We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly remodeled” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Council Bluffs

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Council Bluffs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Council Bluffs
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3032 S. Expressway, Council Bluffs, IA 51501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 25 hotels in Council Bluffs
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Newly remodeled”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was the best deal in the area and was great for passing through. It was clean and newly remodeled and the beds were comfortable and attached to the frame (unlike others that had been remodled in a similar fashion. The sink is serperate from the toilet, which is nice when you're traveling with others. My criteria are cheap, clean and comfortable and it met all of those.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    11
    5
    7
See reviews for
5
7
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrensburg, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

First there is no lobby, but two people with animals in the check in area watching baseball game with the dogs on leashes I had to walk around. Only room left was double smoking on 3 floor. Room is basic no amenities including no wifi. Can purchase it separately for each device for 2.99 Our toilet and one next door to us sound like they will flush everyone way as loud as they are. I know it is basic hotel, but this is closer to camping with electricity than a hotel.

Room Tip: Best tip I can leave...don't waste your money to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfane, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is my 4th year staying at this Motel 6 for the annual Warren Buffett Berkshire Hathaway shareholder's meeting. The GM, Scott A. , had been great about getting back to me with a specific room request. To get in line for the shareholder's meeting by 2 am., I have to get up at 1 a.m. after just a few hours sleep and have found room #303 to be exceptionally quiet and comfortable. While there are not a whole lots of fancy amenities, it has everything I need. Great daily housekeeping service and clean all the way around. A great bargain for the price and the front desk staff is awesome, efficient and friendly.
It is very conveniently located to get around the Omaha metro areas very easily.
I highly recommend this facility for folks looking for a great place to stay in the Council Bluffs/Omaha area.
Billy G.

Room Tip: Room #303 if you want great quiet.... one Queen sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This was a very basic room even for the price we paid. The location is pretty noisy because it's close to an interstate. There was no coffee pot or hair dryer in the room which was very small. There is an extra charge for Internet service which is charged per device- if two devices are used they will charge twice the fee if both are used at the same time. We have stayed at other Motel 6s in the past and felt that the rooms in the other locations were much better than those in Council Bluffs.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sainte Genevieve
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

we were exhausted when we drove into this hotel, it looked so inviting. the hotel is very clean, and has a great appearance. however, the beds were very hard and the internet was slow and costs $3 per computer per day. we do online business, so we have to have internet access, so we paid for more than what we got. years ago, when i had dialup service, i had to wait for pages to open. well, the same thing occurred here. this is not a hotel we would recommend, nor stay at again.

Room Tip: for a good room, go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Spent one night here on a trip to Denver, it wasn't the greatest hotel, but for $58 it was well worth the money and we got a very good night sleep. I would not have picked this hotel if I was going to be in the room for more than 12 hours, but for the 9 hours we were there it was well worth the money. The staff was very friendly, we checked in after midnight and the gal working the front desk was very cheerful.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for, if you want a cheap night's sleep pick this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

On my annual road trip west, I occasionally stay with Motel 6 - good value for the price. This property was upgraded by the then owners, Accor Hotels, and is in keeping with their properties - Mercure, Ibis, etc. - in Europe and elsewhere. Tastefully decorated, excellent bed, great shower. I hope that the new owners on Motel 6 will replicate this model in the rest of their motels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Council Bluffs

Address: 3032 S. Expressway, Council Bluffs, IA 51501
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 hotels in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Council Bluffs 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Council Bluffs is conveniently located to Omaha botanical gardens, Omaha zoo, Omaha convention center, plus several casinos, dining & shopping. Amenities include indoor heated pool, coin laundry, and Wi-Fi in all rooms for $2.99 Per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Council Bluffs Motel Six
Council Bluffs Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Council Bluffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.