We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Time Flavors At A Small Town Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Papa Georgio's

Papa Georgio's
12 E Front St, Colfax, IA 50054-1048
515-674-3664
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Colfax
Restaurant details
Urbandale, Iowa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Big Time Flavors At A Small Town Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

What's not to love about Georgio's...Seriously? Small town restaurant with big time flavors. Leave your pretentiousness at the door and just enjoy the flavorful tastes found at Georgio's. I am a self proclaimed Pizzaholic who's loves the thin crust pizza at Georgio's. My wife has enjoyed some of the wide variety of sandwiches and salads. I would be remiss if I didn't mention the owner, Andrew, who seems to take great pride in delivering good quality food at fair prices. I've visited the restaurant on several separate occasions, met Andrew the first time and have seem him there on all of my subsequent visits. The point is that Andrew is visible, is hands on while making your meal and seems to enjoy meeting his guests. My only regret is Georgio's isn't closer to Des Moines. Stop in for a visit while enjoying the small town feel of Colfax. Really, this is a small town gem of a restaurant worthy of a try.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Pizza!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

When I am in town and need to have a slice, this is the place. The people are great and the pizza is amazing. Prices are cheaper than you would expect as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allons, Tennessee
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Good Pizza !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Been going back to this area almost every year since Newton, IA has hosted the Indy Car Race. Make sure that Papa Georgio's is on list for the trip. It may not be the best pizza I ever had, but it sure is pretty good. Always a pleasant experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not on my list to return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Went to Georgioz as recommended by Motel as my wife wanted Soup and Salad. Got there and found out that they have no soup and salad combo's. Only soup and sandwich. Asked what kind of soup they had...waitress said it was "Chicken Enchalada soup" "something new". Wife ordered that. when it came she said it was too spicy for her to eat. Told the waitress that it was too spicy so she did not eat it. So wife ordered a dinner salad instead. I ordered the pasta dinner. It came with a small dinner salad, which was OK. Pasta was served in a bowl with melted mozarella along with a piece of garlic bread....Not exciting. Maybe the pricing is OK for rural Iowa, but l have been to other Pizza/Italian restaurants where the fare is better and the price is less. When we got the bill, we were charged for the soup along with the salad. When the waitress came to collect pay, I told her that they should take off the charge for the soup....and that would be her tip. Not cheap as it would be a $5 tip on a $15 bill.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington UT
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This place has great pizza, a good selection of beers, sandwiches and other great menu items. It is a value in this rural location.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Georgio's also viewed

Been to Papa Georgio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papa Georgio's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.