We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heartland Inn - Coralville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Heartland Inn - Coralville to your Saves list
Heartland Inn - Coralville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   87 Second Street, Coralville, IA 52241-2603   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Coralville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    36
    21
    8
    11
See reviews for
37
27
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Booked with Priceline for lowest price. Got a suite with jacuzzi, which we didn't expect. The room was clean and very inviting. Only small complaints: the room was not ready at the 3pm check in (however, the reception attendant was very nice and even went to personally check on it) It was ready at about 3:45, plenty of time for us to go to a late lunch and return, it wasn't quite ready but was ready by the time we signed the reception paperwork, got our keycards, and got our luggage from the car. Also, there were no styrofoam cups for coffee, no biggie though I went and got some from the breakfast nook. Then the last very small complaint was from my husband, he likes fluffy pillows. I actually liked the pillows. When we checked in the receptionist told us about the 5:30-7pm special, which was ham and cheese sandwiches and cookies, and about breakfast (6-10:30am) and check-out (11am). Breakfast is a common midwest continental breakfast- pancakes, waffles (which you could make or have made for you) fruit, yogurt, instant oatmeal, biscuits and gravy, toast, 4 different kinds of bagels, cereal, boiled eggs, milk, juice, coffee, cappuccino. In the bathroom they have LUX brand for the hotel soap, shampoo, and conditioner. It smells wonderful and reminds me of citrus/lemongrass. Only downside was that there was only enough shampoo and conditioner for me (I have long hair). My husband brought his own anyways. We are nonsmokers and so is the hotel but the hotel did offer plenty off outside places for smokers to go. Our room overlooked the river and levee. What a nice view. The decoration of the room was very nice, no wonder it had taken so long to clean. The staff was very friendly at all times. The a/c worked very well. They were having work done on the carport but this did not create any noise or inconvenience for us. Large flat screen tv, microwave, iron, ironing board, blow dryer, coffee maker, and clean minifridge. Pluggins in the lamps for electronics and such. Plenty of pluggins! One thing we loved was the separate towels for the shower and jacuzzi! Room 234 is an awesome stay. It is close to restaurants, shopping, and also to many of the U of I athletic arenas.

Room Tip: Room 234 is awesome. Choose third floor for a better view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I would highly recommend staying here if you are visiting Iowa City for a sporting event or the University Hospitals & Clinics. We stayed here just passing through and it was perfect. Lots of local eateries and a drug store, which is all we needed for an overnight stay. Kudos go out to Jonathan who in the morning gave me great directions to the Delvian Fossil Gorge!! We found it just perfectly! Thanks so much!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Sioux City, Nebraska
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Just needed somewhere to crash for the night as we were passing through town. Arrived at 10pm staff was very friendly and they had a plate of chocolate chip cookies out. Hotel lobby clean and nicely decorated. Same for rooms. Hallways were a little stuffy and quite warm but it was crazy weather outside. Room was clean. The air conditioner was a little on the noisy side but appreciated that it did a great job keeping room to my comfort level. I'm a pretty light sleeper and it's sound didn't affect my sleeping. Grabbed a quick breakfast before hitting the interstate again. Lots if choices. A few of the "hot" items were barely even warm but we went down minutes after breakfast started and their crockpots must not have been warming up long for a few of the things. But was good. Again very friendly staff upon checkout. Think I paid $50 for the night they hotwire and for that price it was an awesome value......didn't look to see what regular rate it. Also didn't spend time in the area but it seemed like the location was close to a lot of things.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed here graduation weekend-$200.00 a night for a small room, not totally clean and a very poor free breakfast. The staff were friendly. The bathroom appeared to have been recently been remodeled but showed poor workmanship. The AC/heat unit blew under the drapery. Overall we felt we were grossly overcharged for a poor quality room.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Heartland Inn - Coralville, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Chance S.

Thank you for your recent review. I do apologize for the problems that you encountered during your stay with us. We usually receive rave reviews about our cleanliness, so your experience is a bit unusual for us. I realize that pricing can be an issue in the Iowa City area during special events such as graduation. Heartland Inn does it's best to provide a quality experience for all of our customers. Again, thank you for voicing your concerns. Your feedback will be taken seriously. Debbie Bullion, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I packed my husband and two sons off to the Heartland Inn sight unseen and they came back with nothing but rave reviews. For under $80 they had a big, spotlessly clean room with a king size bed and a roomy hot tub. The breakfast bar included a very nice, friendly gentleman manning the pancake griddle. Everything was well-prepared and well-stocked. The boys also enjoyed the clean swimming pool and the fact that it stays open until midnight. My husband said that he called to inquire about late checkout and expected some reluctance, but the desk clerk responded cheerfully, "Sure thing! How late do you need?" This kind of customer service is becoming more and more rare these days, but thankfully, it is alive and well at the Heartland Inn of Coralville, Iowa!

Room Tip: Room 216 ("Suite Dreams") has a big ol' hot tub and lots of space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Heartland Inn - Coralville, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Jmissy10,

Thank you so much for the awesome review!!! I am so very happy that we were able to make your stay so fun!! We do strive to have a nice, clean and friendly environment for our guests. It is always very rewarding when we have succeeded in making our guests so very thrilled with their stay. The extended pool hours are very popular with families...keeps those energy filled kids busy!!
I will pass your compliments along to the staff. They will all enjoy the excellent comments!!
We hope to see you again soon!! Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
Best REgards,
Debbie Bullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heartland Inn - Coralville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Inn - Coralville

Address: 87 Second Street, Coralville, IA 52241-2603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Coralville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Heartland Inn - Coralville 2*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off I-80 on the Coralville Strip, the Heartland Inn Coralville is the closest hotel to both the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics and the VA Hospital. We are just minutes from Kinnick Stadium, Carver Hawkeye Arena and Coral Ridge Mall. This Coralville hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to and from both hospitals and great hospital rates. We also offer complimentary breakfast, evening snacks and wireless high speed internet. The Heartland Inn Coralville is a smoke free facility with a AAA 2 Diamond rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Heartland Inn - Coralville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Inn - Coralville Hotel Coralville
Heartland Inn - Coralville Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heartland Inn - Coralville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.