We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   921 E 2nd Ave, Coralville, IA 52241   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book in Advance and Save!
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Coralville
Ankeny, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

What a great place to stay. The staff is very friendly and attentive. Food in the morning varies so it's not the sale old items and the evening reception is filling. Very clean, with a pool and workout area to work off the days stress.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    30
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
115
50
8
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This place is practically brand new. We had a 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath that felt like a palace. The staff was so friendly. It is conveniently located right off the interstate and about 2 miles from the U of I campus. There are a couple of restaurant options nearby as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have referred others to this hotel chain several times, telling them how wonderful it is... not feeling confident in that at this point :( When we got to our room, we brought all our things in and then discovered that housekeeping apparently didn't service the bed properly from a previous stay, because upon discovering that the bed made crinkling noises every time it was touched... we found a large, cut up trash bag between the bedding (as if someone previously was afraid they would wet the bed or something) - SUPER GROSS!!! They did move us to a different (less convenient) room and helped us move our things. That was appreciated. Otherwise we would have checked out right then and there. It was better, but housekeeping still could have done a better job. They also called up and brought us a $10 gift card for the trouble, which was nice. We stayed one night of our two-night stay, but due to the other problems...we just could not stay another day and checked out to move to a different hotel for the next night. The bed was very comfortable and the room was spacious. Having a kitchenette was nice. However, the breakfast was not appetizing at all! We opted for the prepackaged yogurt and cereal bars. The pool and even pool room, were very chilly - they could warm it up a bit. The hot tub was good sized, but there were visible piles of sand/dirt in the bottom of it! Again... Yuck! Also, due to the construction going on right next door, we couldn't sleep in the morning at all - it sounded like someone was banging on a metal trash can right outside our window! I understand that the hotel doesn't really have control over that part, but it affected our stay nonetheless. We have always loved Homewood Suites and have even chosen to stay with them when they were further away from our plans than other places, due to their quality and Homey-ness. This stay was very disappointing! They told us that the GM would call us and we haven't heard a thing (It's been about a week now). We figured what could be better than a new, clean, fresh Homewood Suites! We unfortunately were wrong! Very Very Disappointed! Certainly rethinking our decision to go out of our way to stay at this chain in the future or maybe even at all :(

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal H, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for your review. I apologize for all of the issues you experienced during your recent stay. We strive to have good communication between departments 100% of the time, but obviously dropped the ball during your visit. We take all of our reviews very seriously and are discussing improvements. I know it is hard to gain back trust when you have encountered a not-so-great experience and we surely do not want you to loose faith in the Homewood Suites by Hilton brand. Please accept our apology and thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,

Crystal Hansel
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I've only stayed at one Homewood Suites before and did not have a good experience, so was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. It's brand new and is conveniently located off I-80. We were in a king-room suite on the 6th floor, overlooking the hospital and other new buildings. There is lots of space in the room, and it included a full kitchen. Bed was comfortable, shower was a walk-in and very spacious. Very quiet. We never heard neighbors despite the hotel being sold out (a Hawkeyes game was the next day) and having a connecting room.

Michelle at the front desk was genuinely friendly when we checked in and checked out.

Breakfast was plentiful, with servers refilling items as needed and clearing tables so there was space for everyone.

Would love to stay here again when visiting Iowa City!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Kind of surprised. I think they are working things out. The staff seemed a little unsettled, including breakfast prep and wait staff. And, while the area is fun and will be great when done, the construction crew next door decided to jack-hammer away at 7 am Saturday! ugh!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal H, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Wendy W,

Thank you for taking time to comment on your recent stay with us! We are so sorry that our staff provided you with a sub par level of service. We take your comments very seriously and have discussed improvements with our team. Thank you again and we hope the next time you are in the area you will give us another chance and stay with us again!

Kind regards,

Crystal Hansel
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The staff were courteous and friendly especially the front desk staff. This was our first stay at a Homewood Suites and we were very pleased. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean. Location was great, check in/out was fast, great selection of breakfast items.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Wonderful hotel. Great amenities. We loved the evening manager's reception and the breakfast. Great food at both meals. This is the nicest place we have ever stayed in. Can't recommend it high enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing

Address: 921 E 2nd Ave, Coralville, IA 52241
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coralville
#1 Family Hotel in Coralville
#1 Romantic Hotel in Coralville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.