We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service and Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sterling Hotel and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sterling Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Sterling Hotel and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11428 Forest Ave, Clive, IA 50325 (Formerly Chase Suite Hotel Des Moines)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Upgrade!
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Clive
1 review
“Great Customer Service and Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

we arrived and was promptly greeted by a pretty smiley young lady she was real helpful and has such a great customer service. Our room was amazing maybe a few little upgrades needed but other than that its worth the money we paid. Breakfast is great also. Will definitely be back to see Sam.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin S, Front Office Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank You Becky for submitting your review for the Sterling Hotel and Suites. We are glad that you your room was amazing and that you was greeted when you walked into the lobby. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    17
    13
    8
    10
See reviews for
28
17
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

WOW! The penthouse suite was amazing! We stayed with another couple and it was perfect because it was like getting two rooms for the price of one. The suite was very clean and nice. Their complimentary chocolate chip cookies were to die for!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin S, Front Office Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our Penthouse Suites. We hope that you stay with us the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

We were in the penthouse suite. It was perfect for our my wife, daughter and I. Our daughter loved having the upstairs with her own bathroom to herself. My wife and I loved having the first floor with our own bathroom and french doors for privacy. The full kitchen worked out great for us to cook and not have to spend money eating out. When we called the front desk for help with the toilets, the maintenance man was there immediately and fixed the problem and was professional. The front desk was professional, polite, helpful and made us feel at home. We liked the cozy friendly feeling of the whole place. We felt like we were living in a house. We enjoyed the continental breakfast especially the waffles. The employees made this stay outstanding! We will definitely stay again. Hopefully soon.

Room Tip: Penthouse suites are great if you need two rooms and two bathrooms. Lots of room for everyone and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin S, Front Office Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the great review Neil. We are glad that you and your family liked the spacious room of our Penthouse Suite. We are very pleased that our staff could make you feel at home. We hope that you recommend us to others and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

We had a wonderful experience at this hotel.... The room that we stayed in was excellent and we will be back.. The front desk was exceptionally amazing they accomidated all of our request and could never ask for better people for that job. They need new house keepers although there is a couple that have there head on there shoulders!!!! I would stay again and a thousand times over! i wish everyone got to experience what me and my husband did. we will be back there very soon!!! Thank you to everyone there for making our time there fill like home! see you soon Ben (shakie shakie boss man) get the juice machine ready!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin S, Front Office Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Sterling Hotel and Suites staff would like to thank you Adrian for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and the friendly staff. We look forward to your next visit Adrian and we will keep the juice machine going.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Studio-type facilities with private entrances. Well equiped, a bit worn around some edges, but clean and comfortable. Good continental type breakfast with waffles, nice eating area. Close to several good restaurants and handy to the highway.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin S, Front Office Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you John for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you appreciated the convenience of our property. Our staff will be glad to help you and your wife out the next time you are in town traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spery, Iowa
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We had stayed here before, years ago. We love the easy location and although the room could use some new carpet and grout in the bathroom, we were glad to stay again. For the extra space, it makes a great stay for more than one night especially. I always like the sink outside the bathroom. Not cold enough for the fireplace, will have to be sure and return when we can use it. Staff we encountered were pleasant, helpful and both check-in and out went smoothly. As I am following a special diet, there was nothing but a banana I was able to eat off the breakfast, so can't really go to the quality of that. This is a routine issue for me now, and hope that hotel breakfasts will soon reflect the changing diets of their guests. We did use the hot tub, but not the pool. It was a great relaxing time, but is outdoors so limited to no winter use (hence the fireplace bonus). For the price, I highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin S, Front Office Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank You for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the extra space and the friendly staff. We hope to to see you the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014 via mobile

Booked with this hotel last minute on the way in for a concert and I'm super happy I came across it! The room was so much more than I expected and the gentleman at the counter was super helpful as I booked the room for the wrong date online (my own fault) but he still worked with me on figuring out my issue! The room was super affordable and I will definitely be booking here again if I am back in town!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin S, Front Office Manager at Sterling Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for submitting your review for our hotel. We are very pleased that you liked the spacious room. We are happy to hear that you will be staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sterling Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Hotel and Suites

Address: 11428 Forest Ave, Clive, IA 50325 (Formerly Chase Suite Hotel Des Moines)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Clive
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sterling Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Hotel and Suites guests can expect excellent service and superior amenities. Relax in our spacious suites with the amenities that will provide both business and leisure travelers all the comforts of home. We include a complimentary hot breakfast, high-speed wireless internet service, on-site laundry facility and fully equipped kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sterling Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Hotel Clive
Chase Hotel Des Moines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sterling Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.