We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good overnight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2211 South 32nd Street, Council Bluffs, IA 51501 (Formerly Sleep Inn & Suites Council Bluffs)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Virginia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very good overnight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

For some strange reason most hotels in the area were booked solid. We were recommended to this hotel and were glad to find it an nice choice. Room was very clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was included and was just ok. Several food choices were within a half mile.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    31
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
39
26
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Recently stayed here 5 nights for business and was very pleased with my room and the staff. The pool is shared with the adjoining casino and was adequate size. The exercise room was average and one of the stations on the weight machine was broken the entire 5 days. Breakfast was average. Rooms were of average size and were clean. The nice thing is that the hotel is connected to the casino which has a good buffet and plenty to do. If I am in the area again I would certainly not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew T, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear mdhokenson-
I am very excited that you enjoyed your stay with the Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites connected to Ameristar Casino. However your wonderful review was posted on the Holiday Inn Express down the road. Thank you again for your kind words and being a loyal member to the Holiday Inn family. Maybe during your next trip to Iowa you can give us a shot.

Matt Turner
Assistant General Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This HI Express location is a little further away from downtown Omaha, but the price was right and it only took a few minutes to zip downtown. This location had everything I have come to expect from HI Express and the staff was very pleasant. While you are there, check out a movie next door at the AMC.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew T, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Blabbott-

Thank you for taking the time to tell us how your stay was. I am very pleased to know that we met all of your expectations as our hotel guest. We look forward to serving you again when you visit us on future stays. Thanks again and have a great day!

Matt Turner
Assistant General Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, IL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We ended up booking a room with the HI Express only after our regular hotel in the area was all booked up. We typically stay in another, competing hotel because we travel with young children and need large rooms, in suite sink, fridge and microwave. What a pleasant surprise the Express turned out to be. The rooms were larger, the bed softer, the bathrooms cleaner and the shower head was phenomenal. The king suite was set up somehwhat odd, with the television in front of the settee, but other than that we found everything logially placed. The breakfast was standard business traveler faire, but everything was fresh and the breakfast area was large and closed off from the main lobby so the other guests coming in from the cold were not traipsing through during our meal, take note of that Marriot. The staff was friendly and everything seemed to be in order on the hotel grounds. This is a 3 star hotel, but it does 3 stars well, and I think the family has found a new base of operations when we are in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Hi bmpark2,

Thanks so much for the kind words! We're glad to have surprised you and look forward to your family's next visit.

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Busy and expensive place but completely disappointing because of the noise from adjoining rooms, hallway, and stairs.

Bathroom featured hairs from previous guests which were not an appreciated feature.

Staff was great and morning breakfast standard Express fare.

Won't be a stopping place on future journeys.

Room Tip: Stay away from stairways, halls, and adjoining rooms because building construction does not include...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi there Sue,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review.

We're sorry you found your stay too noisy for your liking. New Year's Eve is a very busy time for us, and you got our last room that night so we were very busy indeed. The noise levels were not normal and we do apologize for that, but many guests were out celebrating.

As for the hair you found -- that is a problem and we will be talking to the head housekeeper about this issue. We're sorry about that.

We hope you'll visit us again to give us another chance, Sue.

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
378 reviews 378 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
293 helpful votes 293 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

My husband and I are priority club members because we always stay at their hotels. This time we were traveling with 23 seniors who toured the Colorado Rockies. This hotel was no exception of the excellence they provide. We were greeted warmly by the staff who assisted us in getting settled. We arrived late in the evening and were tired and just wanted to "chill out" in our rooms. There were three staff at the desk to answer any questions we may have. USA news and the local paper was available and we had a great breakfast. There were pancakes, eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy, oatmeal, cereal, bananas and sweets with coffee, tea and sodas. What more can you ask for? The breakfast attendant was very efficient in refilling food and drinks. The manager was on duty to help. The hotel took care of our luggage, fast and efficiently. This was a great hotel. Rooms were spacious, very clean and neat with all amenities. We'll be back and continue to stay at the Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: Any room any Holiday Inn Express is a good choice! We stayed in room 107 and it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Hi Maryann,

Thanks so much for staying with us and leaving this kind review. We love how you described your stay and we're proud to have served you.

We hope you enjoyed your tour of the Rockies and had a safe trip home to Tennessee!

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Nebraska, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Overall we were happy with our stay here. However, there were a couple of issues. We stayed in a room with a jacuzzi tub and the drain didn't hold. It slowly lost water which was extremely annoying. Also, we had some major issues with the continental breakfast on Saturday and Sunday morning. Saturday almost everything was empty and the bananas were completely brown. They were only fit to cook with, not to eat, which was really funny since they had signs about bananas on some of the tables. (See my pictures.) Sunday they again had very little food out. The bananas were slightly better, but not much. Both days they did restock the food but not nearly fast enough. We saw many people come and go without getting much food.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Online_Relations12, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hi there Brook,

We're very sorry about the drain issue and problems with breakfast during your stay. I can assure you that has never happened before. We will have maintenance check the tub drains and address the banana issue with those designated people.

We hope you'll visit us again and give us another chance to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Best,
Sam, on behalf of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs

Address: 2211 South 32nd Street, Council Bluffs, IA 51501 (Formerly Sleep Inn & Suites Council Bluffs)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Council Bluffs
#5 Business Hotel in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Council Bluffs
Council Bluffs Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn Council Bluffs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.