We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs to your Saves list
Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 River Road, Council Bluffs, IA 51501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
1 review
“Clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Very clean and comfortable room. HDTV with HD channels. Hot water in the shower even during peak usage times. Easy access to casino floor. Great restaurants. Very nice and accommodating staff. Free valet parking.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    33
    9
    9
    6
See reviews for
19
66
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

If you stay at Ameristar Casino hotel in Council Bluffs, Iowa you better love the aroma of cigarette smoke and you better not have any lung problems. The entire hotel is rampant with the smell. The hotel is non-smoking, so says the front desk, but the Casino is not and the smell is everywhere. I can't understand why they have smoking and non-smoking rooms because mine was non and after 3 nights I felt as though I had just smoked a carton of cigarettes.
You would think with all the money they get at the casino they could afford a much better air filtration system. I'm generally not bothered by a little smoke but this was over the top. When I got home and opened my bags my son asked me if I started smoking again because my clothes reeked of smoke.
The hotel was clean, staff courteous. Good food. The buffet is wonderful. Bella's is nice for breakfast. Amerisports Bar was a sportsbar, with the normal sportsbar fare. Bourbons is a steakhouse with over the top prices in my opinion. We went over to Omaha for our steak dinner.
We didn't use room service because the prices were outrageous as usual for room service and then you have to add $2.00 per order and on top of that you are charged an automatic 18% gratuity and you are still expected to tip the guy or gal that bring you your meal.
We stayed in a room with a King bed and a jacuzzi tub. My last stay was in one of the Octogon suites. This was my third stay at Ameristar in Council Blufffs. It will be my last.
Try the adjoining Holiday in for what I would hope is much fresher air. It does have a closed walkway to the casino.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and apologize for the inconvenience. We do our best to accommodate all of our guests, both smoking and non-smoking. We continue to invest in improvements to our air quality system. A current project is expanding our ability to bring in and condition fresh air for our casino floor. We have also partnered with an outside engineering firm to assist us in providing the best quality of air for our guests and our team members. As we continue to monitor the air quality and explore new technologies, we do value our guests' feedback. Hope you do reconsider and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

It is casino hotel, but very quiet and clean.
We stayed on third level, any noise from casino bothered us.
After long time on the road, we were happy to settle in at amerstar hotel.
Room was bigger than I expected and beds were comfortable.
Hotel is not easy to find due to all the construction around the hotel.
It is worth a little trouble. Recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: Higher lever to stay away from casino noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thanks for your recommendation and for staying with us! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel was one of the cleanest I have ever stayed in. The linens on the bed even smelled clean. Staff was very efficient. Was a little confusing getting from the garage to the hotel part of the property. Three restaurants to eat at on the property. Bkfst. not included but we answered a survey when we ate at Bourbons & got not only a free dessert but also a coupon for $5 off our breakfast at Bella's. Both restaurants had very good food & service. We only stayed 1 nite while on the road - had a nice size king room. Could hear our neighbors' TV in the hall, but not in our room. Did not use the casino. The only drawback I saw in the whole property was that there were no grab bars in the combination tub-shower-- this might be a problem for some folks. I would definitely recommend this hotel for its cleanliness & staff efficiency.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks so much for your recommendation and for visiting us! I’m glad you had a nice stay. Our handicap accessible rooms do have grab bars and seats in the shower/tubs. If guests are staying in standard rooms, we have portable shower seats available upon request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Casino has everything but live poker so I cannot give it more than 3 stars. They have an awesome Friday bufett with all you can eat crab legs and prime rib. The party scene is only on Fridays and Saturdays in the sports bar and quite mild. Binions, which is less than a mile away has a much better party scene. Otherwise, the rooms are very nice. They have a nice little workhouse center along with a pool and spa.

Room Tip: Try and pick a room with a view of downtown Omaha and the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks for visiting, Michael. Our crab leg buffet is very popular. We do offer free live music at Amerisports on Fridays and Saturdays, if that interests you. Thanks for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I flew in from Atlanta, and stayed at the Ameristar Hotel, again, /thanks to my rewards card, I use it all the time, and get great perks, however, I had an excellent time, and like I said in a previous review, this hotel is not one of ..but 'the' cleanest hotel I have ever had accommodations to, even though my reservations were booked in advance, things do come up, my room was not quite ready when I arrived, but the staff made sure that I was offered another room right then, and I did not have to wait, and they were very apologetic as well, great customer service and courtesy goes a long way.

I love the room with the Jacuzzi, so i always get that, room service was magnificent, they even called me later to see if I enjoyed my meal, I went down to the casino and chilled, it was great!, I would have stayed a few more days, only I had a flight to Dallas that next morning,Nebraska is my hometown, so whenever I am there, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: It's always best to book your room in advance, if you possibly can,I do not think the location m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
I'm glad you had another great visit, Tray! Thank you for sharing your review and for being our guest. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion, Nebraska, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed on a Wednesday night and were celebrating our 30th anniversary and my husband's birthday and we had such a great time. We had a spectacular view of downtown Omaha and delighted in delicious food at the buffet and had fun at the casino. It was a one stop getaway and was so much fun!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Happy anniversary and birthday to your husband! Thanks for choosing to celebrate with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs

Address: 2200 River Road, Council Bluffs, IA 51501
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs features 160 luxurious rooms that are tastefully decorated, many of which include panoramic views of the Missouri River. Ameristar Council Bluffs is proud to boast the largest riverboat casino in Iowa. This casino in Council Bluffs is 38,500-square-feet includes a selection of popular slot and table games. Ameristar Casino Hotel in Council Bluffs includes four dining options, a supervised kids activity center, video game arcade and an indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.