We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average - look across the street” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   214 West 9th Street, Coralville, IA 52241 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Coralville
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Just average - look across the street”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

While clean, this hotel is definitely showing its age with wear and tear. The rooms are clean, but dinged up here and there. There is also a musty smell in the air, which I assume is from low occupancy - no one's run the AC for awhile. There is a pool (out of order), workout room, and free breakfast in the mornings. If you have a choice and can afford it, stay across the street at the Marriott conference center - one of the nicest Marriotts in the system. If you're just in town for a night or the price can't be beat, this hotel will do in a pinch.

In front of the hotel is a "Kum and Go" gas station. Across the street is a great BBQ place, and down the road are several more restaraunts and bars. Nice area to stay, close to Iowa State, but there are better hotel options in the area.

Just an "okay" hotel. Nothing special.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    20
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
25
12
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cortez, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

From the time I arrived in Coralville, I was greeted by friendly people. There was not any big rig parking at the motel, but the drywall place next door welcomed me to park there.

This motel is very very nice and clean. I have no negatives to post, I would reccomend that you stay here whenever you travel. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed here during the busy week end of Iowa/Iowa STate game. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Hotel was very clean and conveniently located. Pool area was also very clean and I am very picky about that. The price was very reasonable. Other family members stayed at another higher ranked hotel and liked ours much better. WIll definitely stay there again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

You how you have your suspicions about a place when they can't even check you in correctly because they are too busy talking on the phone or chatting with a co-worker? I should have known what I was in for after this happened to me. A 2 minute check took 10 minutes just to get a crappy room.

I go to use the bathroom and notice black scum on the ceiling...and more black scum in the tub...and more black scum around the grout...MOLD! I go back downstairs and ask for another room...in which I'm told, "I'm sorry, we are sold out because it is a football weekend. And since it is a Saturday afternoon, housekeeping has gone home for the day." Whhhaaaattttt?????

The room from hell just keeps going farther into the abyss:

Only 2 channels on the TV come in clearly.
The bed has never been rotated, so one half of the bed is completely broken down and you have to use the other half otherwise you'll sag to the floor.
Best I could get with the WIFI was 2 bars...due to the hotel being sold out and so many people using it, I was told.
Cold coffee for breakfast.
The key card lock on the front door...for security...doesn't work.

Anyone need any more reasons not to stay here? Marriott should strip this franchisee of its' license...better off being turned into an hourly rate hotel with the way it is currently run. There are a lot more options nearby, including a full service Marriott down the street...anyplace but this Farfiled is my recommendation.

Room Tip: Stay at the Comfort Inn, Holiday Inn Express..anywhere else but this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Hello Backstreets1250! Thank you for taking the time to provide our hotel with your review. It is the goal of my staff and myself to provide each and every one of our guests with a stay that is 100% satisfacotry. I thank you for your comments and your suggestions for my team and I to improve our service and satisfaction for our future guests. I have shared your comments with my team so that they we may investigate the issues that you noted in your response and make any necessary corrections. We have also spoken with our cable provider about the spotty reception that you received on the channels in your room so that they may correct any issues.
Again, I thank you for taking the time to provide my team and I with your feedback! We hope that the next time your travels bring you to the lovely Iowa City area we will be granted the opportunity to accomodate your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at several Fairfield Inn hotels in the past and had a very pleasant experience, so I decided to give this one a try in spite of some of the bad reviews I saw on here. This hotel was pretty much subpar on every mark. I could already size up how the experience would be from the tiny lobby that didn't even have automatic doors, and the rather abrupt and angry looking woman at the front desk. The room wasn't much better; it was very basic, cramped and outdated. The curtains wouldn't close completely, there were stains on the sheets, the doorknob to the bathroom was about to fall off, and there was water damage on the ceiling above the shower that had simply been painted over. I wasn't expecting much passing through Cornhole, IA, but this hotel still managed to disappoint.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is a basic hotel for an affordable price. Clean, well maintained, courteous staff.
While much more affordable than many comparable hotels in the area, all went well. Check-in was smooth, the room clean, and everything worked. Good temperature control, low level of noise, Internet worked well, enough wall outlets, decent size room and bathroom. Very good TV channel selection including HBO, but all choices are analog (no digital). Other than no digitial channels, hotel met all my requirements, and gives Marriott points. No complaints for a simple stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is a basic hotel in the bargain category. I chose it online having had good experiences with Fairfield. It is a hotel on an interstate exit and just doesn't try to be anything than a room with breakfast. Strange for a university town. There is good security. The rooms were clean. The furnishings were aged but servicable. The bed was basic. If you can get a good price and need to bed down, this will do. We spent two nights visiting and it would have been worth checking out other sites.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide me with feedback from your recent stay with us here at the Fairfield Inn Iowa City Coralville. I am glad that you found our hotel's location, accomodations, and security to be accomodating. Your comments have been helpful and I do appreciate you taking the time to provide me with them. If I may be of assistance when you return to the area do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville

Address: 214 West 9th Street, Coralville, IA 52241 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Coralville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn & Suites, a Coralville IA hotel near University of IowaThe Comfort Inn & Suites® hotel is conveniently located off of Interstate 80, just two miles away from the University of Iowa and its famed attractions, including Kinnick Stadium, Hancer Auditorium and the Carver Hawkeye Arena. This Coralville, IA hotel offers easy access to the Coral Ridge Mall and the Amana Colonies, a National Historic Landmark.Guests of the Comfort Inn & Suites will appreciate the many amenities, including:•Free wireless high-speed Internet access•Free weekday newspaper•Indoor heated poolYour Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors!All guest rooms offer a flat-screen television with cable, a coffee maker, desk, microwave, iron and ironing board. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper.This is a pet-friendly hotel, with four-legged friends allowed to stay for a fee.Its perfect location and convenient access to area attractions make the Comfort Inn & Suites hotel a great place for business and leisure travelers in the Coralville, Iowa area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Iowa City Coralville Hotel Coralville
Fairfield Inn Coralville
Fairfield Coralville
Coralville Fairfield Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.