We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Council Bluffs, IA 9th Avenue

Days Inn Council Bluffs, IA 9th Avenue
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Council Bluffs, IA 9th Avenue to your Saves list
Days Inn Council Bluffs, IA 9th Avenue
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3619 9th Avenue, Council Bluffs, IA 51501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Jamestown, North Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Noisy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Unfortunately this hotel was very noisy--there was about a 1 inch gap under every door, so I'm sure that had something to do with it. People just getting up and leaving in the morning awoke us, and they weren't being overly loud, but everything just echoes in the building! We could even hear them talking outside by their car, getting into it, and starting it. The walls all seem paper thin. The breakfast certainly left something to be desired. One of the main reasons we booked this hotel is because on the website it says there are free passes to a nearby fitness center available at the front desk, but the staff knew nothing about it when we checked in. The place could use some updating, but that's not real important. The guest room had kind of a smell, but it was clean at least. The free wi-fi was slow and didn't load pages well.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DICF, Manager at Days Inn Council Bluffs, IA 9th Avenue, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
We apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to provide your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and that we will look into the problem that you have mad us aware of.Again , we apoligize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    37
    52
    22
    26
See reviews for
53
34
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central South Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011 via mobile

Have stayed here several times before because of the reasonable rates and great location just off the interstate and close to the casinos. We never had any problems before so the neighborhood seems safe as well. The rooms are nothing fancy but adequate for the price and comfortable. However this time was a big disappointment!! We sat around in the room for awhile, then went to a nearby casino. Our daughter stayed in the room because she is only 20. We came back and she had some smashed bugs on tissue, she said when she laid on the bed, she got bit on the arms and then saw a bug on the pillow, after looking further, she saw more, she assumed they were bed bugs because of her bites but wasn't sure because she hadn't seen one before so that is why she saved the smashed ones to show us. They were in fact, bed bugs, we lifted the mattress and one went running, so I caught it in a napkin and went straight to the front desk with it. The clerk put it in a ziplock bag and said she would show it to the manager in the morning but couldn't do anything right now, I said we weren't staying in that room and she said she wasn't aware of bed bugs there and really couldn't do anything, I told her she could go look in the room right now and see them but didn't want too, she then offered to give us a different room but I asked if we could inspect it first and she could do it with us, she said we couldn't go in and mess the beds up and stuff if we weren't staying because it would make more work for housekeeping, I asked are you serious, but by then my family was loaded up coming down the stairs after shaking everything out, the clerk then said she would refund the money back to the credit card. We had to pay $90 for another room at 4 am somewhere else.I just think the situation could have been handled better from the beginning but the clerk acted like she didn't really believe us but also wasn't willing to go up into the room and look herself. Unfortunate!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DICF, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Council Bluffs, IA 9th Avenue, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
We apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying and would like to also apoligize if our front desk did not handle this situation correctly. We did have our pest control company in and found no bugs and wound like to assure you that we do our best to watch for this kind of problem. Again I am very sorry for the problem you had and hope you will give us another chance. Thank You Jackie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

The review gets average instead of poor, because, really, we get what we pay for. I wanted a cheap place to stay and that's what I paid for. It was clean and the neighborhood seemed pretty safe. Also, across the parking lot is a pretty good BBQ restaurant. The front desk wasn't bustling with friendliness but I didn't find her rude at all. They also allow pets here but you're not supposed to leave the room with the pet alone. As long is your pet is well behaved alone, I don't think it's strictly enforced because we went to have dinner and things were okay. The continental breakfast gets the job done. If you need an economical, safe place to crash for the night, this is a fine choice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DICF, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Council Bluffs, IA 9th Avenue, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
The Days Hotel Management and staff want to say Thank you for your review. We appreciate all the feedback we recieve. This way we can better ourselves in great Customer Service. Thank you for staying with us. Manager Jackie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martell
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed on a friday night for an event at Harrah's Convetion Center
place is very clean and very resonable
They are pet frendly for extra charge
Chelsea at the front desk is great
One of the nicest Days Inns I have ever stayed at.
Will stay again when in area

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DICF, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Council Bluffs, IA 9th Avenue, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you have enjoyed your visit to the Days Inn Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you again. Manager Jackie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Iowa, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

my sister and i stayed there on 9/23/2011 thru 9/25/2011. When we first checked in the lady was very pleasant. But the lady working Saturday after 3pm was very rude! First i went outside because i got a phone call on my cellphone and i wasnt getting reception inside this was around 7pm and she stopped me when i got to the front desk and told me i needed to quiet down because i couldnt be talking loud in hallways (which i wasnt upset or anything so i dont think i was talking loud) then my sister is deaf and she goes to our door which we had cracked open and knocked on door and said front desk and was rude and said we had to close it and when i got woke up at 2am by some loud drunks next door no one said a word to them. i told the lady working Sunday morning when i went to check out and she said she would have manager call me about it. I never received a call. But i can tell you i visit council bluffs quite often and i will never stay at this motel again, and i have alot of deaf friends that go there because of isd. and im going to make sure they dont either.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DICF, Manager at Days Inn Council Bluffs, IA 9th Avenue, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
We are sorry that your experience at Days Inn did not meet your expectations. We make it a practice to share all our guest's comments with our staff and management team. In an effort to compensate you for your experience, we would like to provide you with $10.00 discount off your stay. Again I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit. Thank you Jackie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Our room and bathroom at this Days Inn were wonderfully clean and fresh. We had everything we needed for a comfortable, restful night. Breakfast was adequate though not excessive. The best part was the friendly interest shown by the young woman who checked us in. When we asked questions, she was especially helpful and careful to make sure that we knew where to expect detours caused by the recent floods; she even suggested alternative routes which worked perfectly. I hope her good work is noticed and rewarded.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DICF, Manager at Days Inn Council Bluffs, IA 9th Avenue, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Thank you for your compliments.Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasent and comfortable as possible.Hope to see you again and thank you again for your comments. Thank you Jackie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North, South Carolina
Top Contributor
459 reviews 459 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Unfortunately, this location is just bad and needs a makeover. After preparing to settle in for the night , we found blood on one bedpillow- reason enogh to never return. What kind of housekeeping allows this to happen?. Also the ironing board was broken and the place just looked tired. The continental breakfast was hardly enough to qualify as such.
We won't be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DICF, Manager at Days Inn Council Bluffs, IA 9th Avenue, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
We are sorry that your experience at the Days Inn Hotel did not meet your expectations. We make it a practice to share all our guest's comments with our staff and management team. It is through comments such as yours that we work to help improve guests' experiences.Thank you manager Jackie Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Council Bluffs, IA 9th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Council Bluffs, IA 9th Avenue

Address: 3619 9th Avenue, Council Bluffs, IA 51501
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Council Bluffs, IA 9th Avenue 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Council Bluffs, IA 9th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Council Bluffs, Ia 9th Avenue Hotel Council Bluffs
Council Bluffs Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Council Bluffs, IA 9th Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.