We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The smokiest of non-smoking!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn & Suites Council Bluffs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn & Suites Council Bluffs to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn & Suites Council Bluffs
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 30th Avenue, I- 80 at Exit 3 Council Bluffs, Council Bluffs, IA 51501 (Formerly Council Bluffs Settle Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“The smokiest of non-smoking!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

As an extensive traveler, I stay in a variety of accomodations all over the world. This hotel is my 3rd worst location I have ever stayed in. I am not picky - all I ask is for a room to be clean and have a bed I can sleep in. The room was filthy, dust around all corners of the walls, sink, bathroom, etc. The smoky smell kept me awake all night. I understand that the smell lingers after something used to be smoking, but this smelled like people were currently chain-smoking in every room. The price and location are good, but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    23
    22
    15
    10
See reviews for
25
15
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Okemos, Michigan
Top Contributor
982 reviews 982 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 339 cities Reviews in 339 cities
299 helpful votes 299 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed at the Council Bluff Settle Inn in August 2012 on my way to Sioux Falls, SD. The motel is close to I-80. Had picked-up a discount motel book so the price for the room was very good. There were resteraunts near by. The rooms were clean and the staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

My husband 3 children and I stayed at the settle inn last nite. Check in went well staff was friendly. However our room was located by door 3, At the far end of the building. The room was outdated, smelled of smoke, carpets were filthy and smelled horrible, very dusty, there was no thermostat in the room had to contact front desk to have the temp changed. A lot of noise from the highway and neighboring rooms. Sheets and bed actually smelled ok and laundered. The worst part for us was when we woke in the morning and had a window smashed out of our truck and some items stolen!!! We talked to the front desk about what had happened. They told us they only have Video coverage in their front parking lot. Sorry about our luck and suggested we park our vehicle up front. ( a little late for that I would think). Her behavior showed no surprise that this happened. We would never stay in this hotel again, we would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My Son and I stayed at your Hotel for 4 nights two weeks ago, I have to say that this is one of the best Hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff was great, the room was clean and I love the seperation between the beds, the location was great. The continental breakfast was average(but I do not stay anywhere based on that). The only problem I had was getting inside the back doors, due to the card readers not working properly. Overall, I had an excellant stay, and when I go back to Council Bluffs next year this is where I will stay.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with mocrowave and fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEMIDJI
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Was checked in by a super friendly gal. Room was nice super comfortable bed. Room was clean. Bathroom was small though Not somewhere I hang out for long periods of time haha. The wall was too close to the toilet and the tp was located so it was less comfortable. Not sure if all rooms are like that but mine was. Wifi was good and they offer upgraded wifi for a fee. Standard worked fine for me so I didn't look into using the upgraded one at all. Pool was small but clean was on the weekend so a lot of kids there as ro be expected. Breakfast was basic cereal, waffles etc. Nice tv in my room. Had a lot of restaurants in the area close to home depot, menards, Walmart, best buy and for those with kids there was a Toys R Us there as well.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Easy to find! As nice inside as outside! The suite themed rooms are AWESOME and you relax like never before! Will DEFINITELY stay here again!! I recommend this hotel to everyone! Being off I80 we NEVER heard the traffic or train, nothing!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, IA
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

As a 26 year road warrior, I have found many ways to shave some costs. The Settle Inn is in my travel coupon book. The hotel is located by a variety of restaurants and attractions. The Bass Pro shop is near. Movie theatre and light shopping. The hotel staff is ho hum. They check you inn and are courteous,,but quiet. The rooms are clean. The breakfast needs attention. A frozen omlet and precooked bacon to zap in the microwave. A waffle iron is nice.
The price brings me back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Council Bluffs

Address: 500 30th Avenue, I- 80 at Exit 3 Council Bluffs, Council Bluffs, IA 51501 (Formerly Council Bluffs Settle Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Council Bluffs 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn & Suites Council Bluffs is conveniently located from downtown Omaha and downtown Council Bluffs. This hotel is just minutes from Ameritrade Park, Ameristar & Harrah's Casino, Bluffs Run Casino & Dog Track and the Mid-America Center. Guests can enjoy shopping and restaurants at the Mall of the Bluffs and Old Market Omaha. Other nearby attractions include Henry Doorly Zoo and IMAX Theatre. Newly renovated, the Red Roof Inn & Suites Council Bluffs offers both comfort & convenience at a great price. This pet-friendly, family-friendly hotel offers an indoor pool & hot tub, coin laundry, fitness room, business center, weekly rates and free breakfast (from 6am - 10am), coffee & tea in the lobby. All guest rooms include free WiFi, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, in-room coffee and a 37" flat-screen TV. One well behaved family pet is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Council Bluffs Settle Hotel Council Bluffs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn & Suites Council Bluffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.