We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29 to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2202 River Road, Council Bluffs, IA 51501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I enjoyed staying at the HI for business in Omaha. The rooms were spacious and nice. The connection to Ameristar made it easy to get to restaurants and the casino without going out in the cold. Proximity to Omaha made it simple to get to meetings in a few minutes. Looked like the nicest hotel on the east side of the river.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear trippin_it_up,

Thank you for choosing to spend your time here in the Omaha\Council Bluffs area with us. We really appreciate your business. Your comment about us being the nicest hotel on the east side of the river really means a lot to us. There are quite a few hotels in Council Bluffs and the fact that you see us that highly really speaks volumes on how much you enjoyed your stay. I also appreciate you showcasing for everyone our central location to Omaha, the casinos, and dining options as well as our large guestrooms. If you are ever in the area again for business or pleasure we would love for you to spend your time with us again!

Bill Vanderpool
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    41
    19
    4
    7
See reviews for
38
15
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel is located on the Missouri River with a nice view from the lobby and lounge area as well as from the rooms on the river side of the building. The area shows signs of its obviously industrial past. (For example, there’s a grain elevator close by the hotel.) But the area is clearly undergoing a transformation as a result of the casinos that have been built. In fact, this hotel has a direct, indoor connection to the adjacent casino/hotel complex with the associated dining and entertainment options. That would be very convenient if inclement weather precluded going elsewhere. The room itself was large and very nicely furnished, including a sofa.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear CFH_NOLA,

Thank you for choosing to spend your time in Council Bluffs with us. We really appreciate your business. It is great to hear all of the wonderful things you had to say about our hotel. River-views and our indoor passageway to the casino complex are two of our best features and we appreciate you letting everyone know about them. I am glad that you found your room spacious and well-appointed. We have just completed a renovation and it is wonderful to know that everything was to your liking. If your travels bring you back to the area again in the future we would love to have you with us again. I hope to see you again soon!

Bill Vanderpool
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel is a very nice facility. Our room was large and very nicely furnished, including a sofa. The hotel is located on the Missouri River with a good view from the lobby and lounge area as well as from the rooms on the river side of the building. The area shows signs of its obviously industrial past. (There were a number of 18-wheelers taking the same exit, and there’s a grain elevator close by the hotel.) But the area is clearly undergoing a transformation as a result of the casinos that have been built. In fact, this hotel has a direct, indoor connection to the adjacent casino/hotel complex with the associated dining and entertainment options. That would be very convenient if inclement weather precluded going elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed two nights at the Holiday Inn this week. The check-in process was quick and the staff was friendly and helpful. My room was clean, the linens were nice and the bed was very comfortable. My room faced the river and I have to say the downtown city lights, coupled with the moon beaming off the river was beautiful at night. The hot breakfast had an excellent selection and was well stocked even towards the end of serving time. The hotel lobby decor was tasteful. Our conference room was clean and well stocked with snacks and beverages during our meetings. My only complaint is that there were many cracked floor tiles in my restroom. I will stay again, should the occasion ever arise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Bubbles8990,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. I am happy to hear that your conference here was a success! I will relay to our sales and conference department how well they did. I am also very happy to hear that your time in your guestroom left such a good impression. River-views are one of our best features and you painted a wonderful picture for everyone how amazing the view of the Omaha skyline can be during the evening. It is great when our guests let us know when we do a good job and I will make sure the front desk staff knows that they made your stay more enjoyable. We would love to have you back with us during your next business or leisure trip and we will make your next stay even better than your last!

Bill Vanderpool
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Illinois
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Our room was good and staff were courteous. The things that took this from a very good to average was the back of the hotel and the remote in the room. We had breakfast and thought it would be great to eat on the patio along the river. The view of the river was good but the housekeeping was pretty bad back there. They had attempts at flower beds that had obviously not been maintained in a very long time. Other little clutter items just added up to an air of "Beverly Hillbillies". You have a gem in that river side patio, make use of it. The other thing was the remote for the tv's in our rooms. Either the batteries were dying or they were bad and when we tried to put new batteries in ours to check we couldn't because they have them locked down or something. We wanted to watch the Olympics and wasted a long time trying to get to the channel. I hate messing with little stuff like that in a hotel.

Other than those things our room was large and clean. The lobby was nice and breakfast okay. It was next door to the Ameristar and we won enough there to pay for our room so I guess we made out. Attention to detail could easily make this a much better experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear chriscentralIllinois,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Council Bluffs. We truly appreciate your business. I am very happy to hear all of the positive things you had to say about our hotel. Our river views and our proximity to the casino are definitely two of our biggest assets. I also appreciate you bringing it to my attention that there is a little to be desired in regards to the condition of our back patio. I will make sure that this big selling feature of our property doesn't continue to be overlooked. I am also very sorry about the difficulties with the remote control and I will reinforce how important this is when our staff is doing their rounds of all of our rooms. I am very happy to hear that you did so well at the casino too. Your luck is better than mine! We would love to have you back to the hotel if you are in town again and are very grateful you chose us for your travels.

Bill Vanderpool
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Story City, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Horrible experience. Room smelled like mildew, staff was rude, floor smelled like cigarette smoke, had do not disturb sign on door and staff still knocked and woke up my son. Overall bad experience and then when I got home I find that my credit card has been charged twice!!!! Such a headache!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Tripsalot_80,

Thank you for choosing to spend your time in Council Bluffs with us. I truly am very sorry that this stay was such a negative experience for you. I assure you that any feedback such as yours is addressed immediately with the appropriate parties in the hotel. We care very much about our guest experiences and I am very sorry that the problems you had with our services have let you down. Each of your concerns have been addressed within the hotel and these types of experiences are not typical for our hotel. If you come to town again please don't hesitate to contact me directly and I will make special arrangements to make your time here a much better one. I will ensure that if you chose to give us another try that we wouldn't let you down again.

Bill Vanderpool
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel was very nice. It has a beautiful river view. It is right next door to a casino, if you are interested in that. Service was great. We didn't have any complaints. We would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: You should request a riverview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear mckapke,

Thank you for choosing to spend your time in Council Bluffs with us. We truly appreciate your business. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Cleanliness and service are two of the things we pride ourselves on the most and I appreciate that we did an outstanding job in these areas for you. We are also happy that you enjoyed the view of the Missouri River - that is one of our better features and I thank you for sharing it with everyone. We would love to have you stay with us again and we will make your next stay even better than your last one!

Bill Vanderpool
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29

Address: 2202 River Road, Council Bluffs, IA 51501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the banks of the Missouri River and attached to the Ameristar Casino we are right in the heart of the Omaha\Council Bluffs Metro Area. We provide a complimentary 24 hour shuttle to and from the airport and anywhere within 5 miles of the hotel. We offer a complimentary breakfast along with an on-site bar and 4 restaurants located in the attached casino. If you're in town for business or fun we have everything you need! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Council Bluffs Hotel Council Bluffs
Council Bluffs Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.