We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great people and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Coralville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Coralville to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Coralville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   970 25th Ave, Coralville, IA 52241   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Coralville
New York City, New York, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great people and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a great hotel for your stay in Iowa City. Great customer service and fantastic welcome - included a gift bag for being Priority Rewards member. Good breakfast in the morning and the stay was comfortable. Gym was a little lacking but location and customer service made up for it. Free wifi too which was a huge plus

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandacturner, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Coralville, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a few comments about our hotel. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. On your next visit, I encourage you to take advantage of our complimentary day passes to one of the newest fitness facilities in the area (much bigger and better than our fitness center). We look forward to another opportunity to have you as our guest.
Sincerely,
Amanda Turner
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    41
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
40
31
7
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great location near a shopping mall, several restaurants within walking distance, and a fair price. I Priority Club Welcome Gift contained a bottle of water, Reeses chocolate bar, Rice Crispies bar and a small package of animal crackers. Everything looked nicely maintained and cleaned, to us. The evening social hostesses, were pleasant, engaged us in conversation and suggested more places for us to visit than we had time to see. After observing another guest use his hands instead of the tongs, we didn't try any of the food at the social hour, but it was chips, salsa, cheese soup (?), veggie platter and meatballs, not sure what the meat item was the second evening. Coffee was good, and food was plentiful at breakfast. We received a "Wake Up" call, we hadn't requested, on the second day, which was one of those strange blessing sort of things. Also, although we never actually saw any trains, we did hear them twice a day, so you might want to sleep with foam earplugs, we did.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandacturner, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Coralville, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
I am glad you got an opportunity to chat with our staff at the evening reception. They love getting to know our guests as well as bragging up all there is to do in our wonderful community. We pride ourselves on excellent service and it is very encouraging to recieve such high regards from a guest. We welcome the opportunity to have you as our guest again next time you are in the Coralville area.
Sincerely,
Amanda Turner
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City Missouri
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is starting to show its age but it is a good value for the money. I cannot believe that mid-value hotels invariably offer a mini-fridge and a microwave while high-end hotels offer only $5 - $6 dollar botttles of Fiji water and $20/night parking. What is up with that?? This Holiday Inn offered a bigger room, free parking, room service, and essentially the same amenities as a Hyatt or Hilton. The "big" hotel chains need to step up to the plate for business travelers..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandacturner, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Coralville, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
I am so glad you felt your stay was well worth your hard earned money. We try very hard to provide all the amenities that our guests need to make them feel at home. Thank you for your comments, and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you through the area.
Sincerely,
Amanda Turner
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed recently to visit the Hoover Presidential Library and Birthplace. It was a short easy drive to that. (15 min) The room was a little worn but very clean and comfortable. It includes a fridge and microwave which was nice. The beds were very comfortable. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and welcoming. The location is great. There is a train track very close to the hotel but it didn't bother us. They had fresh baked cookies in the afternoon. And an appetizer, beer and wine event for guests on some days in the afternoon.The breakfast had many choices and was stocked and fresh. The food was not amazing but good. Being a Priority Club member we received a gift bag upon check in and that was a welcomed surprise. It included a bottle of water and a few snacks. There are a ton of dining options within a mile and many within walking distance such as Olive Garden and Outback. It is right behind the Coral Ridge Mall. The mall has an indoor skating rink, carousel, childrens museum, movie theater, food court and many stores such as Younkers, Dillards and Penneys.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandacturner, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Coralville, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our staff will be so pleased to read your comments. I have to agree with you that our guest rooms were getting a little worn, however, we are just completing a 1.2 million dollar renovation and the rooms are looking brand new these days. We have installed all new furnishings, capret, artwork, and we are about finished with painting the guestrooms. We look forward to you seeing all the progress we have made since your last stay. Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we hope to see you agin soon.
Sincerely,
Amanda Turner
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, IL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We wanted to get away for a weekend of shopping so we decided to book the Holiday Inn Express in Coralville, Iowa, Exit 220 right off Interstate 80. The motel was located behind the Coral Ridge Mall. We arrived an hour ahead of check-in time, but they had a room ready and let us check-in early. This was a perfect location to enjoy the mall, which featured Dillards, Sears, Yonkers and Target as anchor stores. There is a full-sized merry-go-round for the kids inside the mall, along with a large ice skating rink and a movie theatre complex. Twenty miles west on I80 is the Tanger Outlet Mall.

The strong point of this motel was that the staff members were very accommodating. They certainly believe in serving their customers. I give them an A+. Besides allowing the early check-in time, we had a situation where one of the other guests was talking very loudly late into the night and he was keeping us awake. Finally at 2 a.m. I called the front desk and within a couple of minutes the the man was quiet. We really appreciated the clerk taking care of that situation as soon as she was notified there was a problem. We were also given a 15% discount when we checked out the next morning. Customer satisfaction is a high priority at this HIE.

The motel itself was your typical Holiday Inn Express. Our room was sparkling clean and was very spacious. We do prefer a little firmer mattress, but the one we had was okay. There was also a microwave and refrigerator in the room. The elevator was a little slow in accommodating the five floors. And only one of the ice machines was working. The hot breakfast included sausage, biscuits, waffles, muffins, juice, coffee, toast, cereal, two kinds of eggs plus many other items. Sunday morning a train came through at 7:15 a.m. For some this could be a problem, but for us we were up by that time so it didn't bother us in the least.

Restaurants that were close by included Red Lobster, Olive Garden, Chili's and a steakhouse across the street. A Bennigan's and Panera were located in the mall.

Room Tip: The back side of the motel gets you away from the road traffic, but is more susceptible to the train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandacturner, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Coralville, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel. My staff was so pleased to hear they exceeded your expectations. We pride ourselves on excellent service and it is very encouraging to recieve such a positive review.
I am glad that my overnight desk attendant was able to take care of your noisey neighbor. I hope he did not disturb your sleep too much. I can tell you that since your stay we have serviced all of our ice machines and they are now all in working order.
Thank you again, and we look forward to another opportunity to have you as our guest.
Sincerely,
Amanda Turner
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed here for one night recently. It was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The only complaint I have is that the breakfast didn't start until 6:30 on Saturday mornings and 6 on weekdays. We had to leave early on a Saturday morning and did not get to enjoy a breakfast. Not sure why it starts a half hour later on a weekend. Also, the elevator was extremely slow. It also makes a very loud screeching noise that does not make a person feel very safe! The pool was nice though and it was nice there was a fridge and microwave in the room. Very nice location next to the mall and restaurants. Staff was friendly also.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandacturner, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Coralville, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
I was so pleased to hear how satisfied you were with your recent stay. I would like to assure you that since your stay, we have had our elevator serviced and the "squeaking" issue has been resolved and we have assured that the elevator is in perfect working condition.
We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Sincerely,
Amanda Turner
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I usually stay here on my business trips to Iowa City. It is a little nicer than your standard Holiday Inn Express. Very clean and updated. The rooms are spacious- and beds are comfortable. They have nice guest reception Tues- Wed & Thursday 5-7pm with free wine, beer and snacks. Breakfast is your standard for HDI. Within walking distance to restaurants and shopping mall. Seems to be in a nicer area of town. Staff and service is good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandacturner, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Coralville, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our main goal in the hospitality industry is 100% guest satisfaction and it is wonderful to recieve such high praises from our guests. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and hope to have you as our guest again when your travels bring you to Iowa City/Coralville.
Sincerely,
Amanda Turner
Assitant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Coralville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Coralville

Address: 970 25th Ave, Coralville, IA 52241
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Coralville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coralville
#3 Business Hotel in Coralville
#3 Family Hotel in Coralville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Coralville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express & Suites of Coralville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Coralville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Coralville Hotel Coralville
Holiday Inn Coralville
Coralville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Coralville Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Coralville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.