We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rude desk clerk (Diane)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs to your Saves list
Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 River Road, Council Bluffs, IA 51501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
des moines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“rude desk clerk (Diane)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

When we arrived there was a desk clerk named Diane who was very rude to us. This was a very bad first impression of a hotel that my mother and I had never stayed at before. We would have left but my 75 year old mother was looking forward to staying in the Octigon room. I would suggest Diane to be retrained in common courtesy, so she does not drive away future guests!

Room Tip: do not check in with Diane
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha_Templeton, Social Media Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thanks for your review. I'm sorry if you and your mother were not satisfied with your experience at the hotel front desk. We always try to provide the best quality guest services and I'm sorry if we fell short. I've passed your input along. We hope that you give us another shot and stay with us again in the future so that we can demonstrate the top quality guest services that we strive for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    34
    9
    9
    6
See reviews for
19
67
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Four of us spent one night at the Ameristar on our way through town. Check-in went smoothly and front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was riverside and the view was nice. It was clean and spacious. The casino was fun, but pretty smoke-filled. We also enjoyed the live music and cocktails at the Amerisports Bar. In the morning we had breakfast at Bella's. We encountered top-notch service from all staff during our stay.

My very minor complaints would be that there were only two towels in the entire room, therefore we had to call for more to be delivered to the room. Also, I booked from the Ameristar website and for the type of hotel and room....it seems a bit spendy. I would stay again though, overall great place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Had an extremely relaxing stay here, at their buffet style restaraunt which was fabulous. Played for awhile in the casino and felt like royalty in out spa suite. The tub was exquisite the hotel had no problem upgrading us to a spa suite after check in. Our king bed was a dream. I wish we had stayed in town longer than one night! We never wanted to leave the room!

Room Tip: the jacuzzi suites are great but beware you can hear the tubs in the room above you. so if you are m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Ne
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

I have stayed here multiple times and am always pleased. There are serveral room types. The best is riverside view (just ask-no extra charge) with jacuzzi tub. The beds are comfy, the tvs are big flat screens and the bathrooms are quite large with double sinks and glass walk in shower. Bellas cafe is top qualtiy-ask for Carol and order the Bellas skillet. The sportsbar has good food and bands on the weekend. Bourbons is also good but pricier. The service is what sets this property apart. NO request is too much for them.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martell
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed here the night before flying out on our vacation.
We had a special coupon for a reduced rate and since we have to drive 90 miles to the airport it made since to stay in council Bluffs.
When I walked in the room it was emaculate.The room came with a hot tub
The staff was great and let us park our car in the parking garage while we were gone
which was a blessing because of the hail storm that hit the airport parking the day before we arrived home. I will stay here again when I fly out of Omaha

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pierce
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011 via mobile

Had a blast, the room was good size, up to date, lots of things to do around the area!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011 via mobile

We reserved a room with two beds. When we arrived we were given a room with one bed. It had a jet tub in the middle of the room. Useless unless with a spouse. Went back to desk and then given a handicapped room. It was clean but the bathroom was not appointed as nice as regular rooms. Informed that several rooms were off line due to a hotel problem. Also, very smoky gaming floor. Food was only okay. We liked this hotel in the past and we were looking forward to staying again but we do not plan to return based on our experience this time.


  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha_Templeton, Social Media Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Chris, I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your visit. I understand your frustration with the room. We always try to provide our guests with the specific accommodations that they request and I'm sorry to hear that the room was not to your expectations. I'm happy to ask our Hotel Director to reach out to you. We'd like to do what we can to keep you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs

Address: 2200 River Road, Council Bluffs, IA 51501
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs features 160 luxurious rooms that are tastefully decorated, many of which include panoramic views of the Missouri River. Ameristar Council Bluffs is proud to boast the largest riverboat casino in Iowa. This casino in Council Bluffs is 38,500-square-feet includes a selection of popular slot and table games. Ameristar Casino Hotel in Council Bluffs includes four dining options, a supervised kids activity center, video game arcade and an indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ameristar Casino Hotel Council Bluffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.