttle to there is free. Smoking is prevalent at this location

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great customer service here. The buffet is great - Tonya at the register, when we were there on Sunday, 3/24 - was very friendly, professional. Whoever was working the phones that night was also very helpful - I called to order a cab for the morning and she let me know about the shuttle that started at 4:30 AM, then also offerred a wakeup call. The beds are VERY comfortable - nice sheets and great mattresses. Overall - nice place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Harrah's Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Council Bluffs

Address: One Harrah's Blvd., Council Bluffs, IA 51501
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Council Bluffs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Council Bluffs
#8 Business Hotel in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's Council Bluffs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether business or pleasure takes you to the Omaha and Council Bluffs area, staying at Harrah’s is your key to a fun, friendly time. Check in to our luxurious accommodations, including exquisite suites and deluxe rooms. Plus, you’re just step away from the action with slots, table games, fabulous dining, shopping and live entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Harrah's Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Council Bluffs Hotel Council Bluffs
Harrahs Hotel Council Bluffs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's Council Bluffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.