We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good menu with lots of gluten free options” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monica's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Monica's
303 2nd St, Coralville, IA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 104 restaurants in Coralville
Cuisines: American, Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Iowa City, Iowa
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Good menu with lots of gluten free options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Certainly at lunchtime this tends to be inhabited by the older and retired crowd but the reason is that the food is good and the value is terrific. Menu is varied and although based on pizza has much else besides. Even the pizzas can be made with gluten free bases, if desired.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    17
    20
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coralville, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great Home Cooked Type Food In Quiet Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Excellent quiche, meat loaf, etc. Service always great and with a smile. They also accept Iowa Public Television card discounts Sunday through Thursday. So support IPTV and Monica's/

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralville, IA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Visited the restaurant for my birthday and it was the second time I visited the restaurant. I decided to go back because I had a good experience the first time. We were seated by the hostess right away, but the waitress never came. I had to go and ask the hostess if we could change the seat because of the sun and hinted that we were ready to order -- but the hostess didn't even realize I was standing in front of her because she was checking her cell phone. The waitress came and did apologize for our wait. The food was just average, my pasta was over cooked. Over all, it was a disappointing experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not fresh...not authentic...bummer”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have eaten here or gotten carry out at least 5 times. It's just sub-par quality food, especially the breads & salads. Nothing we have had here is REALLY good. Wish it was.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great menu options, food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

The food and menu options were great. Liked the cozy atmosphere. Our first time here and will definitely return.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monica's also viewed

 

Been to Monica's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monica's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.