We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Council Bluffs, IA 9th Avenue

Days Inn Council Bluffs, IA 9th Avenue
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Council Bluffs, IA 9th Avenue to your Saves list
Days Inn Council Bluffs, IA 9th Avenue
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3619 9th Avenue, Council Bluffs, IA 51501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were on the first floor, so we didn't have to worry about the elevator working. Room was clean enough, except for a large dark stain on one of the mattresses that we flipped while checking for bugs. No bugs though!
Front desk person was always friendly when we were coming in or out. Convenient location to Harrah's.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DICF, Manager at Days Inn Council Bluffs, IA 9th Avenue, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We thank you for your candidness. We've appreciated your business in the past and hope you will feel comfortable enough to try us again in the future if you would let us know when you are traveling to Days Inn city again. Thank you again. Manager Jackie Collins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    37
    52
    22
    26
See reviews for
53
34
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I am a single woman traveling alone cross-country. This was a last-minute decision to stay at this hotel. I had been traveling cross country for the last 13 hours and saw that this was the closest hotel coming up on my GPS. I am writing this review in the Days Inn hotel room as we speak. The parking lot was dark, there were a lot of older teenagers congregating around. I will be pleasantly surprised if my car is not vandalized in the morning. There were two choices of rooms. The "first" floor Turned out to be a BASEMENT unit below ground. You had to walk down a flight of steps to get there! My only other choice was a third floor unit Which I opted for. THEY SHOULD LET PEOPLE KNOW THAT THIS IS NOT AN ELEVATOR BUILDING! I am a 54-year-old woman and I had to walk up three flights of steps with my luggage. The room itself was clean. You get what you pay for. PLEASE- Pay $30 more per night and stay somewhere that is safe! Only two buttons worked on the Television remote (0n/off button and the number 3).

Room Tip: I cannot suggest any options as you have to walk down flights of stairs whether you were on the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DICF, Manager at Days Inn Council Bluffs, IA 9th Avenue, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Thank you for rating our hotel and providing your comments.We take great pride in Guest Service and Customer Satisfaction.Although it is our goals to meet the needs and expectations of each and every guest we serve, we realize that a few of our guest may not be completely vowed. Thank you, Manager Jackie Collins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Horrifying. We stayed there because it was getting late but never again. In fact we'll never stay in another Days Inn anywhere. No elevator so we had to struggle with stairs, doors that opened out as we brought a lot of stuff into the inn while the desk clerk ignored our plight and read his newspaper. Only nearby choice for food was the Hog Stop BBQ which was equally horrible. Our impression of this area is not positive and we'll not stop there again.

Room Tip: Don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DICF, Manager at Days Inn Council Bluffs, IA 9th Avenue, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for rating our hotel and providing your comments. We take great pride in Guest Service and Customer Satisfaction.Although it is our goals to meet the needs and expectations of each and every guest we serve, we realize that a few of our guests may not be completely vowed.Thank you, Manager Jackie Collins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallsville, Missouri
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My second stay in the Days Inn - Council Bluffs maintains the value I found the first time a couple of years ago. The location isn't glamorous but it is convenient to fast food dining, mass market shopping, a lake and park, and Interstates 29 and 80, and it's not too far from casinos, a movie theater, and the Union-Pacific Railroad Museum and other attractions downtown.

There is plenty of parking close to the various doors. It looks safe to me.

The 3-story facilities are adequate and clean but not luxurious. There is no elevator and access to the 3rd floor is only at the ends of the building. Temperature control in my 3rd floor room in early July was perfectly functional. Bed was clean and comfortable (I assume, since I fell asleep so fast I didn't have time to savor it). Bathroom and shower features are smallish but adequate and the washbasin and mirror are in the main room.

Wireless Internet access was reasonably speedy, reliable, and easy to connect to from Windows 8.1 and CentOS Linux but (inexplicably) not Solaris X86 (OK, I'm a computer nerd).

Free breakfast was served at and for a reasonable time, in a room with sufficient space but an inconvenient location in a corner room on the bottom level at the north end, and featured juices, milk, fruit, pastries, name-brand cereals, coffees, bagels, breads, usw. A waffle maker would have pushed it to my highest approval short of buffets with eggs and bacon and pancakes.

There appears to be an excellently equipped exercise room which I have never been able to use due to its 10 A.M. to 10 P.M. schedule.

Checkout was fast and trouble-free.

I have tried one other moderately priced chain motel in Council Bluffs and would rather stay in this one in the future.

Room Tip: I wasn't bothered by any outside noise but it would be louder on the east side I guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DICF, Manager at Days Inn Council Bluffs, IA 9th Avenue, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for your great comments. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to the Days Inn and we look forward to welcoming you back to Council Bluffs again soon. We hope you'll stay with us again and wish you a wonderful day. Thank you, Manager Jackie Collins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Council Bluffs, IA 9th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Council Bluffs, IA 9th Avenue

Address: 3619 9th Avenue, Council Bluffs, IA 51501
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Council Bluffs, IA 9th Avenue 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Council Bluffs, IA 9th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Council Bluffs, Ia 9th Avenue Hotel Council Bluffs
Council Bluffs Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Council Bluffs, IA 9th Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.