We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One thing lacking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 1st Ave, Coralville, IA 52241   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%!
Ranked #7 of 18 hotels in Coralville
PA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One thing lacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We traveled cross country when we stayed here on the way home. We stayed in Hampton Inns quite a few times. Everything is nice but in this heat, I was surely dismayed to see no refrigerator in our room. I wanted to bring in ice blocks to refreeze or at least keep cold overnight. Did I miss this when I read room details that it didn't have a refrigerator? I check rooms carefully when reserving online and I reserve directly from the hotel. If I knew the room description online indicated a refrigerator, I'd be down at the front desk to complain. But be sure I'll make sure other Hampton Inn and their rooms have a refrigerator or book elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear saramay,
Thank you for your stay at Hampton Inn Coralville. We appreciate the feedback our guests provide us. It allows us to identify what we are doing right and what we can improve upon. At our location we provide complimentary refrigerators upon request. We are currently in the process of getting them into every one of our guest rooms. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced without the refrigerator in your room. If you book with us again in the future please let our staff know that you may need one and we will absolutely find a way to accommodate. Thank you again for your feedback and i apologize again for the inconvenience. Please consider staying with us again next time you visit the Coralville area.

Sincerely,
Angelo
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    44
    29
    11
    10
See reviews for
59
35
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hampton Inn is always a good choice...even with minor problems. This location at Iowa City/Coralville was used as a base for a 4-night stay in eastern Iowa. It provided an easy on and off of the Interstate in a good location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Linda N,
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Coralville for your visit in eastern Iowa. The convenience of our location off of Interstate 80 is an added benefit to the great service and clean facilities our hotel provides. Next time you plan a trip to eastern Iowa hopefully you are able to come back to the Hampton Inn Coralville.

Sincerely,
Angelo
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Originally we choose this hotel because of it's location as a half way point to stay the night on our way to Omaha, NE from Joliet, IL. We were very happy with the ratings online and we received a very reasonable rate with no reservation. The pool opened early and the kids were able to swim before we headed out. The rooms were very clean and we enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast in the morning. I would recommend this hotel to other families as well as business travelers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Lori T,
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Coralville as a stopping point on your journey. People tend to choose our location for our convenience being just north of Interstate 80. However they also choose us because of the cleanliness of our facilities and our great service. I am glad your kids were able to enjoy a nice swim before hitting the road again. And i am glad you were able to enjoy a nice breakfast. Our hot breakfast is a big hit with our guests because of its variety and friendly and helpful staff. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us here at the Hampton Inn Coralville and next time you make the trip we would be delighted to have you stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Angelo
Front Office Supervisor



Originally we choose this hotel because of it's location as a half way point to stay the night on our way to Omaha, NE from Joliet, IL. We were very happy with the ratings online and we received a very reasonable rate with no reservation. The pool opened early and the kids were able to swim before we headed out. The rooms were very clean and we enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast in the morning. I would recommend this hotel to other families as well as business travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Recently stayed for a long weekend, I was very impressed. Normally you think of Hamptons as lower quality but I have to admit, this is a nice facility. Everything about the property, rooms, exercise facility, breakfast area was clean, new and a great value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Mark 090702,
Thank you for taking the time to write about the Hampton Inn Coralville. It delights me that you enjoyed your stay with us. As well, i am glad to hear you were able to enjoy all of the amenitites that our Hampton Inn provides. We take a lot of pride in the cleanliness of our facilities and ensuring the guests get everything they pay for and more.
Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and next time you're in the area we hope you choose to stay with us here at the Hampton Inn Coralville.

Front Office Supervisor, Angelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our family stayed there to celebrate two in our family that graduated from the University of Iowa. We enjoyed the weekend and the stay. You have a great hotel and staff. Thank you for making our visit that much better!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisPhillipsAGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Daniel F,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We were glad to have you here on graduation weekend and hope you choose our hotel whenever you’re in the Iowa City area. I will pass along your positive comments to my staff.

Sincerely,

Chris Phillips
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed at the Hampton Inn in mid May with two coworkers. Walked in and the room was immaculate. Great snacks and free beverages for a couple of hours in the evening. Only complaint was there was not a refrigerator in the room, which is unusual for a Hampton. Will be a repeat customer when I return to the Iowa City area.

Room Tip: No refrigerators in the rooms so bring a cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Sandra M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We were glad to have you and your co-workers stay at our location. I’m glad you were able to enjoy the Manger’s Reception to relax and enjoy a few drinks and snacks. I will let my housekeeping staff know that you appreciated the cleanliness of the room. As well, we are working towards getting refrigerators in every room at the Hampton Inn but for now you can request one as we have some available for special request. We look forward to your return to the area and cannot wait to have you back at the Hampton Inn Coralville!

Sincerely,

Angelo Saenz
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel was everything a traveler would want...clean & fresh, delightful staff, in-house adjacent top notch restaurant with professionally selected, prepared and presented food choices. It also had a nice gym next to an indoor heated pool. They have a local shuttle and quite an expansive shopping mall around the corner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville

Address: 1200 1st Ave, Coralville, IA 52241
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Coralville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville Hotel Coralville
Hampton Inn Coralville
Coralville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.