We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Stay Again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Colfax/Newton

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Colfax/Newton
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Colfax/Newton to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Colfax/Newton
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11000 Federal Avenue, Colfax, IA 50054   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Colfax
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    62
    40
    30
    13
See reviews for
69
45
24
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

After last year we said we would not return. We relented & tried to give them a 2nd chance. What a mistake. We booked a room with 1 queen bed & they gave us a handicapped room. We told the desk that we did not need or request a handicapped room. We were told that this happens often at their hotel when you ask for only 1 bed. The major issue was the shower. The nozzle faced the middle of the bathroom and this caused the floor to flood and become slippery, They knew about this, too. We were given 5 extra bath towels. The bathroom floor had a drain in the middle of it. It was dangerous. You slid toward the drain when you got out of the shower.
Breakfast had a few more choices than last year (still no protein) but if you wanted to have orange juice you had to buy it from a refrigerator case stocked with many other items for sale.
The final straw was when we checked out the receipt did not have a price total on the bill. They said they could not print one with a price on it. We said we booked it on the Microtel website and all the other Wyndham hotels had given us receipts with prices. They said they had no way to do this. Really?? This time we really mean it, NEVER AGAIN!

Room Tip: Do not stay here. Don't ask for 1 bed, You'll be sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozad
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Carpet in halls looked greasy.
Shower was too slick could not stand up.
Continental breakfast was skimpy.
The only good thing was pillows had very nice pillows.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leadville, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I stayed here back in January with my boyfriend, sister & her kid. First of all, for Colfax to have a hotel, let alone a brand name hotel & a nice one at that, is very impressive!! I was visiting for my grandmother's birthday & the Microtel Inn was perfectly situated right off the interstate so we had no issues locating it nor getting back on the rd the next day. They even allowed pets for a small fee. The room was very clean & had all the modern accommodations you come to expect with hotels these days. We have zero complaints & look forward to staying again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enon, Ohio
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Ok first and foremost the place is out of the way, yes there are some road noises but hey the interstate is right there. The rooms are small but the bathrooms are roomy :) . Everything is really clean the building smells good too. The only issue was the wifi and with some EXCELLENT Customer Service by Tina B that was a short lived problem by far. Thanks to her and Theresa for being so affable about the whole issue and helping me to negotiate a solution to the problem. Needless to say the wifi is working for this review was written :) . I highly recommend this stop as it is both quiet (internally) and with excellent assistance from the staff, coupled with the excellent parking options for trucks, a top notch stay and one I will be returning to in the future.

Room Tip: Get a room as close to the northern side as possible for less interstate noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Colfax/Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Colfax/Newton

Address: 11000 Federal Avenue, Colfax, IA 50054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Colfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Colfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Colfax/Newton 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a 48 hour cancellation policy. Must cancel by 4pm 2 days before your arrival or you will be charged for the 1st day of your reservation and the remainder of the days will be released. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Colfax/Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Colfax
Colfax Microtel
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Colfax/Newton Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Colfax/Newton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.