We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Military Discount - Sometimes” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2202 River Road, Council Bluffs, IA 51501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 25 hotels in Council Bluffs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Military Discount - Sometimes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

When I called to make the reservation for a jacuzzi suite I asked about a military discount. I was informed that there were no military discounts on suites and that they only offered discounts on the standard rooms when they weren't close to being completely booked. I almost hung up at that point. Had the female stopped at "we only offer discounts on standard rates" I would have been fine. But the second part didn't sit we'll with me. Shows the priorities of this establishment.

I went ahead and asked to reserve a room despite my irritation. I was placed on hold for nearly 10 minutes before the female came back on the line.

Once we arrived, the female working at the front desk was irritated that the phone kept ringing and that she had to have a driver head out (Alice Cooper's show had just ended). We were provided with our key and pointed towards an elevator.

The room itself was fine except for the nasty ceiling above the hot tub. I'd highly recommend fixing the ceiling and placing tile there.

In the morning as we waited in line to check out we watched the same female make fun of a guest who had come down to ask for a razor. Highly unprofessional.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Angie S,

Thank you for choosing to spend your time here with us even with the difficulties you faced. I will be using this example during my next staff meeting so everyone knows how important the things they convey to our guests are. I assure you that our service is one of our strong points and will ensure that your experience will not be repeated in the future. I would be more than happy to speak to you directly about this experience as well. I care a great deal about the stay of each and every one of my guests and will always be here for you when something doesn't go as well as it should. I would love the opportunity to serve you again and I will make sure that if you do visit us again your stay will be outstanding!

Bill Vanderpool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    36
    17
    3
    6
See reviews for
31
14
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel was nice and the breakfast good. Next to a casino, I don’t gamble so it made no difference to me. It was close enough to downtown Omaha which is a nice place to hang out during the day and stay for dinner. The pool was also nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear wingnut457,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy so much of our facility while you were here. Our location, pool, and breakfast are three things that many of our guests enjoy and I am very happy that you enjoyed them as well. We also have a complimentary shuttle to downtown Omaha so the next time your in town we can take you there and pick you up 24-hours a day if you don't want to have to look for parking. It is great that you enjoyed your time here with us and I look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again soon!

Bill Vanderpool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Hard to complain about this place. Updated and clean. Bathroom actually had a shower instead of tub. It's not in the greatest location but if's safe. My A/C quit at some point in the night and wouldn't come on. I let the Front desk know when I checked out and they apologized and knocked $30 off the bill. That was nice.
I rated the Value as Poor because it was $190 a night, due to the College World Series going on. Of course every hotel in the area was high so it was comparable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear awray,

Thank you for your review of our hotel and for choosing to spend your time here with us. I sincerely appreciate you showcasing some of our best features for the TripAdvisor community. Our staff worked very hard on our recent renovation and it is great to hear that you found us to be nice and modern. I am sorry for the difficulty with the air conditioning unit but am very happy to hear that you were pleased with the outcome of the situation. I appreciate your understanding in regards to the rate during the College World Series and would love to have you back the next time you are in town. I look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future!

Bill Vanderpool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Iowa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

First, the positives: the staff were friendly and helpful, the pool area was nice (although there is a complaint in there), the room was nice. The location is very convenient.

The negatives: the pool deck is incredibly slippery. I saw numerous people fall, and I also fell. The a/c unit in the room was very noisy. The breakfast room was chaotic. They should move the waffle iron to a place where it won't clog up the whole room. We visited during a very busy time. The College World Series was going on, so it was crowded and incredibly noisy in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear IowaGirl-in-Germany,

Thank you for staying with us while you were in the area - we truly apprecaiate your business. I also thank you for pointing out both the positives about your experiences as well as the things we can do better next time. I have reported your concerns with the pool deck being slippery to Ameristar's Facilities department to have the issue corrected immediately. I am also reviewing with my breakfast department about moving the waffle-maker. I think that it is a great idea and I appreciate you sharing it with me. I also thank you for pointing out the things that went well for you while you were here with us. Our service and quality of our rooms are things we take a great deal of pride in and I am glad that these areas were positives during your time here with us. I would love to have another opportunity to serve you if you are in the neighborhood again!

Bill Vanderpool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while on a family road trip. The attached Ameristar Casino would privide some great entertainment if you are interested. The fitness center and pool provided a great way to exercise after being in a car all day. We stayed in a room facing the river, and our son enjoyed watching logs float by while we got ready in the morning. The hot breakfast was exceptionally good, and the staff did a nice job of keeping the food stocked and tables clean. The room was clean, and tastefully decorated. We hope to stay here again on out way back home.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Stacey502,

It is great to hear that we were everything you were hoping for on your recent road trip. I always enjoy hearing how we have been able to make memories for our guests. Watching the logs float down the river is something only our guests can enjoy and I am happy that you were able to be a part of that. I appreciate you showcasing some of our best features for the TripAdvisor community such as our connection with the casino as well as our breakfast and cleanliness. I will make sure to relay to my staff how much you enjoyed your time here with us and we would love to host you again on your way back through.

Bill Vanderpool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here overnight on our way to another destination. When booked we did not realize it was attached to a casino. We didn't mind that other than parking was a mess. The lobby was nice and staff was pleasant and friendly. As others have stated, the property needs some updates as it is showing some wear in places. The wall paper in our room had started to peel in one spot.

However, it did seem clean and has a great location next to the interstate. Breakfast was also adequate and all in our group found something to eat.

Room Tip: When booking know this is attached to a casino and at least one other hotel property. Parking can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear ksugans,

Thank you for choosing our hotel on your trip through the area - we really appreciate your business. I am happy that you were able to report such positive things as the service of the staff as well as the lobby updates that we have completed. We have been steadily working on improving our entire hotel for everyone to enjoy. We work very hard at showcasing our best features and I am glad that you left here feeling that these areas were up to par. I am sorry for the difficulty in parking and I can understand your feelings about sharing the parking lot with the casino - it can make it difficult when they have events going on. Overall I am happy that you left here satisfied and would love to have the opportunity to host you again if you are ever passing through!

Bill Vanderpool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is the first time that I have stayed at this hotel, my company usually puts me in the Holiday Inn Express about a mile from this property.

I have stayed at several full-service Holiday Inn locations in the past, so this is what my comparisons are based off of. I would describe this hotel to be on the 'lower end' of what other full-service HI locations are. The hotel property is dated. The common areas are pretty run down, and the corridors could use updating. There is a smell of cigarette smoke throughout the property. The staff did welcome me as a Gold member, and I found the staff to be the best part of my 3 day visit. The breakfast came in a close 2nd. Upon entering my room, it was also pretty dated. The through-the-wall air conditioner was noisy, & the furnishings had seen some better days. The bathroom had been updated recently, and the bed was comfortable. I needed to sleep with ear plugs to overcome the sound of the A/C.

Restaurants at the Casino were ok, and it is better to walk then to have to drive somewhere, but the smoke throughout the facility was a huge turnoff.

As this compares to other "full service" Holiday Inn locations, it is below expectations. As it compares to the Holiday Inn Express down the street, it is also sub-par. The facility simply does not meet the bar to be a full-service HI location. It needs to be updated, or to be turned into a lesser quality chain hotel such as a Comfort or Best Western.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear HI-Gold-Member,

Thank you for choosing to spend your recent business trip to the area with us. I am happy that you found the service of my staff to be a bright spot in your stay. We care a great deal about each of our guests and I am happy that you felt that during your time here. It is also good to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast as well. I will make sure to relay your kind words to my staff in each of these departments. I am very sorry that you found our property to be dated. We are constantly improving our hotel and have recently completed the majority of public areas including the lobby, breakfast area, and banquet facilities. I would love to speak to you directly to talk about how we can improve for everyone in the future so we can be better prepared to serve the needs of all of our guests. I always take every opportunity I can to hear feedback from the people who matter the most to us - our guests. Please don't hesitate to contact me as I would love to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and show you a better experience the next time around.

Bill Vanderpool
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites

Address: 2202 River Road, Council Bluffs, IA 51501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Council Bluffs Hotel Council Bluffs
Council Bluffs Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.