We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zoo and Gardens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs to your Saves list
Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 River Road, Council Bluffs, IA 51501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Zoo and Gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed 2 nights at the Ameristar to go to the zoo and the Lauritzen Gardens. Our room was clean and beds weren't to uncomfortable for our bad backs. Liked that the potty was separate from sink area. We got a better price on our room reserving online than calling hotel directly which isn't usually the norm for us. Housekeeping friendly and helpful when I needed more decaf coffee. We enjoyed the view of the river from our room and the river walk behind the hotel. Enjoyed the casino both nights but would have had a better time if the machines weren't so tight.The distance from parking garage to elevator to our room was quite a walk for us. Ate supper at the buffet in the hotel both nights and had plenty of choices and food was decent. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    40
    16
    10
    9
See reviews for
28
78
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oketo, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Charming but could have been a little cleaner. Smoke filled casino and elevator wreaked. There were no specials for couples, anniversaries, birthdays, etc. or massages available with specialty wine or other drink discounts for those couples celebrating. WE did enjoy the restaurants and sports bar and pool.

Room Tip: Bring your own bottle. ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onawa, Ia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Nice Large rooms which are very clean. Front desk help are very friendly and helpful. We had lots of fun at the Casino and will definitely stay there again. They have free Wyfi which the Harrah's Hotels do not offer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review, Marge22. I'm so happy to hear you your received friendly service from the front desk and enjoyed the casino and spacious rooms. Thank you for being our guest. We hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed here on our way back home from Colorado. Hotel rate was very cheap (as the case for most casino hotels). We ate at one of the restaurants inside the casino and the food was excellent though pretty pricey. The room had a comfortable lounger chair, king size bed was extremely comfortable. Shower needed some help as even though the drain in the tub was open all the way, the tub still filled up with water, so you were in standing water taking your shower. The sink area was separate from the shower and toilet area but had no door. So when you are the first person to wake up to get dressed, plan on waking everyone else up in the room due to noise getting dressed and the lights coming on. I prefer the sink area enclosed with the shower and toilet. The drains in the sink and shower area made a glug, glug, glug noise like they were clogged but the sink wasn't. Besides that, the ambiance of the hotel and casino was just outstanding. I would highly recommend this place. It is possible that our room may have had the problem with the shower and the glug sound from the sink. I would recommend this hotel. I gave it an excellent rating even though there were the above issues in the bathroom area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, tn
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Location has a great personality: on the river, skylight atrium, attractive restaurants and a sports bar with good food. Casino is three floors located on a riverboat theme. Rooms pleasant and well appointed. Huge change from the Harrah's down the road. Slots a little tight but the beer is cold. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West des moines
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We spent over 300 for one night at the hotel. Cable didn't work, no coffee maker, poor water pressure, customer service levels were low. Overall bad experience. Which is to bad because our time at the casino was great, we won't be returning and will be telling everyone we know about the experience.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am so sorry for this experience. We strive to provide unmatched service and comfortable rooms with convenient amenities. What you describe certainly does not meet our standard. We would like to extend a personal apology. Please feel free to write us at Guest.Services@PNKmail.com. Thank you for being our guest and we do hope you reconsider stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, KS
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We've previously stayed at the Ameristar Casino Hotels in Kansas City and Black Hawk and were not disappointed with our whirlpool king room. We had a problem with TV reception the first night and with a lamp not working another day. Both were fixed after letting the front desk know. We also would have liked a better view of the Missouri River, but were told there wasn't another room available.

Staff was always professional, but not overly friendly. After five days in the Omaha/Council Bluffs area, we found the people in general weren't overly friendly, surprising in the Midwest. There were a few exceptions, but most people seemed to go out of their way not to make eye contact or acknowledge your presence.

The location was exceptionally convenient to everything we planned on seeing. The two other area casinos (Harrah's and Horseshoee), the Doorly Zoo, Joslyn Museum and Old Market area were all within a two-mile radius of our hotel.

There is a nice saltwater pool with a great view of the river. This is shared with the adjoining Holiday Inn Express, but it never seemed too busy during our stay. Had breakfast once at Bella's, but received poor service and didn't give it another chance. Ate three times at the Amerisports Bar and Grill, probably the best bet for dining at the hotel. Did not try the buffet or steakhouse. Valet parking is available, but we used the covered garage after the first night. This was very nice since a severe thunderstorm with hail came through during our stay.

Overall, we had a nice vacation. Found Harrah's and the Horseshoe's casino floors more comfortable than the Ameristar, which is a three-level riverboat. Would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to sharing this detailed review, James. I am pleased to hear you had a nice vacation conveniently located near other stops on your list and enjoyed dining at Amerisports. I apologize for the flaws in the room. We appreciate you bringing these things our attention and allowing us the opportunity to rectify them.

We work hard to provide welcoming assistance and I am sorry if our service overall and at Bella's was not welcoming. We will aim to improve in any way possible and this surely is our priority.

Thank you for being our guest. We look forward to welcoming you back and impressing you with all that we may offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Council Bluffs
0.6 mi away
Harrah's Council Bluffs
Harrah's Council Bluffs
#5 of 25 in Council Bluffs
4.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
Hampton Inn Council Bluffs
#7 of 25 in Council Bluffs
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs-I-29
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Council Bluffs
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Omaha East/Council Bluffs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs

Address: 2200 River Road, Council Bluffs, IA 51501
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs features 160 luxurious rooms that are tastefully decorated, many of which include panoramic views of the Missouri River. Ameristar Council Bluffs is proud to boast the largest riverboat casino in Iowa. This casino in Council Bluffs is 38,500-square-feet includes a selection of popular slot and table games. Ameristar Casino Hotel in Council Bluffs includes four dining options, a supervised kids activity center, video game arcade and an indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.