We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive it what we got” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs

Save Saved
You added Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 River Road, Council Bluffs, IA 51501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
West des moines
1 review
“Too expensive it what we got”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We spent over 300 for one night at the hotel. Cable didn't work, no coffee maker, poor water pressure, customer service levels were low. Overall bad experience. Which is to bad because our time at the casino was great, we won't be returning and will be telling everyone we know about the experience.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am so sorry for this experience. We strive to provide unmatched service and comfortable rooms with convenient amenities. What you describe certainly does not meet our standard. We would like to extend a personal apology. Please feel free to write us at Guest.Services@PNKmail.com. Thank you for being our guest and we do hope you reconsider stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    30
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
16
62
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hutchinson, KS
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We've previously stayed at the Ameristar Casino Hotels in Kansas City and Black Hawk and were not disappointed with our whirlpool king room. We had a problem with TV reception the first night and with a lamp not working another day. Both were fixed after letting the front desk know. We also would have liked a better view of the Missouri River, but were told there wasn't another room available.

Staff was always professional, but not overly friendly. After five days in the Omaha/Council Bluffs area, we found the people in general weren't overly friendly, surprising in the Midwest. There were a few exceptions, but most people seemed to go out of their way not to make eye contact or acknowledge your presence.

The location was exceptionally convenient to everything we planned on seeing. The two other area casinos (Harrah's and Horseshoee), the Doorly Zoo, Joslyn Museum and Old Market area were all within a two-mile radius of our hotel.

There is a nice saltwater pool with a great view of the river. This is shared with the adjoining Holiday Inn Express, but it never seemed too busy during our stay. Had breakfast once at Bella's, but received poor service and didn't give it another chance. Ate three times at the Amerisports Bar and Grill, probably the best bet for dining at the hotel. Did not try the buffet or steakhouse. Valet parking is available, but we used the covered garage after the first night. This was very nice since a severe thunderstorm with hail came through during our stay.

Overall, we had a nice vacation. Found Harrah's and the Horseshoe's casino floors more comfortable than the Ameristar, which is a three-level riverboat. Would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to sharing this detailed review, James. I am pleased to hear you had a nice vacation conveniently located near other stops on your list and enjoyed dining at Amerisports. I apologize for the flaws in the room. We appreciate you bringing these things our attention and allowing us the opportunity to rectify them.

We work hard to provide welcoming assistance and I am sorry if our service overall and at Bella's was not welcoming. We will aim to improve in any way possible and this surely is our priority.

Thank you for being our guest. We look forward to welcoming you back and impressing you with all that we may offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stopped here on our way across the country. It is located right off I80 & directly across the river from Omaha with lovely views off the City from our room. Very nice,clean room. Lovely lobby with gift shop & 3 resteraunts.
We really liked the Casino. Loaded with the types of penny machines we prefer.
Fun visit!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Carol, I am so happy to see you enjoyed your room and the river view, Carol. It certainly sounds like you had the gaming experience we strive to provide. Thank you for this wonderful review and for being our guest. We hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We have been enjoying Ameristar Council Bluffs for over three years and always noticed how friendly the staff treated us, well that was until we checked in this time for a five day visit. You would think the Front Desk staff would we warm, friendly & inviting. The older women at the desk was so unplesant we check out after the first night and moved over to the Holiday Inn! It was tough enough getting around with crutches without being met right off by an unfriendly employee. Now with that said you couldn't meet a nicer casino employee named Lita who runs the hot dog stand in the casino. Lita is a perfect example of a warm and friendly person without asking offered to carry my beverage & food to my table. Other employees also assisted me while moving around the casino on crutches. The Ameristar is the most expensive hotel in that area, so you would think you would receive better service.... I hope management addresses the desk situation & rewards Lita!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Ron, thank you for sharing your feedback. We strive to make our guests' visits welcoming and pleasantly memorable. The front desk experience you describe certainly does not meet our standards. I sent this review to our hotel management team. Additionally, I let our food and beverage team know about the outstanding service you received from Lita. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to improve and for being our guest. We do hope you give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marengo, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs IA. Great rooms. Great room service and LOTS of play on slots in their casino.
Excellent restaurants. Nice sports bar. Everything you need in one spot. I Gamble over 9 states. I have done them all.
Ameristar is fun! And that's what it's about right! I would stay here, not bothering with Harrah's or Horseshoe, this is all you need.

Room Tip: rooms facing the River are best. some on the other side are above the kitchen and you can smell the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel when traveling to the Midwest. The room was nice. Very roomy, nice view and quiet. We arrived at 11:00 p.m. and found out there was nowhere in the hotel to get food at that hour. No coffee maker in the room either. The employees were very friendly and did direct us to places to get food at that hour.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. I apologize for the inconvenience of lack of late night food outlets. I am, however please our staff was able to assist in directing you to the nearest restaurant location. I will forward your concern along to our property staff. Thank your for being our guest and we do hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed at the Ameristar Council Bluffs recently during a weekend meeting. Knowing it was a newer hotel, I went ahead and tried (it after staying at Harrah's before) and I was not disappointed. The standard deluxe room was pretty spacious, bed and bedding comfortable, safe in room, coffee maker, flat screen HD, free wifi, not a huge bathroom but adequate with nice fixtures. So this pretty much checks all the boxes as far what one would want in a room for 2 nights. The casino is smaller than I thought it would be since they are still in a riverboat and have not converted to a landbased casino. But even on the weekend I did not find it to be overcrowded at all. Buffet wasn't bad for the price I thought. Staff up and down the property was polite and efficient. Overall, I would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
We are extremely pleased of your pleasant stay with us. We are happy to hear that our hospitality standards are to your liking :) We are definitely satisfied with your recommendation and hope that you visit us again, hopefully soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs

Address: 2200 River Road, Council Bluffs, IA 51501
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs features 160 luxurious rooms that are tastefully decorated, many of which include panoramic views of the Missouri River. Ameristar Council Bluffs is proud to boast the largest riverboat casino in Iowa. This casino in Council Bluffs is 38,500-square-feet includes a selection of popular slot and table games. Ameristar Casino Hotel in Council Bluffs includes four dining options, a supervised kids activity center, video game arcade and an indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Venere, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.