We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly Clean Room at a reasonable rate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 1st Ave, Coralville, IA 52241   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Coralville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Joliet, United States
1 review
“Family Friendly Clean Room at a reasonable rate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Originally we choose this hotel because of it's location as a half way point to stay the night on our way to Omaha, NE from Joliet, IL. We were very happy with the ratings online and we received a very reasonable rate with no reservation. The pool opened early and the kids were able to swim before we headed out. The rooms were very clean and we enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast in the morning. I would recommend this hotel to other families as well as business travelers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Lori T,
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Coralville as a stopping point on your journey. People tend to choose our location for our convenience being just north of Interstate 80. However they also choose us because of the cleanliness of our facilities and our great service. I am glad your kids were able to enjoy a nice swim before hitting the road again. And i am glad you were able to enjoy a nice breakfast. Our hot breakfast is a big hit with our guests because of its variety and friendly and helpful staff. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us here at the Hampton Inn Coralville and next time you make the trip we would be delighted to have you stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Angelo
Front Office Supervisor



Originally we choose this hotel because of it's location as a half way point to stay the night on our way to Omaha, NE from Joliet, IL. We were very happy with the ratings online and we received a very reasonable rate with no reservation. The pool opened early and the kids were able to swim before we headed out. The rooms were very clean and we enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast in the morning. I would recommend this hotel to other families as well as business travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    69
    47
    13
    12
See reviews for
81
54
19
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Recently stayed for a long weekend, I was very impressed. Normally you think of Hamptons as lower quality but I have to admit, this is a nice facility. Everything about the property, rooms, exercise facility, breakfast area was clean, new and a great value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Mark 090702,
Thank you for taking the time to write about the Hampton Inn Coralville. It delights me that you enjoyed your stay with us. As well, i am glad to hear you were able to enjoy all of the amenitites that our Hampton Inn provides. We take a lot of pride in the cleanliness of our facilities and ensuring the guests get everything they pay for and more.
Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and next time you're in the area we hope you choose to stay with us here at the Hampton Inn Coralville.

Front Office Supervisor, Angelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our family stayed there to celebrate two in our family that graduated from the University of Iowa. We enjoyed the weekend and the stay. You have a great hotel and staff. Thank you for making our visit that much better!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisPhillipsAGM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Daniel F,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We were glad to have you here on graduation weekend and hope you choose our hotel whenever you’re in the Iowa City area. I will pass along your positive comments to my staff.

Sincerely,

Chris Phillips
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed at the Hampton Inn in mid May with two coworkers. Walked in and the room was immaculate. Great snacks and free beverages for a couple of hours in the evening. Only complaint was there was not a refrigerator in the room, which is unusual for a Hampton. Will be a repeat customer when I return to the Iowa City area.

Room Tip: No refrigerators in the rooms so bring a cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisPhillipsAGM, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Sandra M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We were glad to have you and your co-workers stay at our location. I’m glad you were able to enjoy the Manger’s Reception to relax and enjoy a few drinks and snacks. I will let my housekeeping staff know that you appreciated the cleanliness of the room. As well, we are working towards getting refrigerators in every room at the Hampton Inn but for now you can request one as we have some available for special request. We look forward to your return to the area and cannot wait to have you back at the Hampton Inn Coralville!

Sincerely,

Angelo Saenz
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel was everything a traveler would want...clean & fresh, delightful staff, in-house adjacent top notch restaurant with professionally selected, prepared and presented food choices. It also had a nice gym next to an indoor heated pool. They have a local shuttle and quite an expansive shopping mall around the corner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We walked into the Hampton Inn Coralville without reservations. We had planned to stay at the nearby Comfort Inn, however it was undergoing a major renovation and the lobby was quite a mess and very dusty!! Many other hotels were full and we were desparate by the time we arrived at the Hampton Inn.

The front desk personnel greeted us warmly, advised us they had a few rooms remaining and worked hard to get us the best rate possible.

The room was very nice and comfortable. My only complaint was they only had paper cups for all beverages. I would have liked a plastic glass for our cocktails.

The breakfast was very good and lots of choices.

Also there is a resaturant attached to the hotel - River City Beefstro. On the Friday night we were there, they were serving a prime rib and seafood buffet. We opted for just a cheeseburger and it was hands down the best burger we have ever had.

This is an excellent hotel in the Coralville/Iowa City area. I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here with our two small children. The room was clean and comfy, all the staff was friendly and happy to help and the breakfast would easily have cost 30$ in a restaurant ! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville

Address: 1200 1st Ave, Coralville, IA 52241
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Coralville
#6 Business Hotel in Coralville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville Hotel Coralville
Hampton Inn Coralville
Coralville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.