We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Coralville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Coralville to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Coralville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   970 25th Ave, Coralville, IA 52241   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Coralville
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel is great. Friend staff, prompt check in and out. Clean, modern rooms. The breakfast even had a lot of selection and was good. Location right off i-80 if passing through or next to a mall if you want to shop.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandacturner, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Coralville, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review! I am happy to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and we look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the Coralville area.
Sincerely,
Amanda Turner
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    44
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
41
33
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, IN, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This property is located right by the mall and several restaurants (all in walking distance). The staff was very friendly and check in was fast and efficient. The room was clean, well appointed and spacious. The bed is comfortable. I am very happy with the new pillows now being used...a much needed upgrade that the entire chain should benefit from. Breakfast options are just average. Would really like to see HIE update the selections and make them less processed. Overall, I would certainly stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Coralville, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for the many compliments you offered our hotel. We share all reviews with our staff members regularly. Most of our staff members have been with us for several years and take great pride in their work and your comments are very appreciated. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Neal Roth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We spent 4 nights at this hotel this month. It's clean, they have a nice breakfast, smaller pool and hot tub, but not bad. My only complaint about this hotel is that it has 5 floors and 1 elevator! When the hotel is busy, you stand and wait, and wait, and wait for the elevator to come. Normally we'd just take the stairs, but we were on the 5th floor and I didn't want to end up all sweaty in my dress clothes.

We'd stay again, but we'd definitely ask for a lower floor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandacturner, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Coralville, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our large, hot breakfast buffet as well as our cozy pool. It looks as though we were sold out the evening you stayed with us and our elevator does get used pretty heavily at certain points of the day. If you prefer a lower floor on your next stay with us we would be happy to honor your request. We look forward to another opportunity to have you as our guest!
Sincerely,
Amanda Turner
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Holiday Inn express in Coralville ended up being a great choice for my overnight business trip to the area. The location is great, and my GPS was spot on. There are multiple dining options within easy walking distance. There is also a shopping mall close by. The hotel was clean and inviting, the staff pleasant and welcoming.

My junior king suite was spacious, nicely furnished, and very clean. The room was very well lit, and had plenty of electrical outlets including bedside. It was extremely quiet and had that wonderful constant fan option. The Internet was consistent.

Holiday Inn Express breakfasts are usually the same everywhere, and this one was no exception. Nothing special, but plentiful and fresh.

I can recommend this property, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandacturner, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Coralville, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
I am so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Coralville! Our staff works very hard to ensure our guests have the best experience possible and they will be delighted to read your words of praise. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you to the Iowa City/Coralville area.
Sincerely,
Amanda Turner
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed one night, that was enough. Rooms clean, beds adequate. Fire alarm went off at 11:45pm, no explanation given. Apparently the dryer set it off. At breakfast the next morning all the maids and kitchen workers were eating from the breakfast bar. Did the guests pay for this out of room rates? Also, night desk clerk using the treadmill in the small gym, what? Kind of felt like I was an intruder instead of a guest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Coralville, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear theresa s,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We regret any disappointment you may have had during your stay. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were driving back from vacation & wanted to find a place in Iowa City. Couldn't really find what we were looking for but with further searching found this town close by. Room had fridge & microwave. Off the interstate just a little. There was a train track near by but we never did hear any trains. Decent breakfast options. If we travel through Iowa we would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Coralville, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice compliments about our hotel. We pride ourselves on seeing a lot of repeat guests and we will be here to serve you again if you are ever in the area.

Sincerely,

Neal Roth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here last year and due to its location convenient to family booked again, though I wasn't really looking forward to it. But what a great surprise! The rooms are beautifully refurbished and very clean. The mini kitchen is great, the bath room large and pleasant to use and the service is friendly. We can certainly recommend this hotel. Great job on the makeover!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Coralville, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for noticing our newly re-designed rooms. Our guest room furnishings were all replaced early this year(2013) and our guests are loving the fun new design of our hotel. Thank you for returning to our hotel and we will be here in the future if we can ever serve you again.

Sincerely,

Neal Roth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Coralville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Coralville

Address: 970 25th Ave, Coralville, IA 52241
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coralville
#4 Family Hotel in Coralville
#4 Business Hotel in Coralville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Coralville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express & Suites of Coralville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Coralville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Coralville Hotel Coralville
Holiday Inn Coralville
Coralville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Coralville Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Coralville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.