We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible area and wonderful hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Coralville Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Coralville Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Marriott Coralville Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 East 9th Street, Coralville, IA 52241   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free HSIA, Parking + Brew
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Coralville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saline, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Incredible area and wonderful hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed here with my extended family for a wedding so we had a number of rooms on the 8th floor. We had concierge lounge privileges (when it was open) which was very nice. The rooms were lovely, great service, all the things you would want at a hotel. The restaurant and bar in the hotel served great food and drinks. There is a wonderful riverwalk back behind the hotel where you can sit out back and eat/drink as well. I used the fitness room which had great equiptment including free weights and a weight machine for multiple uses. The area the hotel is located in is nice because there is a brewery (backpocket brewery = wonderful) and another bar (vesta?) as well as a few shops within walking distance. It is only a short drive to other restaurants and downtown iowa city! The only negative about the hotel I would say is the parking. It is $8 per day and not attached to the hotel. It is in a nice parking garage but there is no covered walk and it can be quite a long ways to walk to the hotel depending on where you park.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christie H, Manager at Marriott Coralville Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We appreciate knowing what you enjoyed about your stay and where we have area for improvement. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    69
    35
    7
    11
See reviews for
67
28
13
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grimes
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed at the hotel with our Soccer Club. The hotel is very nice, nice rooms with coffee machines, some rooms had mini fridges, not sure which rooms as our room did not, but we did have a nice view of the courtyard and small pond area which was nice. There is a nice pond and fountains with several landscape features and walking trails, however, with some recent folding the areas were wet and mosquitos were out in full force so did not walk around much outside, there is a small coffee shop at the hotel, however, no restaurant of Dinning area which was hard with the soccer team as we had to always to offsite for meals. There at several off site brew pub and bar/grill areas within walking distance, as well as, many other dining options with a few blocks. This would be a nice hotel for a romantic getaway, or as the hotel is known for conferences and weddings.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christie H, Manager at Marriott Coralville Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your trip to the Coralville Marriott Hotel and Conference Center. Thank you for for your review of the hotel. We always appreciate feedback. I'm sorry you missed our restaurant and lounge. Unfortunately they are both tucked in behind the Coffee shop area. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We checked in late after a long day. Nice to have a friendly and efficient staff and room was very nice at a good price. Gym is not big, but adequate. Nice location off of main streets and plenty of places to jog with a view. They do charge for WIFI, surprisingly. Will stay again when in the area!

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christie H, Manager at Marriott Coralville Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for all of your feedback. We are glad that on the whole you had an enjoyable stay and we hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralville, Iowa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I was charged with providing hotel rooms for 11 volleyball teams coming into the area for a large volleyball tournament. The management staff, sales department and hotel staff did a great job making sure we were well taken care of.

The provided us a great rate, great service and took excellent care of the families that came to town.

Rooms were extremely clean, spacious and the amenities were beyond first class.

If you are traveling to the Iowa City area, I strongly urge you to look at this property first. It's an amazing property, it's close to any kind of dining (fast food, casual or more upscale) you could possibly desire, close to one of the largest shopping malls in Iowa and about 20 minutes from a nice outlet center and the staff is extremely welcoming.

Put this one on your list.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christie H, Manager at Marriott Coralville Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
We are delighted that you and your group enjoyed your trip to Coralville and your time at The Coralville Marriott Hotel and Conference Center. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel has had the friendliest staff that I have encountered in decades of business travel. My bag was lost by delta airlines - they provided many essentials to allow me to presentable for my business meetings the next day. A plus customer service!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christie H, Manager at Marriott Coralville Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Coralville Marriott Hotel and Conference Center. We hope to have you as our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I spent the weekend for a conference, but saw lots of folks who were in town to visit the University of Iowa or for leisure. Really good meeting spaces. Our group was around 600 and we had plenty of room to move and meet. Standard hotel catering and attentive staff.

I really like the library, what a great idea! My room was very clean and fresh, no evidence of wear and tear and the housekeeping staff did an excellent job for my 3 night stay.

Close to all shopping and restaurants you can imagine, and very close to U of I for those visiting to check out the campus with their kids. Speaking of restaurants, the Edgewater Restaurant has some fantastic food!

Room Tip: There's a brewery across the parking lot that has live music outdoors on the weekend. You may wa...
See more room tips
Green Features: They do the standard "keep your towels" thing to save on doing laundry.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christie H, Manager at Marriott Coralville Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
It was a pleasure having you stay with us! Thank you for choosing to stay at the Coralville Marriott and we look forward to hosting you again next time your are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Decided to stay in Coralville for a weekend stay recently while viewing local attractions and taking in some shopping. I have stayed at this particular Marriott in the past and have always been very satisfied. This trip was different, however. The room was not as clean as usual, items left behind by previous guests, etc. Given the price of the room, I was a bit surprised. I was satisfied, but somewhat disappointed given my previous experiences at this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms are best and provide a great view. Area restaurants on the River Landing are exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christie H, Manager at Marriott Coralville Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at the Coralville Marriott. It is always our desire that all guests have great accommodations; I apologize this did not happen on this stay and have shared your concerns with our team. We truly hope for the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon for an experience that exceeds all of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Coralville Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Coralville Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 300 East 9th Street, Coralville, IA 52241
Location: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Coralville
#6 Family Hotel in Coralville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Coralville Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located adjacent to the University of Iowa, the Coralville Marriott is one of the finest hotels in Iowa City. Featuring smoke-free accommodations and the area's largest meeting space, our hotel is within easy reach of Cedar Rapids and Des Moines. The perfect place for conferences, elegant weddings, family reunions and retreats of all sizes, our hotel in Iowa City features 60,000 sq ft event space, including a 30,000 sq ft exhibit hall and innovative guest rooms - each equipped with wireless internet access, plasma TV, Marriott Revive bedding and a spacious workspace. Guests can enjoy our hotel's walking trails, dining, indoor pool, 24-hour health club and unique Iowa Writer's Library, housing manuscripts from the country's oldest society of writers. Complimentary Internet access is available in public spaces. Enjoy a delicious meal at Edgewater Grill, our on-site Restaurant. Escape to the Coralville Marriott Hotel for an unforgettable stay in Iowa City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Marriott Coralville Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coralville Hotel And Conference Center
Marriott Coralville Hotel Coralville
Coralville Marriott
Marriott Coralville Hotel & Conference Center Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Coralville Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.