We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 1st Ave, Coralville, IA 52241   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%!
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Coralville
St. Louis
1 review
“Don't Stay Here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2008

I found it...the worst customer serviced hotel in the Midwest. As a business traveller out some 80 nights/year, a Hilton Honors card carrier, and a dude who dosen't need much, this place crashed and burned on all levels. Maybe the fine folks from the rural area who send their kids to Iowa like this place, but if you live in a city of any populus, you'll certainly be disappointed here. My guess is it won't hold the Hampton name much longer.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    60
    43
    12
    11
See reviews for
70
45
17
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

This is a nice hotel. We stayed in a block of rooms for a wedding party. The hotel staff was accomodating and the rooms were nice and clean, I would reccomend staying here again if in the area.

  • Liked — The fluffy beds & pillows
  • Disliked — 11am check out time
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2008

We were 2 English couples, travelling in the usa.
This was the by far the best hotel we stayed in on our trip.
The rooms were very clean and nice,and the self service breakfast very good.
We left feeling we had ,had a very luxurious night in those extremely comfortable beds!

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, WI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2007

I'ver never stayed in a cleaner place. From the plush comforter and fluffy pillows we loved everything about this place. Even the restaurant on property was first rate. The bed was so comfortable I slept through breakfast! We will make it a point to stay there again. Best hotel I've ever stayed in!

  • Liked — Everything.....we found nothing we didn't like.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2007

This was a great place. Check in was easy and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The gym requires a separate key that has to be obtained from the front desk. There was a treadmill, stair stepper, bike and a weight machine. The treadmill wasn't working when I was there but maintainence was there working on it the instant we commented about it. The pool was typical of any hotel. The great thing about this place was that they have room service from the restaurant next door. It was quite good and reasonably priced. The breakfast is one of the best I've had at a continental breakfast--lots of different options. I will definitely stay here if I'm back in the area.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2006

Truth be told, I have never stayed at a Hampton Inn before. My trip found me needing to stop for the night in this location, so I decided to give them a try. I will now be looking for Hampton Inns when I drive cross country.

Room was the best equipped of any I have stayed at in this price range. Bed is VERY comfortable. Believe the advertising! The room had mild smelling toiletries provided, ample towels, hairdryer, lapdesk, extra pillows, extra blanket (I love this, since I get cold at night), note pads and pens, hangers, a proper ergonomic desk chair, a local magazine to browse through, decent lighting, and a quiet fan coil unit that kept the room at the temperature I asked it to. Also liked that you could open the window.

Room was also very clean - with the exception of some mildew growth on the very quiet fan coil unit. They should take care of this.

I ate at the on sight restaurant. It was fine, but the Ruby Tuesday I ate at the night before was better. The had a decent bar scene going with fans routing for the football game.

The breakfast was the best of the bunch in this hotel category. Hot food was hot and included egss. It all tasted good.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, NJ
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2006

Stayed at this hotel only for one night with my family (including myself: 4 males ages 22, 24, 55, and 2 females ages 21 and 51).

This hotel is very business-like and professional. Not a place to bring a huge young family. The hotel was very clean and comfortable with friendly employees. The complimentary breakfast was really good, with coffee, cereal, toast, bagels, muffins, danishes, juices, as well as a "on-the-go bag" where you can pick up at the front desk (a bottle of water, cereal bar, fruit).

The pool area was really clean and kept tidy. The pool was a little chilly but the hot tub made up for it. It was very relaxing and hot!

The rooms were very clean. We had 2 rooms next to each other. Each provided 2 queen size beds which were amazingly comfortable. I want one for my home!

The exercise room was quite large compared to many other hotel exercise rooms and was also kept neat. The hotel also had complimentary beverages (wine, bottles of beer, soda) and mini eggrolls during the early evening hours. There is also an attached restaurant on-site which offers fair-priced items.

Great stay and very convient to the interstate, but you won't hear it. Each room has high-speed internet access, irons, hair dryers, etc. Great stay!

  • Liked — Amazing Beds!
  • Disliked — The pool could have been a little bit warmer
  • Tips/Secrets — Definately stay here! But expect to see mostly business people here, not tourists.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville

Address: 1200 1st Ave, Coralville, IA 52241
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Coralville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville Hotel Coralville
Hampton Inn Coralville
Coralville Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Iowa City / Coralville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.