We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but moldy bathroom” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn & Suites Council Bluffs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn & Suites Council Bluffs to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn & Suites Council Bluffs
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 30th Avenue, I- 80 at Exit 3 Council Bluffs, Council Bluffs, IA 51501 (Formerly Council Bluffs Settle Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice but moldy bathroom”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We are just driving through so we didn't get to enjoy the whole hotel. I know it has a pool and it was pretty hopping at 10pm. There's a breakfast which we didn't make it to. The room was surprisingly nice- hardwood floors, nice accents, AC worked good, no smell!, bed was comfy enough, but the bathroom walls are covered in mold- and I washed it to make sure it came off and it did so it's not stained they just are not cleaning...it was gross. But other than that it was a good hotel. Also the maids were making tons of noise all morning around 730-845.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    26
    22
    15
    10
See reviews for
26
17
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Killeen, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

A very nice and CLEAN hotel and they take dogs. If I had a complaint pillows a little hard and only one garbage can in the room But a very nice and clean place to stay with your family 2 and 4 legged Tons of places to eat and shop around this place too would stay again

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I was looking for something different to do for Valentine's Day a couple years ago and found out that the Settle Inn has several theme rooms. They were kind of expensive so I called to ask if I could look at a room before I booked it. They told me that I could stop by anytime to take a look. They gave me keys to several different theme rooms and let me go look at them on my own. I booked the mountain lodge room. All of the themed rooms are jacuzzi suites. My girlfriend and I had a nice romantic time at this hotel. This past Valentine's Day we stayed in the western themed room. The mountain lodge room is the best in my opinion, but they have several nice options. We did check out the pool area the last time we were there and had it to ourselves, which was nice.

The hallways smell like smoke and could use some remodeling and I have not stayed in a regular room, but I have had 2 very good experiences with the themed rooms. Staff was very nice and accommodating. It is also in a good location right off of I-80 and close to many good restaurants. My favorites are Pepper Jax and Pizza Ranch.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beulah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We paid a good price and after one night the toilet keeps running and the sink is plugged so we can't use it. We called for help tonight and the front desk said they can't do anything about it. We won't come back......

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Room was clean and comfy, but the ac unit emitted an odd, musty smell when it was on. Pool/Spa area is cleaner than most. The internet is pretty slow, but useable. I didn't have much to do with the staff, but my husband said they were very friendly. We've stayed in several hotels in this area recently, and this is definitely the best one!

Room Tip: If you're a nonsmoker, definitely make sure they give you a nonsmoking room. We stayed in a smok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The staff was very helpful and friendly!! We called at 9:00pm to stay that night. They turned the AC on for us so the room was nice and cool when we arrived. The rooms were clean and comfy. They also had a handicap lift for the pool. They let us park our motorcycles by the entrance as well as special parking just feet from the entrance they reserve for bikes. They had the best rate!! Believe me I called several places and none were as accommodating as the Settle Inn in Council Bluffs!!.

Room Tip: Our friends stayed on the upper level it had wood floors. She felt this made it feel cleaner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The room seemed to be clean at first. Then we found mold in the bathroom and were up at night itching and feeling thing jump on us.. Yuk!! Keys didn't work, had to keep getting them reprogramed. Front desk gave out keys to anyone who asked to get into anothers room. I didn't want anyone in my room without my permission. Staff was polite, but really didn't care! Security door key just didn't work at all. Had to put a piece of wood to block it open.

Room Tip: I believe there was not a good room to be had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Council Bluffs

Address: 500 30th Avenue, I- 80 at Exit 3 Council Bluffs, Council Bluffs, IA 51501 (Formerly Council Bluffs Settle Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Council Bluffs 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn & Suites Council Bluffs is conveniently located from downtown Omaha and downtown Council Bluffs. This hotel is just minutes from Ameritrade Park, Ameristar & Harrah's Casino, Bluffs Run Casino & Dog Track and the Mid-America Center. Guests can enjoy shopping and restaurants at the Mall of the Bluffs and Old Market Omaha. Other nearby attractions include Henry Doorly Zoo and IMAX Theatre. Newly renovated, the Red Roof Inn & Suites Council Bluffs offers both comfort & convenience at a great price. This pet-friendly, family-friendly hotel offers an indoor pool & hot tub, coin laundry, fitness room, business center, weekly rates and free breakfast (from 6am - 10am), coffee & tea in the lobby. All guest rooms include free WiFi, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, in-room coffee and a 37" flat-screen TV. One well behaved family pet is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Council Bluffs Settle Hotel Council Bluffs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn & Suites Council Bluffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.