We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AFTER SUNDOWN” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Des Moines-West-Clive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Des Moines-West-Clive to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Des Moines-West-Clive
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1390 Northwest 118th Street, Clive, IA 50325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Clive
north kansas city
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“AFTER SUNDOWN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Night staff is AWESOME.....Day staff is NOT. LOVELY FACILITY. WIFI is free but extremely slow. The review must have 200 characters minimum even if you have nothing else to say!! The review must have 200 characters minimum even if you have nothing else to say!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    78
    45
    21
    12
See reviews for
112
38
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Veribest, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This particular property is obviously a renovated Holiday Inn property. it does not meet the quality that we have come to associate with La Quinta. It is a much darker interior and was very crowded for breakfast. It was probably worth the price we paid but I was not impressed. It is probably one of the best in the immediate vicinity and was in a safe area. Total renovation and rejuvenation might help; LQ would benefit from a new property in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The LaQuinta was conveniently off the highway, which is why we chose it. The room was clean, almost too clean with a strong odor of air freshener, perhaps to cover up dog odor from previous guests?

This hotel is very dog friendly, so if you have allergies or children who don't like dogs I'd avoid it. At one point there was a German shepherd running loose outside our room.

We stayed on the third floor, and even with the AC unit running on high were quiet warm all night.

The breakfast room was tiny and crowded with a very limited selection of choices, no fresh fruit as far as I could tell.

Overall our stay was unimpressive, but suites our needs for a quick stop. I do feel that it is overpriced for what we got, and more like a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The location, staff, and convenience distinguish this property. I couldn't hear the freeway noise, it was less than a mile to a new YMCA, and near many locally owned restaurants. The efficient and friendly staff complemented my stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Place is perfect if you have pets - no extra fee for pets and Lobby is full of variety of dogs.....
Simple room....after long day of Driving bed is comfy enough. Parents were with me and at $64 senior rate - can't really complain. Good place to stop for weary travelers and their companions

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I've stayed here more than a few times, always good service and a clean room. There is parking for larger vehicles at the end of the building. I have nothing else to say..... why make me type so much just to submit?

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Des Moines-West-Clive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Des Moines-West-Clive

Address: 1390 Northwest 118th Street, Clive, IA 50325
Location: United States > Iowa > Clive
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Clive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Des Moines-West-Clive 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Des Moines-West-Clive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Des Moines/West-Clive Hotel Clive
La Quinta Des Moines
Des Moines La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Des Moines-West-Clive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.