We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great hotel and casino” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs to your Saves list
Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 River Road, Council Bluffs, IA 51501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amherst, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What a great hotel and casino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed here on our way back home from Colorado. Hotel rate was very cheap (as the case for most casino hotels). We ate at one of the restaurants inside the casino and the food was excellent though pretty pricey. The room had a comfortable lounger chair, king size bed was extremely comfortable. Shower needed some help as even though the drain in the tub was open all the way, the tub still filled up with water, so you were in standing water taking your shower. The sink area was separate from the shower and toilet area but had no door. So when you are the first person to wake up to get dressed, plan on waking everyone else up in the room due to noise getting dressed and the lights coming on. I prefer the sink area enclosed with the shower and toilet. The drains in the sink and shower area made a glug, glug, glug noise like they were clogged but the sink wasn't. Besides that, the ambiance of the hotel and casino was just outstanding. I would highly recommend this place. It is possible that our room may have had the problem with the shower and the glug sound from the sink. I would recommend this hotel. I gave it an excellent rating even though there were the above issues in the bathroom area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    35
    10
    9
    6
See reviews for
20
68
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, tn
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Location has a great personality: on the river, skylight atrium, attractive restaurants and a sports bar with good food. Casino is three floors located on a riverboat theme. Rooms pleasant and well appointed. Huge change from the Harrah's down the road. Slots a little tight but the beer is cold. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West des moines
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We spent over 300 for one night at the hotel. Cable didn't work, no coffee maker, poor water pressure, customer service levels were low. Overall bad experience. Which is to bad because our time at the casino was great, we won't be returning and will be telling everyone we know about the experience.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am so sorry for this experience. We strive to provide unmatched service and comfortable rooms with convenient amenities. What you describe certainly does not meet our standard. We would like to extend a personal apology. Please feel free to write us at Guest.Services@PNKmail.com. Thank you for being our guest and we do hope you reconsider stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, KS
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We've previously stayed at the Ameristar Casino Hotels in Kansas City and Black Hawk and were not disappointed with our whirlpool king room. We had a problem with TV reception the first night and with a lamp not working another day. Both were fixed after letting the front desk know. We also would have liked a better view of the Missouri River, but were told there wasn't another room available.

Staff was always professional, but not overly friendly. After five days in the Omaha/Council Bluffs area, we found the people in general weren't overly friendly, surprising in the Midwest. There were a few exceptions, but most people seemed to go out of their way not to make eye contact or acknowledge your presence.

The location was exceptionally convenient to everything we planned on seeing. The two other area casinos (Harrah's and Horseshoee), the Doorly Zoo, Joslyn Museum and Old Market area were all within a two-mile radius of our hotel.

There is a nice saltwater pool with a great view of the river. This is shared with the adjoining Holiday Inn Express, but it never seemed too busy during our stay. Had breakfast once at Bella's, but received poor service and didn't give it another chance. Ate three times at the Amerisports Bar and Grill, probably the best bet for dining at the hotel. Did not try the buffet or steakhouse. Valet parking is available, but we used the covered garage after the first night. This was very nice since a severe thunderstorm with hail came through during our stay.

Overall, we had a nice vacation. Found Harrah's and the Horseshoe's casino floors more comfortable than the Ameristar, which is a three-level riverboat. Would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to sharing this detailed review, James. I am pleased to hear you had a nice vacation conveniently located near other stops on your list and enjoyed dining at Amerisports. I apologize for the flaws in the room. We appreciate you bringing these things our attention and allowing us the opportunity to rectify them.

We work hard to provide welcoming assistance and I am sorry if our service overall and at Bella's was not welcoming. We will aim to improve in any way possible and this surely is our priority.

Thank you for being our guest. We look forward to welcoming you back and impressing you with all that we may offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stopped here on our way across the country. It is located right off I80 & directly across the river from Omaha with lovely views off the City from our room. Very nice,clean room. Lovely lobby with gift shop & 3 resteraunts.
We really liked the Casino. Loaded with the types of penny machines we prefer.
Fun visit!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Carol, I am so happy to see you enjoyed your room and the river view, Carol. It certainly sounds like you had the gaming experience we strive to provide. Thank you for this wonderful review and for being our guest. We hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We have been enjoying Ameristar Council Bluffs for over three years and always noticed how friendly the staff treated us, well that was until we checked in this time for a five day visit. You would think the Front Desk staff would we warm, friendly & inviting. The older women at the desk was so unplesant we check out after the first night and moved over to the Holiday Inn! It was tough enough getting around with crutches without being met right off by an unfriendly employee. Now with that said you couldn't meet a nicer casino employee named Lita who runs the hot dog stand in the casino. Lita is a perfect example of a warm and friendly person without asking offered to carry my beverage & food to my table. Other employees also assisted me while moving around the casino on crutches. The Ameristar is the most expensive hotel in that area, so you would think you would receive better service.... I hope management addresses the desk situation & rewards Lita!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Ron, thank you for sharing your feedback. We strive to make our guests' visits welcoming and pleasantly memorable. The front desk experience you describe certainly does not meet our standards. I sent this review to our hotel management team. Additionally, I let our food and beverage team know about the outstanding service you received from Lita. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to improve and for being our guest. We do hope you give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marengo, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs IA. Great rooms. Great room service and LOTS of play on slots in their casino.
Excellent restaurants. Nice sports bar. Everything you need in one spot. I Gamble over 9 states. I have done them all.
Ameristar is fun! And that's what it's about right! I would stay here, not bothering with Harrah's or Horseshoe, this is all you need.

Room Tip: rooms facing the River are best. some on the other side are above the kitchen and you can smell the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs

Address: 2200 River Road, Council Bluffs, IA 51501
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs features 160 luxurious rooms that are tastefully decorated, many of which include panoramic views of the Missouri River. Ameristar Council Bluffs is proud to boast the largest riverboat casino in Iowa. This casino in Council Bluffs is 38,500-square-feet includes a selection of popular slot and table games. Ameristar Casino Hotel in Council Bluffs includes four dining options, a supervised kids activity center, video game arcade and an indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotwire, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.