We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent--exceeded our expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2571 Heartland Place, Coralville, IA 52241   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Coralville
Washington, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent--exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Every staff person we encountered went that extra mile to go above and beyond our expectations. We highly recommend this hotel. They upgraded our room to a suite, even though we used our reward points to make the reservation. Breakfast was good. Location is great, too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInn52241, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your staff. We have shared your comments with our staff, and they love hearing stories from our guest with such kind things to say. We are so thrilled you enjoyed our hotel! We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    37
    27
    11
    10
See reviews for
65
26
5
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Hotel is maintained well. It lives up to the standards I see at other Country Inns I stay at.

One issue I found on this stay, housekeeping is allowed to determine when you get up.
Meaning that the housekeepers make a lot of noise! They flip out the door latch and let the door slam each time they come in and out of the room.
This transfer to most of the rooms around that room. This is a housekeeping trick used in some hotels to get people up and out so the housekeeping staff can finish earlier.
It is lazy and unacceptable for a hotel to allow this to happen.
I paid for the use of the room and there is never a time I need to hear housekeeping! Never before check out time!

If you are checking in late be aware of this hotel policy.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInn52241, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from our staff. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best service. I have addressed each housekeeper, personally, to assure doors will not be slamming, and door stops will be used. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Room is always clean. Everyone is friendly and it is close to University of Iowa to visit students. We have been staying here for the past for years while our children have been attending college. We will be coming back. Our youngest is a freshman.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInn52241, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are happy to hear that you stay with us while visiting your child at college. Please don't hesitate to contact us with any questions or concerns. We look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,
Management
Country Inn and Suites Coralville, IA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on more than 1 occasion and will plan to stay there again when we travel to Iowa City. Our room was great - spacious and clean. The staff was helpful and friendly. The hotel was busy due it being a football weekend, but the rooms were quiet. The breakfast was great!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInn52241, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel and are thrilled you will be making the trip back. We look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,
Management
Country Inn and Suites Coralville, IA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekin, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were greeted by very welcoming staff! Our room was up to expectations, comfortable and clean! This hotel is close to shopping and restaurants, which was convenient. We enjoyed the breakfast both days of our stay! We will stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInn52241, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our hotel, as well as our staff. The staff is always thrilled to hear such great compliments from our guests. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Thank God this was just an overnight stay. The hotel was gross. The first room we were assigned had not been cleaned from the night before. Went back to the desk where the clerk told us that happens all the time. Second room had been cleaned but poorly. It was late at night so we just decided to live with it and left early in the morning. I would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInn52241, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brillion, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We stay at this chain frequently so we expect a bit more. First of all, the staff was the jewel of this location. The room seemed a bit worn and its been years since I saw a king size bed so low quality. The mattress was thin and the bed was low compared to most. Wifi was very good and breakfast was also. There were no cookies in the lobby the first four hours we were there. The location was great, but not sure I could recommend it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInn52241, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Please reach out to any of our employees directly should you have any concerns during or after your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville

Address: 2571 Heartland Place, Coralville, IA 52241
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Coralville
#5 Family Hotel in Coralville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Carlson, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Coralville
Coralville Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.