We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2141 South 35th St, Council Bluffs, IA 51501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Iowa City, Iowa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A good stay...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Hotel was easy to find and located close to all 3 Council Bluffs casinos. Rooms were clean and neat with an earth-tone modern decor. Over-bed lighting was excellent for reading. Breakfast was adequate (sorry...i'm a bacon and eggs guy). Staff was quite friendly and helpful. Don't let the truck stops at the exit scare you, things are much less industrial down the road.

Room Tip: There is a multi-screen movie theater with IMAX right next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    110
    75
    17
    16
See reviews for
149
72
15
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reedsburg, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Pet friendly ($25 fee), the hotel is clean and nice. It was a convenient stay on the road home from a week long sightseeing vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

To make this short, this is the cleanest hotel that I have stayed in which gives you the AARP discount if you are a member. We were on the second floor in a suite which was spotless. This property is only three years old. I was really surprised to read some of the recent negative comments regarding this hotel. Its near the AMC theater, Horseshoe Cassino, & many different types of restuarants. I dont see this as being in the bad part of town but one should always stay alert in this day and time..

Room Tip: I would recommend the suites..they may be a little larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gery W, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We hope to see you the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Vernon, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Appears to be new and very clean. Beds were very comfortable. Staff was friendly at check in and out. Breakfast was enjoyable. Staff recommended places to eat while in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed at the Microtel primarily because it was the only place I could find that would take pets. FIrst floor room was small, on the order of the small hotel rooms I've had in Japan. Not much room for anything other than the bed.
Overall, after a full day on the interstate in 100+ degree heat, I was glad to just get off the road and enjoy the airconditioning.
The room was cramped, but fully functional. I would definitely stay here again, although it wouldn't be my first choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The good- We stayed here returning home from Colorado with 2 adults, a teen, and an infant. I booked a suite with a wet bar so I could wash and prepare baby bottles. That worked out well. The hotel provided a pack n play for our baby (the crib we requested). Front desk staff was efficient but not overly friendly. The room air conditioner was a bit loud (but it was very hot outside while we were there and the A/C worked well). Very clean - felt okay letting baby crawl on floor in room.

The bad- Seemed like an okay part of town, but our vehicle and two others had windows smashed in overnight, and all of our dirty clothes from our trip which we'd left in a big duffel bag in our car, were stolen!!! It seemed almost funny at first that the thief had only gotten dirty clothes, but then we thought about it- we had some of our nicest clothes with us because we'd been on vacation, and now they are all gone. My son asked the police officer if that happened often around there, and the officer said, Unfortunately, yes. We found out that break-ins like that were common at all the hotel parking lots in that general vicinity, not just this one. Hotel staff should probably warn travelers to bring EVERYTHING in from their vehicles overnight. I am sad to have lost some of my infant daughter's irreplacable darling little outfits, as well as our adult clothes. All of that ended up costing us about $1000 I didn't anticipate!

We missed out on the complimentary breakfast, because it was over by the time we got done talking to the police and our insurance agent, so I can't comment on that.

An unhappy ending to a very nice and long-awaited trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We woke to find ants swarming our bags that were left both on the desk and floor! Such a horrible feeling- had to empty our bags and wash everything to get the ants off. The front desk clerk did nothing when I reported it-- unacceptable customer service. Can't believe the price we paid to stay at a place like that!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs

Address: 2141 South 35th St, Council Bluffs, IA 51501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Council Bluffs Hotel Council Bluffs
Microtel Inn And Suites Council Bluffs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Council Bluffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.