We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Council Bluffs Settle Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Council Bluffs Settle Inn to your Saves list
Council Bluffs Settle Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 30th Avenue, Council Bluffs, IA 51501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Basic hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This 'Settle Inn" is a basic hotel with moderately comfortable beds that was moderately quiet. Pillows were of the puffy foam sort (not the most comfortable. TV was small (not digital quality). However, the stay here is a bit cheaper than some of the surrounding hotels. Decor is dated. If you just need a quick night's sleep just off I-80; you will find this hotel adequate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    20
    21
    15
    8
See reviews for
22
15
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Hotel looked much better from the outside. Staff is friendly and helpful.
The room I had was a suite with queen bed and sitting area wit refrigerator and microwave.

This room has 20-30 year old furniture. My bed was sunken in the middle and bed linens were old. Furniture was dusty between cushions.

A/C worked well.

Breakfast was poor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night. Loved that our two queen bed room had our beds in separate rooms. Room was clean and check in was easy. We didn't use the pool or eat breakfast here so I can not comment on these things but I was happy with what use we had of this property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

As an extensive traveler, I stay in a variety of accomodations all over the world. This hotel is my 3rd worst location I have ever stayed in. I am not picky - all I ask is for a room to be clean and have a bed I can sleep in. The room was filthy, dust around all corners of the walls, sink, bathroom, etc. The smoky smell kept me awake all night. I understand that the smell lingers after something used to be smoking, but this smelled like people were currently chain-smoking in every room. The price and location are good, but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Top Contributor
802 reviews 802 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 301 cities Reviews in 301 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed at the Council Bluff Settle Inn in August 2012 on my way to Sioux Falls, SD. The motel is close to I-80. Had picked-up a discount motel book so the price for the room was very good. There were resteraunts near by. The rooms were clean and the staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

My husband 3 children and I stayed at the settle inn last nite. Check in went well staff was friendly. However our room was located by door 3, At the far end of the building. The room was outdated, smelled of smoke, carpets were filthy and smelled horrible, very dusty, there was no thermostat in the room had to contact front desk to have the temp changed. A lot of noise from the highway and neighboring rooms. Sheets and bed actually smelled ok and laundered. The worst part for us was when we woke in the morning and had a window smashed out of our truck and some items stolen!!! We talked to the front desk about what had happened. They told us they only have Video coverage in their front parking lot. Sorry about our luck and suggested we park our vehicle up front. ( a little late for that I would think). Her behavior showed no surprise that this happened. We would never stay in this hotel again, we would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My Son and I stayed at your Hotel for 4 nights two weeks ago, I have to say that this is one of the best Hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff was great, the room was clean and I love the seperation between the beds, the location was great. The continental breakfast was average(but I do not stay anywhere based on that). The only problem I had was getting inside the back doors, due to the card readers not working properly. Overall, I had an excellant stay, and when I go back to Council Bluffs next year this is where I will stay.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with mocrowave and fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Council Bluffs Settle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Council Bluffs Settle Inn

Address: 500 30th Avenue, Council Bluffs, IA 51501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Council Bluffs Settle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Council Bluffs Settle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Council Bluffs Settle Hotel Council Bluffs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Council Bluffs Settle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.