We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Days of Bliss” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville to your Saves list
Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   611 First Avenue, Coralville, IA 52241   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Coralville
KNOXVILLE
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Two Days of Bliss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Despite being on one of the main routes into Iowa City, IA, my wife and I got some glorious sleep. The bed was perfect; the room was quiet, and the service was excellent. You can not go wrong with a stay at Super 8 Motel - Coralville.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NykoleThurston, General Manager at Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Ray C~

I am so glad to hear that everything was perfection during your stay!

If I can help you with anything in the future please do not hesitate to contact me directly!

Thank you so much for your feedback!

Nykole Steele-Thurston
General Manager
Super 8 Coralville
Pride Property
319-337-8388
nthurston@kinseth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    83
    67
    29
    18
See reviews for
97
41
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oz
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed at this Super 8 twice within a two week period traveling via car to and between Chicago. That right there says something: I could have picked a different motel after the first stay.

This Super 8 is in a suburb of Iowa City and right off I-80 enroute to Chicago. The General Mgr. is beyond facilitative and has trained her staff well: My room needs were waiting for me upon arrival and the motel was everything one could want. Again, it's not 2mins off the I-80 exit(s); very easy to get to and get back onto the Interstate. Plenty of restaurants and whatever you want right there. There's McDonald's right across the street and a Hy-Vee grocery store not 1.9 miles from the motel.

Internet is important to me and the motel did not fail me. While it IS wi-fi (I prefer a CAT 5 cable; don't like wi-fi), it works just fine and is quite speedy. I did measurment tests and it was easily 13megs down and up to 4 megs down. The quality of your computer and your distance from the wi-fi equipment has something to do with that, of course, but if you have what you need, you're set. Easy to log on.

The interior of the motel is spotless and is set up on three levels. NO rooms open to the outside, a nice security feature (although the neighborhood the motel is in is just peachy keen); the rooms have been "upgraded"; and most all have a mini-fridge; microwave; and....get this....even a true flat screen, digital tv. Now, there are plenty of channels on the tv, but they're not in HD....I expect that would be a major cost all at once....and not all rooms have the newer tv's. All have the mini fridge (and coffee maker, although I don't drink coffee) and the micro-wave is in most.....but if you HAVE to have one, just be sure to request it as you're making your reservation notes.

The rooms are spotless and super clean. There's even a lounger chair in each room to rest from the drive.

Staff are great: Trisha, Dan, Jennifer, Jamie, and Nicole, just to name but a few are right there to greet you as you arrive. The housekeepers are super efficient and thorough.

As you drive to the Super 8 after you exit, you'll see a bunch of other motels (this motel is right near the VA facility), but you'll be making a mistake if you're tempted. Free wi-fi; color cable tv on a modern tv; new a/c&heat; etc., etc., etc. make this Super 8 a super value. Plenty of NO SMOKING rooms available. Private message me for my take on the "best" rooms for this factor. Also, it's wheel chair friendly and pet friendly....just let 'em know ahead of time to be on the safe side.

There is a continental breakfast from 6am----9am and their own special, hot, freshly made (you do it yourself) waffles. Lots of juice, rolls, bread (toaster with all the fixings: peanut butter, butter jams, etc.), cereal, milk, fruit too to start your day to get you on your way and....if you must, McDonald's is just across the street....not to mention the in room fridge for your own stuff if you travel that way.

I know I'll be stopping there anytime I'm enroute to Chicago....you too no matter what direction you're heading is my suggestion. (no swimming pool on grounds and no restaurant on grounds.....but there's a ton all around the motel for you rich folk; I travel with my own food (or go to the nearby Hy-Vee in this case) and get microwaveable stuff....).

PS: NO spell checking done by me on any review; nor no grammar checks. Let's focus on if you get the picture or not....and always feel free to send me a private message for more details.....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NykoleThurston, General Manager at Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear axxxtw ~

I am greatful for your very kind review! We strive for excellance every day and it is so nice to hear from our guests that we are doing a great job!

I'm glad to hear that the room was clean, my staff was great, and the wifi worked very well for you!

It was so nice to meet you in person after speaking on the phone and emailing. I am glad that we were able to accomodate your needs while in route to Chicago and back home.

We will see you soon! Thank you again for your feedback! We appreciate you!

Nykole Steele-Thurston
General Manager
Super 8 Coralville
Pride Property
319-337-8388
nthurston@kinseth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricketts, Iowa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Super 8 Motel in Coralville, Ia is the best motel I have ever stayed at. There may not be a pool, but I would stay there over any others in that city.
The staff are very friendly and will go out of their way to do whatever they have to do to get to the problems you have. They are very efficient in their jobs and we have no complaints. The rooms are clean and will help you with anything.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NykoleThurston, General Manager at Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear AnitaRieb ~

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel! I am so happy to hear that you concider us the best hotel you have ever stayed at! This is what we aim for everyday.

Please make sure to say hello the next time you visit us and if there is ever anything I can do to help you please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Thank you again for your feedback! We appreciate it!

Nykole Steele-Thurston
General Manager
Super 8 Coralville
Pride Property
319-337-8388
nthurston@kinseth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CUMBERLAND
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

After reading reviews of several different motels in the area of the UI hospitals we diecided on this Super. We were not disappointed, the rooms were clean and the staff was very polite helpful. We asked for a shuttle to the hospital and this was arranged and paid for by the motel. We would definately recommend this motel to future travelers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NykoleThurston, General Manager at Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Cheryl K~

I am so excited you choose to stay with us! I am so glad you had a great stay! I am glad that you were able to use the shuttle service we provide. We try to help in every way we can. I truly appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you again in the future.

Thank you so much for your time and feedback!

Nykole Steele-Thurston
General Manager
Super 8 Coralville
Pride Property
319-337-8388
nthurston@kinseth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had made reservations at the Big Ten Inn and when we got there they said that we cancelled our reservation. I told her I did not and I had a email confirmatrion of my reservarion. She said they were booked and could only see if another hotel had occupancy. Super 8 was able to get us in and even lowered our rate to be closer to the rate we were orginally quoted by Big Ten Inn. It was Family weekend at the University of Iowa so getting a hotel room was near impossible especially that Friday night.
Thank you

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NykoleThurston, General Manager at Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Esther H ~

I am so glad we were able to help you out on Parents Weekend and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you next football season! Our Big 10 is getting interesting with all the new teams.

Please let me know if you need future reservations or if there is anything I can do to help you.

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate it!

Nykole Steele-Thurston
General Manager
Super 8 Coralville
Pride Property
319-337-8388
nthurston@kinseth.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville

Address: 611 First Avenue, Coralville, IA 52241
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coralville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - Coralville Hotel Coralville
Super 8 Coralville
Super Eight Coralville
Coralville Super Eight
Coralville Super 8
Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.