We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potential if.......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Council Bluffs Settle Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Council Bluffs Settle Inn to your Saves list
Council Bluffs Settle Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 30th Avenue, Council Bluffs, IA 51501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Potential if.......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This hotel could have potential if they would modernize the rooms. The carpets were sticky, and stained. The bed was comfortable but they sit up so high that its hard to see the old tube TV. The toilet needs a gallon of bleach to get rid of the stains. The water in the toilet looks kind of yellowish/orange because of the stain.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    20
    21
    15
    8
See reviews for
22
15
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thief River Falls, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My friend and I were traveling and decided to stop for the night at the Settle Inn. We walked into our room and discovered it was perfect! A queen bed on one side of the room, in the middle of the room was the bathroom and a small kitchenette with a mini fridge and microwave and on the other side of the room was another queen bed. It was like a 2 bedroom hotel room! It was perfect for us! More hotels need to use this layout! The room was a bit dirty...there was some garbage and a washcloth behind the night stand. One other thing I'd like to note...we were in a non-smoking room, but when we walked in, there was a smell of smoke. The front desk assured us that it had never been a smoking room, but that someone must have previously smoked in there? Other than that, I would highly reccomend the Settle Inn. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast looked fantastic!

Room Tip: We were in room 407 and it was the best layout I've seen in a basic hotel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

$95.15 was a little more than I wanted to pay for a hotel by myself, but the other options in the area were even higher, so all in all not bad. The staff at this hotel was very friendly and helpful. I had a decent night sleep and the room looked dark and old, but clean. LOVED the location!!! Almost every one of my favorite stores and restaurants could be found within a mile of this hotel, and the free breakfast that came with the room was the largest selection I have ever scene at a hotel. The had cold cereal, eggs, sausage (that actually tasted good), waffles, toast, french toast, pastries, multiple juice options, and more. I was impressed and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This 'Settle Inn" is a basic hotel with moderately comfortable beds that was moderately quiet. Pillows were of the puffy foam sort (not the most comfortable. TV was small (not digital quality). However, the stay here is a bit cheaper than some of the surrounding hotels. Decor is dated. If you just need a quick night's sleep just off I-80; you will find this hotel adequate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Hotel looked much better from the outside. Staff is friendly and helpful.
The room I had was a suite with queen bed and sitting area wit refrigerator and microwave.

This room has 20-30 year old furniture. My bed was sunken in the middle and bed linens were old. Furniture was dusty between cushions.

A/C worked well.

Breakfast was poor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night. Loved that our two queen bed room had our beds in separate rooms. Room was clean and check in was easy. We didn't use the pool or eat breakfast here so I can not comment on these things but I was happy with what use we had of this property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

As an extensive traveler, I stay in a variety of accomodations all over the world. This hotel is my 3rd worst location I have ever stayed in. I am not picky - all I ask is for a room to be clean and have a bed I can sleep in. The room was filthy, dust around all corners of the walls, sink, bathroom, etc. The smoky smell kept me awake all night. I understand that the smell lingers after something used to be smoking, but this smelled like people were currently chain-smoking in every room. The price and location are good, but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Council Bluffs Settle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Council Bluffs Settle Inn

Address: 500 30th Avenue, Council Bluffs, IA 51501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Council Bluffs Settle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Council Bluffs Settle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Council Bluffs Settle Hotel Council Bluffs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Council Bluffs Settle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.