We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Good - Some Bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Council Bluffs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added AmericInn Council Bluffs to your Saves list
AmericInn Council Bluffs
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Woodbury Ave, Council Bluffs, IA 51503   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Colorado
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Some Good - Some Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here before and were happy with it so returned again on this years vacation.
I booked online and was very specific that we want an upstairs room. When we got there , the gal tried to put us downstairs and seemed a little peeved that we wanted upstairs plus my hubby asked for a room with a view of the parking lot. So he could try out the new binoculars he bought at Cabelas. The other rooms have a view of a rock wall ....So she gives us a room with a lovely view of the canopy over the front entrance...boy my hubby was pi**ed off...the computer desk chair was broken and sank way down so there was nowhere to sit but on the bed with my computer which was very uncomfortable.But on the plus side they did give us a nice government discount and the room was comfy and clean tho a bit small. There is a mall nearby and places to eat. Breakfast was A+ + +...

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    10
    6
    15
See reviews for
23
8
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jasper Indiana
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Other reviews of this hotel were positive, so I didn't expect any problems. Our room was very damp and humid. When I complainted to the desk, the answer was that it was very humid outside. I think the air conditioner was defective. My daughter was working on homework and her papers actually felt wet. Also, the housekeeping staff seemed inadequate. Rooms still being cleaned when we returned to hotel between 4 & 5 pm. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very reasonably priced for what we got; 2 queen beds, a large TV, indoor pool, and a large breakfast. The breakfast includes waffles, sausage, eggs, and the usual carbohydrates all hotels with breakfasts offer.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, IA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This AmericInn was clean, bed was comfortable, breakfast was good and staff was friendly and helpful, giving information regarding the local area. We usually stay with family when in the area but would use this hotel again if we need to.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Wasn't planning to stay this far west, but glad hotel was available. The clerk honored coupon rate for room--very happy with rate. Beds were fine. Swimming pool was fine. Breakfast was good- plenty of variety including hot--biscuits, gravy, eggs, waffles. And cold-- cereal, milk, juice, rolls, bagels.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I've never stayed at AmericInn being from the Northeast, and I was very surprised with this hotel. I checked in around 2, the night auditor Bud was great, and the room was extremely comfortable. Everything was updated and clean. My only complaint is that one of the free omelets was a bit cold for some reason but I still ate it and was happy.

Keeping doing what you do!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed at this motel when we ran Marathon in Omaha . This Motel is just 5 mile from start line of Omaha Marathon. It is located at very nice location close to shopping area , restaurants and casinos. The day before the marathon we were able go for short run around the motel.It has beautiful neighborhood. Motel is newly renovated. Great clean rooms. They give hot breakfast in the morning and hotdogs in the evening. We relaxed at casino in the evening after running the marathon. Motel has three Casino within 5 miles. Nice hotel with swimming poll and Sauna, great service.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to AmericInn Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Council Bluffs

Address: 1000 Woodbury Ave, Council Bluffs, IA 51503
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Council Bluffs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently upgraded rooms at the AmericInn Council Bluffs include updated furnishings, room décor, flat screen TV’s and cozy Serta® Perfect Sleeper beds. The AmericInn Council Bluffs hotel is located off I-80, just across the river from Omaha, Nebraska. We are conveniently located near Epply Airfield, downtown Omaha, Harrah’s & Ameristar casinos, Mid-American Center, the Old Market District and the Henry Doorly Zoo. Whether you’re going on a family vacation, romantic getaway, business trip or traveling with a group, AmericInn of Council Bluffs offers great comfort and an even greater value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, AmericInn Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your AmericInn Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Council Bluffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.