We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and facility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive to your Saves list
Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1520 Northwest 114th Street, Clive, IA 50325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent location and facility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Great location - near all the fun activities of Des Moines and a quick trip to Adventureland. Near lots of restaurants and shopping. Lobby areas is really nice and the cafe is great. Staff was incredibly friendly. Recommend that you buy the breakfast package ($10 per adult per day; kids eat free) with the room. Breakfast was excellent. Room was very clean. The only drawback is that the swimming pool is very small - okay for the kids to play in, but you would not hang out at it for a long time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    27
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
21
6
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

I stayed with my family in the 2 room king suite, room was clean but have seen nicer Courtyards. The pool areas was one of the best I've seen. The pool was warm which was real nice for a change with a ten month old an 6 year old traveling with you. The front lobby has been remolded marking the hotel look perfect but once you get to your room you'll realize only the lobby was done. Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

My wife and I stayed here one night on a quick trip to Des Moines, we enjoyed our stay at this Marriot. They had excellent service as we were greeted with a smile and allowed early check in. They had a nice little bar/restaurant area right in the lobby, enjoyed a cocktail while lounging on a couch on a snowy night. In addition to the bar/restaurant and couch/TV they had 2 nice computers with free internet for guests in the lobby. The room and bed were comfortable. It was a positive experience for my wife and I on our short stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

I stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott on the 7th through the 9th. I dined in the Bistro my last night at the Courtyard. Jacob served me and was an excellent representation of what I consider Marriott Quality to be! Food was average quality but portion was very nice. Was very pleased with my stay!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

Got a great rate on this hotel. Check in was efficient. Business center was well laid out and fully functional. Hotel had a buffet breakfast but we did not use it. Renovations in lobby were due to be completed in 1 week after our stay. We were told that a Starbuck's and a restaurant were being built. Does this mean the end of the breakfast buffet? Not sure. Pool area was quiet and clean. two things that only slightly detract from this hotel are the proximity to the freeway. Stay in one of the inside rooms or turn room fan to manual to muffle the noise. The other was on the day we were checking out the maids knocked 4 times, even with the do not disturb sign out and left the cleaning cart outside our room so we had to listen to them talk about something in room 343. 343 was not our room by the way. Fortunately the knocks occurred after 9 am and on the other days we did not hear them at all. Overall we would say it is probably one of the nicest hotels in Des Moines. We plan on staying here again. Beds are great, wife insisted I put that in.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

Based on the reviews on this site, I thought that I was getting a good deal for $109 a night. The rooms was poorly maintained. I bet they don't "clean" the room every day because if they did they would not be in this bad of shape. I know that they did not clean my room. They just changed out the towels and made the bed up. In fact, one night the towels were not even replaced. I had to go and ask for towels and wash cloths. I also was greeted by a giant spider while I was in the shower.

The positives about this hotel are the location, the friendly front desk staff, free Internet and the ability to print anything that you want easily without charge.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

Result of a priceline bid for the West Des Moines area, making it even more reasonable.

Check in was smooth, was offered a king bed.

Our room backed to the parking lot, so there was a little parking lot noise, but not bad. Thought the room was pretty well soundproofed. Couldn't hear anybody else around us or out in the hall.

Breakfast was like $9, so we just passed.

Bed was surprisingly comfortable. Room and bathroom were clean. Shower was nice.
Free wi-fi too.
Good location right off of I-35. Tv had a lot of channels. Overall would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive

Address: 1520 Northwest 114th Street, Clive, IA 50325
Location: United States > Iowa > Clive
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive Hotel Clive
Courtyard Clive
Clive Marriott
Clive Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.