We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites - Des Moines West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites - Des Moines West to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites - Des Moines West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1350 NW 118th St, Clive, IA 50325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Clive
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Just OK.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is an average property due for a renovation. Room furnishings are showing their age. The breakfast is as advertised with hot items available. The suite layout is a plus. I've stayed at the La Quinta next door. It's inferior to this hotel. But you're better bet for a nicer place is south or up to the north.

On arrival I came into the lobby area and stood. And stood. Called out. No response. After five minutes I glanced at the manager's card and called the property. The phone rang and rang - about 25 times. No answer. At about 10 minutes an employee came walking into the lobby from the exterior. No eye contact or greeting to me until she came into the front desk area. I could smell the cigarette odor strongly on her.

May you arrive at a time other than the smoke break.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the property have less exposure to Interstate noise from the East.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnlManager, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites - Des Moines West, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us. First and foremost I must apologize for the poor service that your received the minute you walked into our hotel lobby. I have no excuses for this situation and I too would have been immediately put off by this. I am sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations though we went through a 1 million dollar renovation in May 2012. I hope that should you choose to give us another opportunity that we may do a much better job in taking care of your lodging needs. I hope that the remainder of your stay with us was pleasant and comfortable.

Best regards,

Tom Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    42
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
80
27
2
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our family of two adults and a 10 year old stayed one night in room 302, a double queen room, at an AAA rate of $117.90. This rate included complimentary parking, in-room wireless, and hot breakfast. The room was spacious and clean, though showing its age and wear. Breakfast offerings were pre-made omelets, sausages, waffles, potatoes, oatmeal, a variety of breads, pre-packaged blueberry muffins, juices, milk, coffee, and tea. A minor complaint is that the hot water for the tea was lukewarm and the seating area was full to capacity (including the outside tables). The property is walking distance to El Rodeo (Mexican restaurant with delicious food and fast service), Wendy's, and Cracker Barrel. There is also a gas station next door. Many more options by car. Overall, compared to Hampton Inn, Best Western, and Hyatt Place, this property was an okay value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnlManager, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites - Des Moines West, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give our hotel a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and hope that you will choose to stay with us again should your travels bring you back to our area again.

Best regards,

Tom Murray
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites-Des Moines West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My family went on a trip and this was our first stop. The location was handy to downtown and close to a shopping mall. There are many good restaurants nearby. The service was good and they helped us find a good restaurant. The breakfast had a great variety of foods. The lobby was very clean. The pool was very refreshing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnlManager, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites - Des Moines West, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Hello!
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us. It is refreshing to read the positive things that you mentioned regarding the hotel and amenities. It is only with this feedback that we really know how we are doing, where we are meeting and exceeding our guest's expectations and of course, where we need improvement. Thank you again and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Tom Murray
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites-Des Moines West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sellersburg, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We are usually please with Country Inn and Suites and this time was no exception. I have to admit we were a little apprehensive when we checked in as we noticed what appeared to be a Little League group everywhere we looked. Management did an excellent job of keeping the place quiet and the breakfast area well-stocked the next morning. We were in the pool area for quite a few hours and it seemed that the staff was always popping in to make sure that towels were where they should be and that the area was clean. We had requested adjoining rooms as we were traveling with our daughter and her family. The staff granted our request and we are pleased to report that both rooms were clean, nicely decorated and stocked well with plenty of towels.
Whatever management is doing at this specific hotel is working well. The staff was very pleasant and easy to deal with. We will be staying here again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnlManager, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites - Des Moines West, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel with your recent stay with us. We appreciate the feedback as it allows us the opportunity to make changes in areas where we need improvement and to also let us know when you are hitting on all 8 cylinders. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hosting you again soon!

Tom Murray
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites-Des Moines West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were back thru Iowa and decided to stay where we knew we enjoyed our stay. The entire staff we encountered were so very friendly. We had a great time swimming, the pool is bigger than most hotel pools so we had room to race around. After swimming, got the kids showered up and into bed. The Queen size beds are appreciated when you have kids! Too many hotels only have doubles- So,that is a plus when searching for hotels. So once again we are happy with our choice in hotels and yes, we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnlManager, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites - Des Moines West, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hello!
Thank you for the great review on TripAdvisor. I am glad that you and your family enjoyed the indoor pool and the rest of the hotel facility. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Tom Murray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stay at this hotel monthly and sometimes weekly as my work brings me to the area often. The staff are FABULOUS and always responsive to my needs. Because I am a "regular" I am always greeted by name and asked how I am doing. I hate when I can't get in and have to stay any where else!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnlManager, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites - Des Moines West, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Hello Cheryl,
Thank you so much for the kind review on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that you come back to stay with us so often and that you enjoy our staff and facilities so much.

See you soon!

Tom Murray
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites-Des Moines West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We got there and the hotel smelled and the beds were uncomfortable. They have a complementary breakfast but it wasn't very good. Pool was nice enough. Towels were full of hair which was disgusting, The bathroom also had mold growing on the ceilings because there were no vents for when you showered. You could hear everyone one else who showered around and about you. We decided on this hotel because it was cheap and cheap is what we got!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnlManager, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites - Des Moines West, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
I am sorry to see that we did not meet your expectations with your recent stay with us. This is not the norm for the standards that we set for ourselves and our hotel experience. As you can see we are very highly rated on this website with many, many delighted guests but we let you down this time and for that I sincerely apologize. I would like to make it uop to you in some way and if you would be so kind as to contact me directly, we can figure out together how to do that. I can be reached at (515) 223-9254. I look forward to speaking to you soon.

Tom Murray
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites-Des Moines West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites - Des Moines West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites - Des Moines West

Address: 1350 NW 118th St, Clive, IA 50325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Clive
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites - Des Moines West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel in western suburbs (Clive) of Des Moines. Beautifully landscaped property features one of the largest indoor swimming pools in the West Des Moines area. Extensive renovation in spring of 2012 includes many upgrades to guestrooms, breakfast room, public space and pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Carlson, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites - Des Moines West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites - Des Moines West
Country Inn & Suites - Des Moines West Hotel Clive
Country Inn Clive
Clive Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites - Des Moines West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.