We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sterling Hotel and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sterling Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Sterling Hotel and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11428 Forest Ave, Clive, IA 50325 (Formerly Chase Suite Hotel Des Moines)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Clive
WILLIAMSBURG
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great deal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room had a full kitchen, 2 beds, continental breakfast, and even warm cookies to go!
Beds were comfortable. Nice TV and even a living room area.
Just needed a bit more lighting and would be perfect!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin S, Front Office Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank You cycloneshan for taking the time to review the Sterling Hotel and Suites. We are please that enjoyed the 2 beds, breakfast and the cookies that are made fresh daily for when you arrive. We hope that the next time you are in town that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    23
    13
    9
    11
See reviews for
32
20
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Third time staying here & splurged for penthouse suite. Carpet needed replaced & a hole in the closet door upstairs. Fine no huge deal. Two biggest things are, first, this place will charge your card so the can replace the old linens you used & think they can get away with it. PLEASE carefully check your credit/bank card statements! I am disputing the charge. Second, if you are a woman who is verbally harassed by drunk men also staying on the premises the hotel does nothing. I should have contracted the police department & that's my mistake. This place attracts unsavory people; the Mgr admitted that when i spoke to him about my issues. He was also going to remove the extra charge which he hasn't done yet. Who stays there is none of my business, but it was off putting to see what appeared to be strippers/prostiutes coming & going from the building across from me. I gave this place a 2 because the other 2 times staying here were just fine. This stay deserves a -2. Stay at another extended stay/ hotel because this place & the people running it are shady. Lesson learned.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice suite, roomy and very comfortable has all the amenities. It's like your own apartment. Third time there. Staff was nice only negative thing is housekeeping comes too early but apologizes and leaves. Definitely will stay again.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin S, Front Office Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you Crystalp08 for reviewing the Sterling Hotel and Suites. We are pleased that you liked our apartment style rooms. We hope to see you the next time that you are in the Des Moines area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

This was my third time staying at this hotel, the two previous times it was The Chase Hotel. We spent 7 days there, and the experience was horrific. The employees weren't professionally dressed: one tending to the breakfast area wore jogging pants and a white t-shirt! My children took baths Saturday the tub was NEVER cleaned. My sheets weren't changed, even after being stained by chocolate . We sat a plastic spoon on the floor to see if anyone would pick it up... they came in and serviced the room (partially) but left the spoon there. The most astonishing deed was I overheard two employees conversing and cursing in regards to us because we HAD to call for service after arriving in the evening and found that we were unable to draw the broken blinds! The new management takes no pride in their establishment or customer service. The room was beautiful just as before, but the experience was horrific.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin S, Front Office Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you M.B. for reviewing the Sterling Hotel and Suites. We are sorry that you had a bad experience on this stay. We have done some coaching with our staff to help this be avoided in the future. We hope that you and your children will stay with us again the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

This could be a long review - sorry if I'm not brief. Feel like a lot to cover. The reviews for this hotel can be all over the place and I think it comes down to - what do you expect for your money? This hotel, to me, is a gem. Is it the most ritzy and fancy place? No. So if you are expecting top of the line, over the top and perfect, this isn't the hotel for you. Let me stop you from getting it and having to write a bad review. But, if you are a common person, looking for clean, safe, nice and spacious, THIS IS YOUR HOTEL. We are 2 adults traveling with a teen girl. We were going to be spending 3 days and wanted to bring a dog. At this hotel, our daughter was able to stay upstairs in her own loft room with a flat screen tv and private bathroom. Downstairs, we had the master bedroom with private bath, closet, flat screen tv and doors to separate from the rest of the room. The living room had a sofa (with hide-a-bed), a comfy chair, fireplace and flat screen. There was a bar for eating at, full size range, fridge, etc. All the kitchen utensils we needed were provided. The room was very clean. Staying in a dog friendly building (they have those that re not pet friendly as well for those with allergies) I'm sure that things were frayed that were caused by dogs. So was the room in the best shape? No. But the things that were wrong totally do not bother me. The bathroom was missing a piece of trim (small) and there was a small crack on the sink that they had tried to repair. I noticed on the edges of the stairs the carpet was a bit frayed and where the living area and the bedroom area carpet met, the seam was not together but wasn't so ratty looking that it bothered me. I'm a realist. I just want clean and bug free. This provided that and I felt very comfortable. There were no odors in the room. The bed was absolutely one of the most comfortable I've ever slept on, and pillows were great. I had read reviews that if you are a light sleeper that being near I80 could be loud. We were right next to I80 (building 4) and if I listened I could hear traffic but it never interfered with my sleep or concentration. The only thing that was at all disappointing was the breakfast offerings - pretty minimal, even on weekends. However, there are several restaurants nearby. Wifi was compatible with what I needed as well. I got a great rate on a discount website for hotels and could not be happier with my stay overall. So if you aren't snobby, not expecting the Ritz, this is a great place. Front desk personnel was very friendly and helpful when I checked in as well.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin S, Front Office Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 3, 2015
Thank you Beatrice for taking the time to give us a full review of Sterling Hotel and Suites. We are very pleased that you liked the two floor penthouse suite while you and your family stayed with us. We hope that you and your family stay with us the next time that you are in Des Moines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

We were very impressed with the cleanliness, the spaciousness, and the amenities at this hotel. As stated the room was complete with fireplace(bring your own duraflame log), seating area, kitchen, etc. The beds were newer and comfortable. Parking was convenient and adequate. Breakfast is available. While we only visited for one night while work was done on our home, we wished we could have stayed longer. It was a good value as well.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin S, Front Office Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 3, 2015
Thank you Affable1 for your review of Sterling Hotel and Suites. We are glad to hear that you liked the spaciousness of our hotel rooms with the fireplace. We hope that you recommend our hotel to friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sterling Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Hotel and Suites

Address: 11428 Forest Ave, Clive, IA 50325 (Formerly Chase Suite Hotel Des Moines)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Clive
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sterling Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Hotel and Suites guests can expect excellent service and superior amenities. Relax in our spacious suites with the amenities that will provide both business and leisure travelers all the comforts of home. We include a complimentary hot breakfast, high-speed wireless internet service, on-site laundry facility and fully equipped kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Sterling Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Hotel Clive
Chase Hotel Des Moines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sterling Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.