We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best in Council Bluffs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2211 South 32nd Street, Council Bluffs, IA 51501 (Formerly Sleep Inn & Suites Council Bluffs)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Council Bluffs
Ankeny, Iowa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“One of the Best in Council Bluffs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

If you are going to stay at an hotel that is not connected to one of the three casinos in the area but is still closey located to them then this is the place to stay. Very clean and affordable and still close to Epply Airfield too.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    29
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
37
21
11
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is NEW and was clean. It was sleek and modern. The breakfast area tended to be crowded in the morning.

The room was clean, spacious, and modern. The bed was comfy. The amenities smelled like cinnamon; I thought that was nice.

There are several restaurants in the area: Hooters, a burger place (good fries), and a couple other choices. Not much else. The distance to Omaha was manageable and didn't take long driving. The Casinos are near by too. But, over all not much in the area.

Overall, the hotel was nice and we would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, KS
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed here when we visited the Omaha Zoo. The price was great for two Queen bed suite. We were there for a weekend and the room was great. Very clean and seemed updated. We had a nice kitchenette and table with chairs which was great for feeding the kiddos. The beds were really comfy. The walk-in shower was great because I don't care for baths in hotels. I was easily able to get my kids showered. The pool is very small, but was not crowded when we swam. The free breakfast was decent.

I must mention that I also dealt with a really rude lady at the front desk. Upon check out, I asked about purchasing stamps because it said in the Guest Services book in the room that they offered this. I guess that was the wrong thing to ask her about. Glad we only saw her for a minute when we were leaving.

Oh yeah, after reading a previous post about the wrapped bath towels as door stops, I noticed that they were still doing that and yes, it looks terrible. There was a Ruby Tuesday close by as well as a movie theater and Bass Pro shop. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

A typical Holiday Inn Express supported by excellent staff who try their best to help out with any questions. Not exceptional but certainly no bad surprises for the road weary traveller.

Room Tip: A quiet location makes every room about the same. South side offers sunset / rise so early drivers c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason City, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for a conference, and while the hotel itself is clean and pleasant, the staff were almost hostile. Upon check in, I waited at the desk, while the sole clerk at the desk answered one phone call after another in front of me. No apologies for making me wait during these long calls. The pool and hot tub were very nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

This hotel seems to be brand new. Very nice and clean rooms. Shower was great. Very quiet too. Wireless internet was very fast. Couple of restaurants very close to hotel. I got delayed due to a flight and had to move my reservation to the next day; despite the fact that I called after the cancellation time, they moved my reservation with no problem. Included breakfast bar had lots of variety. Only complain is that the TV was in front of a sofa, and not the bed. So it you like to watch TV from your bed, you had to look at an angle, and TV was a little far away. But I guess that's a detail. And I'm not sure if every room has the same setup. I'd definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I've stayed at this location several times while on business in Council Bluffs. It's a new property and very well maintaned. The rooms are big and clean. It feels like a much more expensive hotel. The staff is pleasant. It's in a good location. Close to restaurants, movie theatre, and downtown Omaha.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs

Address: 2211 South 32nd Street, Council Bluffs, IA 51501 (Formerly Sleep Inn & Suites Council Bluffs)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Council Bluffs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Council Bluffs
#3 Business Hotel in Council Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Council Bluffs
Council Bluffs Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn Council Bluffs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Council Bluffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.